Primary Sources: The 1980s: Personal Sources

""Oral Histories of the American South" is a three-year project to select, digitize and make available 500 oral history interviews gathered by the Southern Oral History Program (SOHP). These 500 are being selected from a collection of over 4,000 interviews, housed at the Southern Historical Collection, that cover a range of fascinating topics. This project is made possible by a grant from the Institute of Museum and Library Services. " Part of the Documenting the American South Collection at UNC Chapel Hill

"VOAHA enables you to access the full audio recordings of oral histories that have been deposited in Special Collections of the University Library. You can hear the voice, pitch, and rhythm of the narrations as well as the emotions these convey. You will hear the actual spoken words of oral history narrators, rather than seeing a written version of them in the form of a transcript. The CSULB oral history collections have been assembled from a number of sources and cover topics ranging from women's social history, labor and ethnic studies to Long Beach Area history and the musical developments in Southern California. Some of the interviews in the Asian American, Mexican American and women's history collections were recorded as early as 1972 and include interviews with narrators who were born in the mid to late 19th century. Presently, more than 1000 hours with 350 very diverse narrators are available online."

Tejano Voices presents the personal recollections of 173 Tejanos and Tejanas and their struggle against racial discrimination in post-World War II Texas.

"This is the primary online access point to the StoryCorps Archive, which began in 2003 with interviews recorded in a StoryBooth in Grand Central Station. The StoryCorps Archive includes interviews recorded by StoryCorps with our Mobile Tour, StoryBooths in cities across the country, such as Chicago and Atlanta, and through the StoryCorps App and StoryCorps Connect. New conversations are added every day by StoryCorps and by people from across the country. We believe that the StoryCorps Archive reflects our mission to preserve and share humanity’s stories in order to build connections between people and create a more just and compassionate world."