Primary Sources: LGBTQ+: Magazines & Newspapers

"The Bay Area Reporter is the oldest continuously published lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender weekly newspaper in the United States."

"The Dallas Voice newspaper has been continuously published since 1984 and is the first newspaper to represent and serve the Dallas, Texas, LGBT community."

"The Empty Closet is one of the oldest continuously published LGBT papers in the United States. It was begun at the University of Rochester by Bob Osborn and Larry Fine, the founders of the UR student group, Rochester Gay Liberation Front, and later transferred to the Gay Alliance of the Genesee Valley (GAGV). "

"Focus Point was published and edited by Craig Lindahl-Urben. It included articles of interest to the gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgender (GLBT) communities of Minnesota, especially the Twin Cities of Minneapolis and St. Paul. Topics included news, events, politics, entertainment, and the arts. Many of these stories were not covered by the mainstream press in Minnesota. "

"Gay News launched in May 1972, and was at first collectively edited by a group of people including Denis Lemon, Doug Pollard and Glenys Parry, all of whom were gay liberation campaigners before, during and after their involvement in the newspaper."

"The Houston and Texas Feminist and Lesbian Newsletters collection contains issues of newsletters and similar periodicals from thirteen feminist and lesbian organizations and community groups from Houston, Austin, and other areas of Texas. These publications highlight the political, social, and cultural interests of the various organizations and groups, primarily during the 1970s and 1980s. These groups were concerned with such topics as women’s equality, gay and lesbian rights, and sexual and domestic violence."

"Independent Voices is an open access digital collection of alternative press newspapers, magazines and journals, drawn from the special collections of participating libraries. These periodicals were produced by feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Hispanics, LGBT activists, the extreme right-wing press and alternative literary magazines during the latter half of the 20th century."

Vintage Lesbian magazine from the 50s to 70s. Volumes 1 and 5-16 are complete. Volumes 2-4 are fragmented and mostly incomplete

Contains full-text issues of The Ladder, a lesbian magazine from October 1956-September 1972.

The Center Records Collection comprises 86 editions of Center publications, ‘The Center Voice’ and ‘Center Happenings’. The first edition of The Center Voice was published in 1985, soon after the founding of The Center. They show the diversity of LGBT groups existing in NYC at the time. The Center Voice became Center Happenings and the current publication produced by The Center is Center Listings which comes out quarterly.

"The LGBTQ Publications collection includes publications from the holdings of UTSA Libraries Special Collections, as well as the HAPPY Foundation Archives."

"The Media History Digital Library digitizes collections of classic media periodicals that belong in the public domain for full public access. The project is supported by owners of materials who loan them for scanning, and donors who contribute funds to cover the cost of scanning."

Access a collection of articles on a variety of topics from old magazines. A site that is privately owned and operated by an "old magazine enthusiast."
"All articles are free to read on line, however should you wish to have a version that can be printed, this can be done for the cost of $5.00. Click here to have an article emailed or faxed to you."

"Out is a fashion, style, celebrity and opinion magazine for the modern gay man."

"Out in the Mountains was the only LGBT focused newspaper in Vermont from early 1986 to January of 2007 when the last issue was released. The newspaper provided a forum for a diverse LGBT community to stay connected, covered issues facing the community such as violence, isolation and HIV, and discussed policy and organizing efforts to battle discrimination against LGBT people in Vermont and in the United States as a whole. Some significant milestones for LGBT rights in Vermont covered by Out in the Mountains include the passage of Civil Unions and the Vermont Employment Non-Discrimination Act. The newspaper featured ongoing advice and dating column, a series of coming out stories, a column for youth writers, LGBT cartoonists including Alison Bechdel, and profiles of prominent community members. The newspaper refused to print advertisements for alcohol or cigarettes, and ran advertisements for safer sex practices. Out in the Mountains ceased publication due to financial difficulties."

"OutWeek Magazine was the seminal lesbian and gay publication during the peak era of AIDS activism in the late 80s and early 90s."

PinkNews is an online news site for LGBT news, operated by PinkNews Media Group Ltd. Users can choose from a U.S., U.K. or World edition.

"The Queer Zine Archive Project (QZAP) was first launched in November 2003 in an effort to preserve queer zines and make them available to other queers, researchers, historians, punks, and anyone else who has an interest DIY publishing and underground queer communities."

"The Historic Publications Collection combines newsletters, periodicals, newspapers, books, and other publications by, for and about the LGBTQ communities. "
"The Baltimore Gayzette" (Produced by the Baltimore Gay Alliance)
"Capitol Hill" (Published by the Gay Rights National Lobby)
"Come Out Fighting: A Newsletter" (Produced by The Lavender and Red Union)
"Cruise: Weekly Arts and Entertainment Magazine"
"The Furies, Goddesses of Vengeance: A New Lesbian/Feminist Monthly Magazine"
"The Lavender and Red Book: A Gay Liberation/Socialist Anthology" (Produced by The Lavender and Red Union)
"The Homosexual Citizen" (Published by the Mattachine Society of Washington)
"The Insider" (Published by the Mattachine Society of Washington"
"The Gay Blade"
"Gay Left"
"Gays on the Hill" (Published by Metropolitan Community Church)
"Just Us: A Directory of the Washington Gay Community"
"Magnus: A Journal of Collective Faggotry"
"Motive: Methodist Student Movement"
"Musica: Newsletter of Women's Music" (Published by Indra "Indy" Allen)
"Off Our Backs: A Women's Liberation Biweekly"
"Red Flag Union" (Published by the Red Flag Union in Hollywood, California)

"Southern Voice newspaper was a significant resource for the LGBT community in the Southeast from 1988 to 2010, providing in-depth information on topics such as the fight against AIDS, marriage equality, legal issues, workplace discrimination, and violence against gay individuals."

"TWO was published by Rick Kerr, and the office address given was that of the Melody Room (457 Church Street, Toronto), one of two gay clubs he owned (the other being the Music Room). The magazine name was obviously inspired by the American homophile publication "TWO (Truth Will Out)," a supplement to the magazine One, which began in 1953. With issue #6 the subtitle was dropped from the covers. The publisher name was initially Gayboy Publishing, and quickly changed to Kamp Publishing LTD."

"Newsletters dating from 1982 to 1987 which document the activities and interests of members of the Unitarian Universalist Lesbian and Gay Community (UULGC) in Atlanta, Georgia."

Contains a variety of articles with some dating back to the 1850s. The full-text of the articles are provided when available.