LibGuides: Primary Sources: The 1960s: Music & Dance

Online Sources: Music - 1960's

"I-Feel-Like-I'm-Fixin'-to-Die-Rag" (Social History for Every Classroom)
more...less...
"In 1959, at the age of seventeen, Joe McDonald joined the Navy. After his discharge three years later, he enrolled in a Los Angeles college where he became involved in the Civil Rights Movement. In 1965, McDonald moved to Berkeley, California just as protests against the Vietnam War were becoming more visible. He formed a band called Country Joe and the Fish which recorded the "Fixin-to-Die-Rag" in October. The song, while never a commercial success, became one of the most powerful anthems of the anti-war movement."
Billboard Magazine (via Google Books)
Elvis Presley
FBI Vault: James Marshall "Jimi" Hendrix
FBI Vault: Janis Joplin
FBI Vault: Jerry Garcia
FBI Vault: The Beatles
FBI Vault: The Grateful Dead
FBI Vault: The Monkees
more...less...
"The Monkees were a U.S. pop band created for a television show of the same name in 1966. The band also toured and made record albums even after the show was cancelled. References to the band appear in two places in FBI files: a 1967 Los Angeles Field Office memorandum on anti-Vietnam war activities and a second document redacted entirely."
Grateful Dead - Internet Archive
more...less...
"Created in 2004 this collection consists of both audience and soundboard recordings. It is not uncommon to find multiple versions of the same show. For more information please see the FAQ. The Grateful Dead collection is not currently open to public uploads."
Inside the 1969 Bob Dylan-Johnny Cash Sessions
more...less...
"Bob Dylan and Johnny Cash had formed a mutual admiration society even before they met in the early 1960s."
John Lennon
Library of Congress Audio Recordings Online
more...less...
A selection of Audio Recordings from the Library of Congress. Over 18,000 are available online.
View of a Culture: Presenting Rock Music in Los Angeles, 1960s-1970s
more...less...
"This series includes interviews with individuals involved in behind-the-scenes or on-the-air presentation of rock music in Los Angeles area during its critical period of growth and importance, the 1960s and 1970s. It focuses on both the music itself and the culture that accompanied it as rock music developed from popular dance music into a significant art form and as much of it emerged from underground into mainstream culture. "
YouTube
more...less...
Provides access to videos on various topics. Check to see who uploaded the video and what you can find out about them. Videos can be altered, so it is a good idea to evaluate the source. See if you can find more than one video of the same event.

Dance Studies Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The only collection of curated primary and secondary full-text materials to support informed performance, pedagogy, and scholarship in dance. Dance Online: Dance Studies Collection presents the historical context of 20th and 21st century dance through 150,000 pages of exclusive photographs, correspondence, magazines, dance notation, and reference material that dissolve the distance between archive and scholar and draw dance students into the library.
Music & Dance Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Music and Dance Online delivers the largest, most diverse catalog of music content in the world for students, scholars, and patrons of the arts. The multimedia resource features works from thousands of respected partners, covers hundreds of genres from alternative to zydeco and from alternative dance to operatic arias, and encompasses a wide range of content formats - including scores, reference, and high definition audio and video.

Alexander Street Press Music Online - Sample Selections - 1960s

Alexander Street Press Music & Performing Arts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Music & Performing Arts combines audio and video that spans all time periods, hundreds of thousands of seminal artists, composers, choreographers, and ensembles to provide an unparalleled learning environment for the teaching of music.

