Primary Sources: American Women: Education

"The Albert M. Greenfield Digital Center for the History of Women's Education is an online locus of scholarship on the history of women’s higher education. The Center aims to foster inquiry and dialogue on how the history of women’s education has informed contemporary life and how it will shape the global future. Through its blog, exhibits, instructional lesson plans, and digital collections the Center provides informative materials and a digital space for teaching and learning on these topics."

"

As part of our mission to preserve and promote women's history, the Pembroke Center maintains the Christine Dunlap Farnham Archive and the Feminist Theory Archive in partnership with the Brown University Library."

"Initiated by the Pembroke Center Associates in 1982, these oral histories record the experiences of the women of Brown University and Pembroke College. This website features digitized interviews, transcripts, biographies, photographs, and other primary documents by and about women who attended Brown as early as 1907."

Digitized issues from the newspaper at Bryn Mawr College beginning in 1914

"College Women is a searchable collection of diaries, letters, scrapbooks, and photographs from the archives of a select group of the earliest women’s colleges in the United States, the Seven Sisters. The intention of the site is to open new avenues for research in American women’s history by making the dispersed writings, images and documents of women students easily accessible through a single search. When brought together, the collections will enable new studies in political reform and women’s rights, sexuality and body image, religion, race and class, as well as major domestic and international events."

"Presents an address to convince the public particularly the members of the Legislature of New York that a reform with respect to female education is necessary. Defects in the mode of female education and their causes; Principles by which education should be regulated; Proposed plan of a female seminary; Benefits of female seminaries; " by Emma Willard

"Presents a letter dated March 14, 1818 from the former United States president [Thomas Jefferson] to Nathaniel Burwell, in response to Burwell's letter to him about female education."

"Archives and Special Collections documents Mount Holyoke College’s past and present through letters, diaries, rare books, scrapbooks, photographs, ephemera, and other types of unique material. Opened in November 1837, Mount Holyoke was one of the first institutions of higher education in the United States to offer female students coursework equivalent to that available to male college students, and the school is the first of the historic Seven Sisters Colleges. Archives and Special Collections is a rich and lively resource for women’s history and the history of women in higher education."

"Presents a letter from an author with the pseudonym `Matilda,' pleading for education of Negro women in the United States. First appearance of the letter in the August 10, 1827 issue of `Freedom's Journal,' the first Negro newspaper. Her view about the mathematical knowledge of Negro women; Her advice to all mothers regarding the education of their daughters."

"Members of the class of 1903 wrote a 'Round Robin' letter to each other for almost fifty years. The letters reproduced here were written between the years of 1919 and 1938. They document suffrage, war, the depression, family life and more."

"Smith Digital Collections is a gateway to digital collections and online exhibitions unique to Smith College. The collections feature images, audio, video and text from multiple repositories and platforms. These include the Libraries’ Special Collections, the Museum of Art, the Imaging Center, the Botanic Garden and select scholarly collections. Access to some of the Smith Digital Collections is limited to the Smith College community because of copyright and licensing restrictions."

"Presents the text of a July 28, 1787 speech regarding female education. Addressed to the visitors of the Young Ladies' Academy of Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, at the close of the quarterly examination; The author's support for female education; Difference from the educational status of women in Great Britain; The branches of knowledge which women should focus on."

Copy of the Title IX amendment from the Department of Justice. The site also provides access to additional information such as the Title IX Legal Manual and links to other government agencies with related information.

Includes collection on a variety of topics such as: Albert Einstein, Elizabeth Cady Stanton, Images of Early Vassar, Newspaper Archives, Oral Histories, Student Letters and much more.