LibGuides: Primary Sources: American Women: Movies, TV & Radio

Online Sources: Movies, TV & Radio - American Women

Academy Awards (The Oscars)
more...less...
The Oscars are the Academy of Motion Pictures awards. The website provides information and clips for the nominees. Find past winners, check out the FAQ, see fashion highlights and even play some games.
Academy Awards Acceptance Speeches
more...less...
"This database contains transcripts of the onstage acceptance speeches given by Academy Award winners and acceptors. Some records include video clips. The database is a work in progress**; additional speeches will be added as they become available."
Media History Digital Library
more...less...
"The Media History Digital Library digitizes collections of classic media periodicals that belong in the public domain for full public access. The project is supported by owners of materials who loan them for scanning, and donors who contribute funds to cover the cost of scanning."
Prelinger Archives
more...less...
"Prelinger Archives was founded in 1983 by Rick Prelinger in New York City. Over the next twenty years, it grew into a collection of over 60,000 "ephemeral" (advertising, educational, industrial, and amateur) films. In 2002, the film collection was acquired by the Library of Congress, Motion Picture, Broadcasting and Recorded Sound Division. Prelinger Archives remains in existence, holding approximately 4,000 titles on videotape and a smaller collection of film materials acquired subsequent to the Library of Congress transaction. Its goal remains to collect, preserve, and facilitate access to films of historic significance that haven't been collected elsewhere. Included are films produced by and for many hundreds of important US corporations, nonprofit organizations, trade associations, community and interest groups, and educational institutions" Available through the Internet Archive

Movies on DVD

Selected examples of depictions of women.

Click title for availability information and other details.

9 to 5
Call Number: PN1997 .N556 2006
Originally released as a motion picture in 1980.
Adam's Rib
Call Number: PN1997 .A29 2000
ISBN: 9780790743936
riginal released as motion picture in 1949.
The African Queen (dvd)
Call Number: PN1997 .A37 2010
Originally released as a motion picture in 1951.
Based on the novel by C.S. Forester.
All about Eve
Call Number: PN1997 .A3264 2019 Blu-ray
Originally released as motion picture in 1950.
Annie Hall
Call Number: PN1997 .A56 2005
ISBN: 9780792838470
Original produced as motion picture in 1977.
Black Widow
Call Number: PN1997.2 .B5351 2021 Blu-ray
ISBN: 0786936870824
Brave
Call Number: PN1997.2 .B718 2012 DVD
Originally released as a motion picture in 2010.
Breakfast at Tiffany's
Call Number: PN1997 .B7421 2011 Blu-ray
Originally produced as a motion picture in 1961.
The China Syndrome
Call Number: PN1997 .C46435 2004
ISBN: 9781404961845
Originally released as motion picture in 1979.
Cleopatra
Call Number: PN1997 .C591 2005
Originally produced as an American motion picture in 1963.
The Color Purple
Call Number: PS3573.A425 C66 1997
ISBN: 0790729717
Videodisc release of the 1985 motion picture by Warner Brothers.
Fried Green Tomatoes
Call Number: PN1997 .F7543 2014 Blu-ray
ISBN: 9781417006045
Originally released as a motion picture in 1991.
Girl, Interrupted
Call Number: PN1997.G472 G575 2000
ISBN: 9780767847421
Originally released as a motion picture in 1999.
Girl 6
Call Number: PN1997 .G4656 2006
Originally released as a motion picture in 1996.
Guess Who's Coming to Dinner
Call Number: PN1995.9.M45 G8477 2008
ISBN: 9781424869008
DVD release of the 1967 motion picture.
The Hand that Rocks the Cradle
Call Number: PN1997 .H255 1998
ISBN: 9781558908888
Originally produced as motion picture in 1991.
Hidden FIgures
Call Number: PN1997.2 .H53 2017
ISBN: 9786316777201
A League of their Own
Call Number: PN1997 .L425 1997
ISBN: 9780800177256
Videodisc release of 1992 motion picture.
Love Story
Call Number: PN1997 .L684 2001
ISBN: 9780792172222
Originally produced as an American motion picture in 1970.
Pocahontas
Call Number: PN1997 P63 2005
ISBN: 9780788829598
Originally produced as an American motion picture in 1995.
Precious
Call Number: PN1997.2 .P73 2010
Based upon the book "Push", a novel by Sapphire.
Originally released as a motion picture in 2009.
The Princess Bride
Call Number: PN1997 .P7485 2007
Originally released as a motion picture in 1987.
Snow White and the Seven Dwarfs
Call Number: PN1997 .S616 2009
ISBN: 9780788885761
Originally produced as a motion picture in 1937.
Some like it Hot
Call Number: PN1997 .S6182 2018 Blu-ray
ISBN: 9781681435206
Originally produced as a motion picture in 1959.
Treasures III: Social Issues in American Film, 1900-1934
Call Number: PN1995.9.S62 T74 2007
ISBN: 9780974709949
Who's afraid of Virginia Woolf?
Call Number: PS3551.L25 W56 1997
ISBN: 9780790732251
Originally released as motion picture in 1966 by Warner Bros.
The Women of Brewster Place
Call Number: PN1997.2 .W6662 2011
Wonder Woman
Call Number: PN1997.2 .W6731 2017 Blu-ray/DVD

JustWatch

JustWatch
You can use this service to locate specific television shows and films. Some are available on pay services (like Netflix, Hulu, etc.) others are available on free services (like Pluto, tubi, etc.)

And don't forget the libary has DVDs, Blu-Ray and Streaming services available as well.

