"Explore unreleased interviews filmed for past American Masters documentaries: 1000+ records and counting from more than 40 episodes in the series' history. Browse now for rare interviews with musicians, filmmakers, artists, historians, writers, comedians, journalists and more. Some figures in the collection include David Bowie, Patti Smith, Herbie Hancock, Gloria Steinem, Mike Nichols, Mel Brooks, Carol Burnett, Walter Cronkite, Don Rickles and Maya Angelou."
"...the Television Academy Foundation’s Archive of American Television has conducted over 750 oral history interviews (over 3000 hours) with the legends of television. These interviews chronicle the birth and growth of American TV History as it evolves, and make the interviews available worldwide. The Archive continues to produce new interviews every year. The collection covers a variety of professions, genres, and topics in electronic media history."
"The Diamonstein-Spielvogel Video Archive features interviews Barbaralee Diamonstein-Spielvogel conducted with prominent artists, musicians, architects, designers, photographers, directors, actors, writers, and art collectors, documenting the arts world during the nineteen seventies and the nineteen eighties. This collection includes interviews from several programs: American Architecture Now, About the Arts, Barbaralee Diamonstein and... , Handmade in America, Inside Fashion, Inside New York's Art World, Interior Design: The New Freedom, and Visions and Images. Digitized videos are available for viewing in iTunes U and YouTube. Audio and video from the Diamonstein-Spielvogel Lecture Series at the National Gallery of Art are available on the NGA website."
"The Jean Walkinshaw Collection features documentaries and interviews produced for Seattle public television station KCTS by the award-winning documentarian and producer Jean Walkinshaw. The collection includes 44 documentaries; Celebrate the Women, a series of short programs in honor of Washington State’s centennial year; Faces of the City, a series of personal profiles that find the extraordinary in the ordinary, based on Studs Terkel’s approach; and Remarkable People, a collection of documentaries and raw interviews on notable Pacific Northwest figures. Additionally, a number of half-hour and hour-long national and international documentaries are included. The collection, spanning the years 1972-2008, covers much of Walkinshaw’s lengthy career. "
"...contains more than 300 commercials, from every presidential election since 1952, when Madison Avenue advertising executive Rosser Reeves convinced Dwight Eisenhower that short ads played during such popular TV programs as I Love Lucy would reach more voters than any other form of advertising. " The site is provided by the Museum of the Moving Image
"Sacheen Littlefeather refusing to accept the Best Actor Oscar® on behalf of Marlon Brando for his performance in "The Godfather" - the 45th Annual Academy Awards® in 1973. Liv Ullmann and Roger Moore presented the award."
Norman Lear was involved in producing a variety of television shows including a number of iconic shows from the 1970s such as All in the Family, Sanford and Son, Maude, Good Times, The Jeffersons, and One Day at a Time,
"Robert Newman (1930-2007) was a producer and director of socially observant documentary films.
Although his subjects varied widely – from a religious community in Scotland to civil rights workers in the American South to a senatorial campaign in New England – a common theme in Newman’s films is the struggle of individuals to deal with rapidly changing societies. From the early 1960s through the late 1970s, Newman documented a period of fast-moving social upheaval."
"This is the first part of an interview with the talented Johnson. We discuss his early career, how he landed the role on Soap, the controversy surrounding the show, and a lot of great anecdotes about working with the rest of the extraordinary cast."
In part two, we discuss many of the memorable Soap guest stars, the show’s announcer Rod Roddy, the series’ surprise ending, working on CSI, Empty Nest, and Chuck and Bob’s surprise return on That ’70s Show. We finish by talking about Johnson’s stage show and how it felt to win a Tony award. Tune in!
"The Sounds of The American Revolution features material from the early days of WBCN-FM, when the underground station, politics and rock and roll changed radio - and the world. This audio stream includes the archives shared for The American Revolution documentary film, coming March 15, 2018, which have now been restored, and preserved for future listeners. Hear the music, news reports, ads, rare live musical broadcasts, station ID's, interviews, zaniness, and more, as broadcast from the station's launch in 1968 and over the next seven years. A non-profit, educational project of Lichtenstein Creative Media in collaboration with UMass Amherst Special Collections and University Archives, Center for Independent Documentary and Airtime Pro; along with the Berkman Klein Center for Internet & Society; SoundExchange; WilmerHale; and Mass Productions. Music consultant: Tony Wermuth. Support The American Revolution documentary and archival project with a tax-deductible non-profit donation now at: www.BIT.LY/filmdonations "
"Our oral histories chronicle the evolution of television by recording the stories of people who have impacted the television landscape. We interview television professionals, both in front of and behind the camera, in order to document all facets of the industry."
"Unstoppable: Conversation with Melvin Van Peebles, Gordon Parks, and Ossie Davis is a film in which Melvin Van Peebles, Gordon Parks, and Ossie Davis are interviewed together, with moderation by Warrington Hudlin. It was first shown on the STARZ network, and has not been released on DVD. It also features Ruby Dee, Julie Dash, Reginald Hudlin and Nelson George. - wikipedia"
"... contains episodes from the eponymous children’s educational television series produced by the New York State Education Department (NYSED) with support from a grant from the U.S. Department of Health, Education, and Welfare under the direction of the award-winning producer Yanna Kroyt Brandt. Produced over two seasons and distributed by PBS and NBC from September 22, 1975 to December 14, 1978, the series aimed to oppose racial and cultural stereotypes by exposing children to characters of various backgrounds, ethnicities, races, and cultures. Brandt and her production team geared Vegetable Soup toward children of elementary-school age."
Disc 1: The mirror has two faces (ca. 126) / 1996, TriStar Pictures) -- Disc 2: The prince of tides (ca. 132 min.) / 1991, Columbia Pictures -- Disc 3: The way we were (ca. 118 min.) / 1973, Columbia Pictures.
Disc 1: It happened one night (1934) -- Disc 2: You can't take it with you (1938) -- Disc 3: All the king's men (1949) -- Disc 4: From here to eternity (1953) -- Disc 5: On the waterfront (1954) -- Disc 6: Bridge on the River Kwai (1957) -- Disc 7: Lawrence of Arabia (1962) -- Disc 8: A man for all seasons (1966) -- Disc 9: Oliver (1968) -- Disc 10: Kramer vs. Kramer (1979) -- Disc 11: Gandhi (1982).