Broadside Ballads, Vol. 11: Interviews With Phil Ochs
- This link opens in a new window
Charles Manson: Lie, The Love and Terror Cult
- This link opens in a new window
more...less...
Recordings made prior to the Tate/La Bianca Murders. The related documents includes a brief interview with Manson.
Classic Protest Songs from Smithsonian Folkways
- This link opens in a new window
more...less...
"War, social injustice, personal plaints, and calls for action have long fueled musical creation and performance. In Classic Protest Songs, Mark Gustafson and Jeff Place tap the historic Smithsonian audio collections to compile 22 songs favored by leaders of antiwar, civil rights, industrial labor, farm worker, and other struggles to air their grievances. Woody Guthrie, Lead Belly, Janis Ian, Big Bill Broonzy, Pete Seeger, Barbara Dane, Guy Carawan, Phil Ochs, and other marquee artists let their voices ring out with calls for peace and justice."
The Complete A&M Recordings performed by Baez, Joan
- This link opens in a new window
more...less...
Alexander Street Press Music database
Ella Swings Gently With Nelson
- This link opens in a new window
Folkways Years, 1955-1992: Songs of Love and Politics
- This link opens in a new window
more...less...
"Peggy [Seeger] personally selected these traditional and original songs focused primarily on the themes of love and politics. From a dominant figure in the folk song movement in the U.S. and England for more than 35 years, these titles have reached millions: Freight Train, First Time Ever I Saw Your Face, Gonna Be An Engineer. "21 tracks display the variety of Peggy's repertoire, her range of styles, love of tradition and innovative songwriting prowess."" Alexander Street Press Music database
Headlines and Footnotes: A Collection of Topical Songs
- This link opens in a new window
more...less...
"For nearly 60 years Pete Seeger, with his banjo and 12-string guitar, has made music which inspires people to improve their lives and world. Selections on this anthology, culled from the hundreds Seeger recorded for Folkways Records between 1955 and 1999, include concert and studio recordings about prominent events and themes of the twentieth century: the Spanish Civil War, union organizing, and the civil rights and antiwar movements"
If I Had a Hammer: Songs of Hope and Struggle
- This link opens in a new window
more...less...
"For over 50 years Pete Seeger's music has included songs on labor, civil rights, peace, and the hope for a better world. This CD contains 24 tracks selected from hundreds released on Folkways Records in the late 1950s and 1960s and 2 new songs recorded especially for this collection. Pete plays the 5-string banjo and the 12-string guitar and appears on some tracks with Almanac Singers and his grandson Tao Rodriguez."
CNU ONLY
The Jimi Hendrix Experience: 1966-1967
- This link opens in a new window
The Kingston Trio: Snapshot, Live in Concert 1965
- This link opens in a new window
Lest We Forget, Vol. 1
- This link opens in a new window
more...less...
"Songs played a large role in the movement to close the racial divide in America during the 1960s, and prayers, chants, sermons, and shouts were also fundamental to this task. This album features clips of these cries for freedom heard across the southern states of Alabama, Georgia, Mississippi and the District of Columbia. At voter registration rallies, in churches, at conferences or during mass meetings these words changed lives."
Lest We Forget, Vol. 2
- This link opens in a new window
more...less...
"Songs played a large role in the movement to close the racial divide in America during the 1960s, and prayers, chants, sermons, and shouts were also fundamental to this task. Guy and Candie Carawan recorded Martin Luther King, Jr. and Ralph Albernathy speaking just after they were arrested for attempting to, as Caucasians, sing in a black church. Armed with only one microphone, they were fortunate enough to be released just in time to record the historic event heard here."
Lest We Forget, Vol. 3: Sing For Freedom
- This link opens in a new window
more...less...
"Songs played a large role in the movement to close the racial divide in America during the 1960s, and prayers, chants, sermons, and shouts were also fundamental to this task. This collection of freedom songs was recorded during "The Sing for Freedom Workshop"a remarkable event that brought together the best of freedom singers to share the history of this tradition, better organize the freedom song movement, and enrich an already powerful repertoire of song."
Pop Goes the 60's
- This link opens in a new window
Presenting Isaac Hayes
- This link opens in a new window
Sing For Freedom: The Story of the Civil Rights Movement Through Its Songs
- This link opens in a new window
more...less...
Hymns, speeches, spirituals, gospel songs, and prayers...a moving civil rights collection drawn from 1960s field recordings in Alabama, Georgia, Mississippi, and Tennessee. The compilation captures the irrepressible spirit of that era and reveals a determined and triumphant African American culture. A collection of glorious songs and heartstopping selections by The SNCC Freedom Singers, Martin Luther King, Jr., Ralph Abernathy, and others. "...[T]here is wonderful singing here, great conviction, and the immediacy of living truth...powerful documentation of the most important social movement of our time."
We Shall Overcome: Songs of the Freedom Riders and the Sit-Ins
- This link opens in a new window
more...less...
"This 1961 recording of spirituals, gospel and new music to "express the spirit of freedom" was the result of an effort by producer and performer Guy Carawan to bring together singers representative of hundreds of thousands African American students from the south participating in sit-ins, stand-ins and freedom rides for "first class citizenship" during the civil rights movement. The songs are performed by The Montgomery Gospel Trio, comprised of three high school girls from Alabama, as well as four seminary students who call themselves "The Nashville Quartet" in an impromtu session as recorded by Moses Asch."
With A Little Help From My Friends
- This link opens in a new window

Book & Audio/Video Sources: Music - 1960s

A selection of books/e-books available in Trible Library.
Click the title for location and availability information.

