LibGuides: Primary Sources: LGBTQ+: Religion

Online Sources: LGBT - Religion

Cure for Love
more...less...
"Cure for Love is a full-length documentary about a controversial evangelical movement that purports to convert gay people into heterosexuals. The film brings us inside this unusual Christian subculture and follows the lives of several young people whose homosexuality is at odds with their religious beliefs."
LGBT Religious Archives Network
more...less...
"...provides an electronic information clearinghouse for these archival collections and other historical data about LGBT religious history for the use of historians, researchers and other interested persons. " Some resources are available online; includes an oral history archive.
LGBT Religious Archives Network
more...less...
"...provides an electronic information clearinghouse for these archival collections and other historical data about LGBT religious history for the use of historians, researchers and other interested persons. " Some resources are available online; includes an oral history archive.
Unitarian Universalist Lesbian and Gay Community Newsletters (1982-1987)
more...less...
"Newsletters dating from 1982 to 1987 which document the activities and interests of members of the Unitarian Universalist Lesbian and Gay Community (UULGC) in Atlanta, Georgia."

For the Bible Tells Me So
Call Number: BS680.H67 F67 2007
"This documentary tells the stories of five Christian families coming to terms with their gay and lesbian children, in an America where thanks to social forces clashing, the very atmosphere seems filled with hatred, old-fashioned prejudice, and fear of the other."
Found Tribe: Jewish Coming Out Stories by Lawrence Schimel (Editor)
Call Number: HQ76.2.U5 F68 2002
ISBN: 1890932205
In Good Conscience: Sister Jeannine Gramick's Journey of Faith
Call Number: BX1795.H66 I5 2006
Living Out Islam: Voices of Gay, Lesbian, and Transgender Muslims by Scott Siraj al-Haqq Kugle
Call Number: BP188.14.H65 K84 2014
ISBN: 0814744486
Peccatum mutum : (the mute sin, alias sodomy) by Ludovico Maria Sinistrari
Call Number: Online - free - HathiTrust
: A Theological Treatise : for the first time translated from the Latin / of Father Sinistrari.
Religion and American Cultures by Luis León (Editor); Gary Laderman (Editor)
- This link opens in a new window
Call Number: Online - Ebook Central
ISBN: 9781576072387
Religion and Sexuality (Opposing Viewpoints Series) by Kevin Hillstrom (Editor)
Call Number: HQ63 .R45 2008
ISBN: 9780737737493
Saving Alex
Call Number: BX8695.C57 A3 2016
ISBN: 0062467395
: When I was Fifteen I told my Mormon Parents I was Gay, and that's when My Nightmare Began
Trembling before G-d
Call Number: HQ75.15 .T74 2003
ISBN: 9781567303216

Suggested terms to look for include - diary, diaries, letters, papers, documents, documentary or correspondence.

Combine these these terms with the event or person you are researching. (example: civil war diary)

Also search by subject for specific people and events, then scan the titles for those keywords or others such as memoirs, autobiography, report, or personal narratives.