Primary Sources: The 1960s: Fashion

"This is a collection of 8425 fashion design drawings produced by Creators Studios, a New York City Seventh Avenue fashion business that marketed ready-to-wear designs to clothing manufacturers across the country on a subscription basis beginning in 1957 and throughout the 1960s and 1970s."

Images of clothing worn in Michigan. Images can be browsed by year.

Clothing from the museum's collection.

"The Historic Costume & Textiles Collection is a scholarly and artistic resource of apparel and textile material culture. The 11,500+ holdings encompass a range of three dimensional objects such as textiles and articles of clothing and accessories for men, women, and children, including national dress costume, from the mid-18th century to contemporary 21st century designers."

"Fred Greenhill (1925-2007) graduated from Parsons School of Design in 1950. He went on to work as a fashion illustrator for Neiman Marcus in the 1950s, and was the primary artist for Saks Fifth Avenue in the 1960s and early 1970s. Greenhill is most recognized for his Lord & Taylor illustrations, including the company's trademark long-stemmed rose. The Kellen Design Archives holds approximately 700 fashion illustrations that Greenhill created from the 1960s through the 1980s."

"The collection is comprised of 75 binders of fashion photographs and press materials promoting Saks Fifth Avenue’s clothing lines between 1954 and 1974, including Sophie Gimbel Originals, Ready to Wear, and Custom collections from 1954 to 1967. In addition to providing a rich visual record of the dramatic evolution of style over the course of two decades, the photographs, reproductions of fashion sketch sheets, press releases, and other publicity materials shed light on Saks' fashion business development and marketing strategy under the leadership of Helen O'Hagan, who succeeded Grace de Mun as Saks publicity director."

"Various very good shots of models showing off the latest designs in cocktails dresses, evening gowns and hats. L/S exterior Osterley Park House. M/S's as royal car arrives. M/S as Queen Elizabeth the Queen Mother gets out followed by Princess Margaret. Various shots as they meet officials then enter the house. M/S as Queen Mother takes her seat, various shots as they chat before the show. Various shots of models coming on. Various shots of Queen Mother meeting the models and other officials afterwards." British Pathe

"Spanning five centuries, our Fashion collection is the largest and most comprehensive collection of dress in the world. Key items in the collection include rare 17th century gowns, 18th century ‘mantua’ dresses, 1930s eveningwear, 1960s daywear and post-war couture."

Films from the British Pathe showing various clothing styles through the years.

"The New School Archives Digital Collections presents images, text, audio and video from The New School Archives & Special Collections, home to primary source materials documenting the history of all divisions of The New School."