Suggested Titles to search for in JustWatch

These are some female focused shows that may be of interest

Maude	Living Single
Kate & Allie	Girls
The Mary Tyler Moore Show	Killing Eve
Buff the Vampire Slayer	Agent Carter
Orange is the New Black	Veronica Mars
Nancy Drew	VEEP
The Golden Girls	The Handmaid's Tale
Laverne & Shirley	227
Electra Woman and Dyna Girl	Wonder Woman
All American Girl	Alice
One Day at a Time	Ugly Betty

Search for More Media!

Academic Video Online (via ProQuest Platform) This link opens in a new window
Academic Video Online is the most comprehensive video subscription available to libraries. It delivers ~ 68,000 titles spanning the widest range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more.More than 14,000 titles are exclusive to Alexander Street, all with a predictable annual cost.Academic Video Online includes a variety of video material available with curricular relevance: documentaries, interviews, feature films, performances, news programs and newsreels, demonstrations, and raw footage. Patrons will find thousands of award-winning films, including Academy®, Emmy®, and Peabody® winners. Academic institutions will find the most frequently used films for classroom instruction, plus newly released films and previously unavailable archival material.
Academic Video Online (via Alexander Street Press) This link opens in a new window
Academic Video Online is the most comprehensive video subscription available to libraries. It delivers more than 66,000 titles spanning the widest range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more.
Docuseek This link opens in a new window
Tip: After searching, check the box Show only licensed films to eliminate any films to which CNU does not have access.
An interdisciplinary collection of documentary and social issues films and videos. It includes exclusive educational streaming access to content from Bullfrog Films, Icarus Films (including The Fanlight Collection and dGenerate Films), Kartemquin Films, MediaStorm, the National Film Board of Canada, Scorpion TV Sincerely Films, Terra Nova Films and KimStim.
Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
Always on the cutting edge, Films On Demand‘s platform provides users with the content, tools, speed, and performance that today’s online experience demands. With films from top producers including A&E, PBS, BBC Learning, National Geographic, ABC News, NBC News, CNBC, Canadian Broadcasting Corporation, HBO Documentary Films, PBS NewsHour, Open University, Bill Moyers, California Newsreel, Annenberg Learner, TED, Films for the Humanities & Sciences, and more.

Book Sources: Movies, TV & Radio - American Women

A selection of books/e-books available in Trible Library.
Click the title for location and availability information.

Off campus access instructions (for e-books)

As Consciousness Is Harnessed to Flesh by Susan Sontag
Call Number: PS3569.O6547 Z46 2012
ISBN: 9780374100766
Child Star: an Autobiography by Shirley Temple Black
Call Number: PN2287.T33 A3 1988
ISBN: 0070055327
Conversations at the American Film Institute with the Great Moviemakers by George, George Stevens, Jr.
Call Number: PN1998.2 .C613 2012
ISBN: 9780307273475
Collects American Film Institute conversations with filmmakers from the 1950s to today, including Steven Spielberg, Nora Ephron, and George Lucas.
Conversations with Susan Sontag by Susan Sontag
Call Number: PS3569.O6547 Z47 1995
ISBN: 0878058346
Fantasy Femmes of Sixties Cinema by Tom Lisanti
Call Number: PN1998.2 .L57 2001
ISBN: 0786408685
Interviews with 20 actresses from Biker, Beach, and Elvis Movies
Kate Smith Speaks: 50 Selected Original Radio Scripts: 1938-1951 by Richard Hayes, Editor
Call Number: PN1991.77.K38 K38 2013
ISBN: 1593932227
Lauren Bacall by Myself by Lauren Bacall
Call Number: PN2287.B115 A35 L3
ISBN: 0394413083
The Lonely Life: An Autobiography by Bette Davis
Call Number: PN2287.D32 A3 1962
The Making of "The African Queen" by Katharine Hepburn
Call Number: PN1997.A31163 H47 1987
ISBN: 0394562720
or How I Went to Africa with Bogart, Bacall and Almost Lost My Life
Me: Stories of My Life by Katharine Hepburn
Call Number: PN2287.H45 A3 1991
ISBN: 0679400516
The Million Dollar Mermaid by Esther Williams with Digby Diehl
Call Number: PN2287.W472 A3 1999
ISBN: 0684852845
Moving Pictures by Ali MacGraw
Call Number: PN2287.M167 A3 1991
ISBN: 0553072706
My Extraordinary Ordinary Life by Sissy Spacek with Maryanne Vollers
Call Number: PN2287.S663 A3 2012
ISBN: 1401324363
My Life So Far by Jane Fonda
Call Number: PN2287.F56 A3 2005
ISBN: 0375507108
This 'n That by Bette Davis
Call Number: PN2287.D32 A3 1987
With Ossie and Ruby: In this Life Together by Ossie Davis; Ruby Dee
Call Number: PN2285 .D28 1998
ISBN: 0688153968
Women in Media by Amy M. Damico
Call Number: P94.5.W65 D36 2022
ISBN: 9781440876059

Search for More

Suggested terms to look for include - diary, diaries, letters, papers, documents, documentary or correspondence.

Combine these these terms with the event or person you are researching. (example: civil war diary)

Also search by subject for specific people and events, then scan the titles for those keywords or others such as memoirs, autobiography, report, or personal narratives.

An additional option is to do a search on a topic and use the "Resource Type" limiter on the left side of the results and choose the option "Primary Sources" - please note this is extremely limiting as most primary source materials are not marked in records with this resource type and you will miss seeing a large number of useful items.