Off campus access instructions (for e-books)

1+ : The Beatles
Call Number: ML421.B4 O532 2015 Blu-ray
"Features The Beatles (John Lennon, Paul McCartney, George Harrison, and Ringo Starr) in concerts and interviews."
50 Years of Rolling Stone by Rolling Stone LLC, Staff; Jann S. Wenner
- This link opens in a new window
Call Number: Online - Ebook Central
ISBN: 9781683350200
The American Folk Blues Festival 1962-1969 (v 1/2) and 1962-1969 (v 3)
Call Number: M1630.18 .A44 2003 (v. 1) / M1630.18 .A442 2003 (v. 2) / M1630.18 .A443 2004 (v. 3))
"Disc is accompanied by 20 page booklet with historical notes by Rob Bowman.
Summary "A rare collection of performances by America's premier bluesmen at the peak of their artistry."
And a Voice to Sing With: A Memoir by Joan Baez
Call Number: ML420.B114 A3 1987
ISBN: 0671400622
The Beatles Anthology
Call Number: ML421.B4 B42 2003
ISBN: 188440961X
"Featuring the Beatles (John Lennon, Paul McCartney, George Harrison, Ringo Starr), interviewed by Jools Holland and Bob Smeaton."
The Beatles [sound recording]
Call Number: M1630.18.B43 B43 2009
ISBN: 5099969944901
Bob Dylan: Song Book by Bob Dylan
Call Number: M1630.18.D94 B6
Cherokee Mist: The Lost Writings by Jimi Hendrix
Call Number: ML410.H476 A25 1993
ISBN: 0060169761
Principally letters, poems, lyrics, and photographs.
Compiled and edited by Bill Nitopi.
Chet Baker live in '64 & '79
Call Number: M1366 .J39 Ser.1 v.9
"The first performance filmed 1964 in Belgium for the program Jazz pour tous; the second performance filmed Sept. 3, 1979 at the Jazz Kongsberg Festival in Norway."
The Complete Monterey Pop Festival
Call Number: ML3534 .C67
ISBN: 0780025040
"Documentary about Monterey Pop Festival of 1967; includes festival footage and performances."
Ella Fitzgerald Live in '57 & '63
Call Number: M1366 .J39 Ser.1 v.7
George Harrison: Living in the Material World
Call Number: ML420.H167 G46 2011
"Using unseen photos and footage, ... director Martin Scorsese traces the life of George Harrison in a personal film, weaving together performance footage, home movies, rare archival materials and interviews with his family and friends"--Container.
Gimme Shelter
Call Number: ML421.R64 G555 2000
ISBN: 0780023811
"A documentary on the Rolling Stones' 1969 American concert tour and a concert at Altamont Speedway where security guards killed an audience member. Includes appearances by Ike and Tina Turner, Jefferson Airplane, and the Flying Burrito Brothers."
Jerry on Jerry: The Unpublished Jerry Garcia Interviews by Dennis McNally (Editor)
Call Number: ML419.G36 A5 2015
ISBN: 0316389595
John Cage and David Tudor by Martin Iddon
Call Number: ML410.C24 I33 2013
ISBN: 1107014328
:Correspondence on Interpretation and Performance
John Coltrane Live in '60, '61 & '65
Call Number: M1366 .J39 Ser.2 v.1
ISBN: 9786311433683
"Filmed March 28, 1960 in Düsseldorf, West Germany; December 4, 1961in Baden-Baden, West Germany; and August 1, 1965 in Comblain-La-Tour, Belgium."
The Leonard Bernstein Letters by Nigel Simeone (Editor); Leonard Bernstein
Call Number: ML410.B566 A4 2013
ISBN: 030017909X
Living with the Dead by Rock Scully
Call Number: Online - Ebook Central
ISBN: 1461661137
"As a manager for the Grateful Dead, Rock Scully was with the band from its early days in San Francisco to the years it spent touring the globe as one of the most enduring legends in music history. In Living with the Dead , Scully gives a complete account of his outrageous experiences with the band, during years that saw the Grateful Dead transform from a folksy revivalist band to psychedelic explorers of outer space."
The Lyrics: 1961-2012 by Bob Dylan
