Primary Sources: The 1980s: Fashion

Images of clothing worn in Michigan. Images can be browsed by year.

Clothing from the museum's collection.

"The Historic Costume & Textiles Collection is a scholarly and artistic resource of apparel and textile material culture. The 11,500+ holdings encompass a range of three dimensional objects such as textiles and articles of clothing and accessories for men, women, and children, including national dress costume, from the mid-18th century to contemporary 21st century designers."

"The Fashion Study Collection at Columbia College Chicago is an exceptional collection of designer garments, fashion history, and ethnic dress. A hands-on, academic, and inspirational resource for students and the public, the collection was founded in 1989 and has grown to house more than 6,000 items."

"Fred Greenhill (1925-2007) graduated from Parsons School of Design in 1950. He went on to work as a fashion illustrator for Neiman Marcus in the 1950s, and was the primary artist for Saks Fifth Avenue in the 1960s and early 1970s. Greenhill is most recognized for his Lord & Taylor illustrations, including the company's trademark long-stemmed rose. The Kellen Design Archives holds approximately 700 fashion illustrations that Greenhill created from the 1960s through the 1980s."

"Fred Greenhill (1925-2007) graduated from Parsons School of Design in 1950. He went on to work as a fashion illustrator for Neiman Marcus in the 1950s, and was the primary artist for Saks Fifth Avenue in the 1960s and early 1970s. Greenhill is most recognized for his Lord & Taylor illustrations, including the company's trademark long-stemmed rose. The Kellen Design Archives holds approximately 700 fashion illustrations that Greenhill created from the 1960s through the 1980s."

"Beene recalls that upon his return home from school, he would be constantly drawing; not dresses but women’s shoes. After moving to Los Angeles to continue his studies to become a doctor—it was at this point in Beene’s life that he realized beauty can never truly be possessed—Beene began to consider fashion as a viable career, thanks in part to the beautiful designs of Adrian. While studying design in Paris, Beene remembers that almost none of the French couturiers would hire him because he was an American, and Molyneux only took him on because he offered to work for free. Back in the States, Beene says he couldn’t find a steady job, because he would either be designing garments that were too luxurious for the brand or doing work that he did not believe in. After four years at the firm Teal Traina, Beene started his own label so he could focus on creating beautiful clothes rather than sellable clothes. Beene says his drive to create beautiful garments begins with contemplating the geometries of a design. Nearing the end of the interview, Beene shares what he considered his best design and his hopes that it ends up in the MET’s collection some day."

The Mary Beeman Historic Costumes collection includes photographs of select pieces of women's clothing ranging from the 1950s to the 1990s from Ball State University's Beeman Historic Costume Collection. Included in the digital collection are images of dresses, coats, jackets, and suits.

Search the Metropolitan Museum of Arts collection to see digital images. Covers a variety of topics related to art including fashion, musical instruments, baseball cards, and more.