Primary Sources: The 1980s: Medicine, Science & Tech

American Journal of Public Health 1912-27
American Journal of Public Health and the Nation's Health 1928-1970
American Journal of Public Health 1971-

"The records chronicle the American Social Health (originally "Hygiene") Association's efforts to control and prevent venereal disease, prostitution, and drug addiction through educational, legal, and medical measures. The records reflect considerable interaction with the armed forces, particularly during periods of war or full mobilization. Field reports document conditions in individual cities and the influence of housing, recreation, sanitation, and other factors on vice and public health. Financial sections reflect the development of federated fund-raising and its impact on a national association's program. Activities of longtime executives and staff members William Snow, C. Walter Clarke, Bascom Johnson, and Paul Kinsie are extensively documented. Also included are extensive files of printed materials on social hygiene produced by ASHA."

"Since the 1990s, the bitsavers collective has been scanning computer-related documentation and materials as well as rescuing software from rapidly-fading media. Intended to be a permanent and accessible collection of manuals, technical specifications and lore related to computer brands and materials, the collection now houses thousands of documents containing millions of pages. The project is primarily the work of Al Kossow, tireless worker and scanner, who has spent endless hours hand-scanning in materials from a variety of sources and on loan from collectors. Others have contributed scans and software as well. The Internet Archive collection of Bitsavers is a collection of portions of the PDF section of bitsavers.org's scanned documents, allowing easier browsing and search capability to the site's ever-growing library. Please browse the original Bitsavers site to read these documents in directory fashion as was intended by the administrators of Bitsavers."

"Disability is an aspect of human experience that crosses all boundaries of race, class and gender, and it leaves a trail in all societies, everywhere. Our Collections aim to reveal the rich possibilities and directions disability history offers as a means to study our collective human experience."

"Discover our rich collection of primary sources exploring the social and political history of the disability movement from the 1960s to the present."
University of California Berkeley

"Images from the History of Medicine (IHM) provides online access to over 70,000 digitized images of the approximate 100,000 items from the U.S. National Library of Medicine’s (NLM) Prints and Photographs collection."

"The Kaiser Permanente Medical Care Oral History Project was an in-depth, interview-based research project into many facets of Kaiser Permanente medicine and medical research, medical care delivery, and the politics, business, and economy of medicine in the United States since 1970. Interviews were conducted from 2005 through 2009."

""Making the Macintosh" is an online project documenting the history of the Macintosh computer. The Macintosh stands at a cusp in the history of computing and Silicon Valley: it brought together (and sometimes transformed) a number of technical and conceptual threads in computing that developed in the 1960s and 1970s, but it also was responsible for sparking new movements in computing. This project collects and publishes primary material on the Macintosh's development and early reception. It draws on the extensive holdings of the Stanford University Library's Department of Special Collections, the personal papers of engineers and technical writers involved in the Macintosh project, and interviews conducted for the project."

Digital Collections provides access to the National Library of Medicine's distinctive digital content in the areas of biomedicine, health care and the history of medicine. Our unique digital collections are freely available for download worldwide and in the public domain unless otherwise indicated.

The Industry Documents Library is a digital archive of documents created by industries which influence public health, hosted by the University of California, San Francisco Library. Originally established in 2002 to house the millions of documents publicly disclosed in litigation against the tobacco industry in the 1990s, beginning with the State of Minnesota, the Library has expanded to include documents from the drug, chemical, food, and fossil fuel industries to preserve open access to this information and to support research on the commercial determinants of public health.