Call Number: ML54.6.D94 L97 2016
ISBN: 1451648766
"This collection contains Bob Dylan's lyrics, from his first album, Bob Dylan, to 2012's Tempest."
Magical Mystery Tour
Call Number: PN1997 .M2224 2012 Blu-ray
ISBN: 5099940490595
Originally broadcast on British television in 1967.
"The Beatles charter a special bus and embark on a magic journey through the English countryside. Features popular Beatles songs including 'The Fool on the Hill, ' 'Blue Jay Way, ' 'Your Mother Should Know, ' 'I Am the Walrus, ' and 'Magical Mystery Tour.'"
Miles: The Autobiography by Miles Davis; Quincy Troupe
Call Number: ML419.D39 A3 1990
ISBN: 0671725823
Motown, the DVD
Call Number: M1630.18 .M67 2009
Performances originally filmed and broadcast on various television programs 1965-1972.
Motown: The Sound of Young America by Adam White
Call Number: ML3792.M67 W45 2016
ISBN: 0500518297
Music in the USA: A Documentary Companion by Judith Tick
Call Number: ML200 .M89 2008
ISBN: 0195139887
"The anthology of primary sources contains about 160 selections from 1540 to 2000."
The Pete Seeger Reader by Ronald D. Cohen (Editor); James Capaldi (Editor)
Call Number: ML420.S445 P48 2014
ISBN: 019986201X
Songwriters on Songwriting by Paul Zollo
Call Number: ML3477 .Z64 1997
ISBN: 0306807777
The Studio Albums 1968-1979 (Joni Mitchell)
Call Number: M1630.18.M68 S78 2012
Through the Eyes of a Dancer by Wendy Perron
Call Number: GV1600 .P47 2013
ISBN: 0819574074
A compilation of the writings of dance critic and editor Wendy Perron, from the 1960s to the present.
To Stretch Our Ears by James Heywood Alexander
Call Number: ML200 .T67 2002
ISBN: 0393974111
A Documentary History of America's Music
Voices of the Civil Rights Movement [sound recording] by Smithsonian Folkways Recordings
Call Number: M1977.C47 V65 1997
Black American Freedom Songs, 1960-1966.
Recorded at public meetings at various locations and times between 1960 and 1966.
Woodstock: 3 days of Peace & Music
Call Number: ML38.B48 W66 2009
ISBN: 1419859595
Filmed at The Woodstock Music and Art Fair, Bethel, NY, August 1969 ; originally produced as an American motion picture in 1970; director's cut produced in 1994.
MPAA Rating: Rated R for drug content, nudity and language.
Woodstock: Defining moments by Kevin Hillstrom; Laurie Collier Hillstrom
Call Number: ML38.B43 W64 2013
ISBN: 0780812840
"Provides a comprehensive account of the 1969 Woodstock Music and Art Fair. Places Woodstock within the context of the 1960s; describes the festival itself; details how Woodstock changed American popular music; and explores the festival's enduring significance. Includes a narrative overview, biographies, primary sources, chronology, glossary, bibliography, and index"--Provided by publisher.
Woodstock: The Oral History by Joel Makower
Call Number: ML38.W66 M34 1989
ISBN: 1438429746
"... this oral history offers page after page of commentary from a cross-section of those connected with it. After writing two pages of preface, Makower never again intervenes;..."
Library Journal
Yellow Submarine
Call Number: PN1997 .Y45 2012 Blu-ray
ISBN: 5099962146098
Originally released as a motion picture in 1968.
British Invasion: 5 DVD Box Set
Call Number: M1741.18 .B75 2010

Search for More

Suggested terms to look for include - diary, diaries, letters, papers, documents, documentary or correspondence.

Combine these these terms with the event or person you are researching. (example: civil war diary)

Also search by subject for specific people and events, then scan the titles for those keywords or others such as memoirs, autobiography, report, or personal narratives.