Primary Sources: The 1970s: Church Committee (1975)

"The Assassination Archives and Research Center is the largest private archives in the world which is dedicated to acquiring, preserving, and disseminating information on political assassinations. It includes more than 35,000 pages of scanned documents. Most of these relate to the 1963 assassination of President Kennedy, and include a mixture of long-published reports and newly declassified transcripts and other documents. Also contained in the Public Library are the reports of the Church Committee and the Rockefeller Commission, which in the 1970s studied abuses of the intelligence agencies. The collection also contains relevant material from federal agencies such as the FBI and CIA. Reports, transcripts, and other documents are constantly being added to the AARC Public Library." Description provided by the Library of Congress
https://www.loc.gov/item/2004540211/

Includes primary source materials, such as the resolution passed and final report as well as secondary background information on members and an overview.

Church Committee hearing: counsel Schwarz says that the FBI had informants infiltrating group meetings of disgruntled housewives and other groups of women of decidedly non-revolutionary nature

An independent non-governmental research institute and library located at The George Washington University, the Archive collects and publishes declassified documents obtained through the Freedom of Information Act. The Archive also serves as a repository of government records on a wide range of topics pertaining to the national security, foreign, intelligence, and economic policies of the United States. Some of these items are accessible online for free.

Witnesses testified before the Senate Select Committee to Study Governmental Operations with Respect to Intelligence Activities, commonly known as the Church Committee, on FBI intelligence activities. From November 18, 1975, committee staffers Frederick Schwarz and Curtis Smothers detailed FBI abuses including spying, bugging, and attempted intimidation of Martin Luther King, Jr. From November 19, 1975, James Adams, deputy associate director of the FBI’s Intelligence Division, admitted to some excesses but defended a number of these FBI practices.

Testimony before the committee revealed that the FBI engaged in a prolonged attempt to discredit the work of Martin Luther King Jr. because it associated his work with communism. The agency, the committee discovered, engaged in such activities as warning prominent individuals not to meet with King, sending threatening letters to his home, and searching for evidence of activities that could embarrass him.