"Title IX of the Education Amendments of 1972 and the Departmental Regulation (45 CFR Part 86) prohibits discrimination on the basis of sex in the operation of most federally-assisted education programs. This document provides guidance with respect to the major first-year responsibilities of an educational institution to insure equal opportunity in the operation of both its athletic activities and its athletic scholarship programs."
"This virtual scrapbook is filled with articles, photographs, interviews, and statistics that give you an up-close-and-personal look at the pioneering women who played professional baseball from 1943 through 1954. "
"In 1902, a unique combination of Native women came together at a boarding school in Montana. They used the new sport of basketball to help them adjust to a rapidly changing world. Their travels and experiences led them to places they never imagined. Ultimately, these women played for something much larger than themselves." Montana PBS
Copy of the Title IX amendment from the Department of Justice. The site also provides access to additional information such as the Title IX Legal Manual and links to other government agencies with related information.
"The Women's Boxing Historical Database was created by Sue TL Fox, of Women Boxing Archive Network [WBAN]. Fox has researched the history of the sport since September of 1996, being the first known historical website on the net going live in May of 1998, to present the HiSTORY OF WOMEN'S BOXING. WBAN has converted the research from the book that was in progress, Women's Boxing: Setting the Record Straight, to being online to make it the most extensive coverage in the sport today from the history to the current events going on in amateurs and professionals. The ONLINE Historical Database [from the 1700s to current] will be continously updated with new information and archived documents of the sport, and we will strive to set the record straight by encouraging worldwide participation in any contribution of information, research that can be added to this database. Not only is the database the most extensive on the net---but it is FREE to use by all. "
Women's Marathon Pioneer
In 1967, the American athlete Kathrine Switzer, became the first woman to run the Boston Marathon.
At the time, athletics officials believed women were incapable of running more than a mile and a half.
Book Sources: Women Athletes and Sports
A selection of books/e-books available in Trible Library.
Click the title for location and availability information.
"Examines both sides of issues pertaining to girl athletes, from how gender influences participation to how participation affects girls' health, and from school support for girls sports programs to cultural implications."
This passionate and inspirational documentary goes up close and personal to capture the Roosevelt Roughriders girls' basketball team during six turbulent seasons, taking us far beyond the court to the unbridled desire to make history.
"Women and Sports in the United States brings together scholarly articles, journalism, political and legal documents, and first-person accounts that collectively explore women’s sports in America, with emphasis on the post–Title IX era."
Search for More
Suggested terms to look for include - diary, diaries, letters, papers, documents, documentary or correspondence.
Combine these these terms with the event or person you are researching. (example: civil war diary)
Also search by subject for specific people and events, then scan the titles for those keywords or others such as memoirs, autobiography, report, or personal narratives.