Primary Sources: The 1970s: Education

"The Albert M. Greenfield Digital Center for the History of Women's Education is an online locus of scholarship on the history of women’s higher education. The Center aims to foster inquiry and dialogue on how the history of women’s education has informed contemporary life and how it will shape the global future. Through its blog, exhibits, instructional lesson plans, and digital collections the Center provides informative materials and a digital space for teaching and learning on these topics."

"Community and judicial efforts to push the City of Boston to voluntarily desegregate its schools failed, and in 1974, a federal judge imposed court-ordered desegregation via busing between neighborhoods in the landmark Morgan v. Hennigan decision. The court-ordered busing was implemented during the 1974-1975 school year, and assigned many students to schools in neighborhoods far from where they lived in an effort to racially balance school assignment. There was a hostile backlash by many white residents of Boston, and many city residents of all races had questions about the busing method for implementing desegregation as well as the efficacy of desegregation. The topic remains an issue in Boston, where despite the 1974 decision and continuing efforts to integrate its schools, many schools remain racially imbalanced today."

Collections from various libraries and other institutions in Massachusetts.

"... remembers the victorious struggle for bilingual education and educational equity for Mexican Americans. Parents, teachers, and youth dared to challenge child abuse and educational neglect in their schools. Powerfully illustrated through the lives of three Mexican/Chicana women—Ramona Medina, Socorro Gómez-Potter, and Yolanda Almaraz-Esquivel—Educating Change documents a history of Mexican women’s migration and activism, and considers its relevance for today’s US Latino communities, including Providence."

"The Moakley Archive Oral History Project is a collection of interviews that highlight key events and issues related to Congressman John Joseph Moakley's life and career. By collecting audio- and videotaped interviews with family, friends, staff, colleagues, political opponents, political leaders and his constituents the Project preserves valuable information and observations that may not be a part of the Congressman John Joseph Moakley Papers."

"The New School Archives Digital Collections presents images, text, audio and video from The New School Archives & Special Collections, home to primary source materials documenting the history of all divisions of The New School."

"Affirmative action programs that take race into account can continue to play a role in the college admissions process, since creating a diverse classroom environment is a compelling state interest under the Fourteenth Amendment. State universities go too far, however, when they set a certain quota for the number of minority students who enroll."
https://supreme.justia.com/cases/federal/us/438/265/

Copy of the Title IX amendment from the Department of Justice. The site also provides access to additional information such as the Title IX Legal Manual and links to other government agencies with related information.

"The papers in this collection constitute a day-to-day file documentation of the "Boston Schools Case," a class action lawsuit against the Commonwealth of Massachusetts and the Boston School Committee. The 1974 case (Morgan v. Hennigan, 379 F. Supp. 410) went to trial before Federal District Court Judge W. Arthur Garrity, Jr., who, on June 21, 1974, filed a 152-page opinion ruling that the School Committee of the City of Boston had "intentionally brought about and maintained racial segregation" in the Boston Public Schools. The opinion required the School Committee to use a temporary desegregation plan for the 1974-1975 school year and ordered the Committee to begin formulating a permanent plan. By January 1975, the School Committee had failed to present an adequate desegregation plan to the court and the court assumed an active role in the formulation of the desegregation remedy, overseeing implementation of court-ordered desegregation (through busing) in the Boston Public Schools for the next fifteen years. University Archives and Special Collections in the Joseph P. Healey Library at the University of Massachusetts Boston has digitized three different series from the much larger W. Arthur Garrity, Jr. chambers papers."