"COINTELPRO The FBI began COINTELPRO—short for Counterintelligence Program—in 1956 to disrupt the activities of the Communist Party of the United States. In the 1960s, it was expanded to include a number of other domestic groups, such as the Ku Klux Klan, the Socialist Workers Party, and the Black Panther Party. All COINTELPRO operations were ended in 1971. Although limited in scope (about two-tenths of one percent of the FBI’s workload over a 15-year period), COINTELPRO was later rightfully criticized by Congress and the American people for abridging first amendment rights and for other reasons. "
"The Young Lords in Lincoln Park collection grows out of the ongoing struggle for fair housing, self-determination, and human rights that was launched by Mr. José “Cha-Cha” Jiménez, founder of the Young Lords Movement. This project is dedicated to documenting the history of the displacement of Puerto Ricans, Mejicanos, other Latinos, and the poor from Lincoln Park, as well as the history of the Young Lords nationwide. Collection includes more than 80 oral histories documenting the origins of the Young Lords Movement recorded by Jiménez."
"In 2001, Omar Lopez, former Minister of Information of the Young Lords, donated the small amount of archival material that is part of the Young Lords Collection to DePaul's Special Collections and Archives Department.
This online collection is being updated as newspapers are scanned and cataloged. For more information about issues not yet available online, please contact Special Collections and Archives."