LibGuides: COMM 232: Communicating Through Digital Technology: Ethics

General Overviews

Best Bets for Communication Research

Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
EBSCOhost Tutorial
Subscriber: VIVA Provides access to indexing, abstracting and some full-text articles for a wide variety of topics related to communication and mass media.
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
EBSCOhost Tutorial
It offers comprehensive coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study. And contains full text for more than 860 journals dating back to 1908. This database also includes full text for more than 830 books and monographs, and full text for 16,800 conference papers.
ProQuest Social Sciences Databases This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Tutorial
Subscriber: CNUSearches multiple social science related databases, including dissertations, in one search.
JSTOR - Advanced Search This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
JSTOR Tutorial
Subscriber: CNUAn online database of full-content articles from various journals in many subject areas including, but not limited to African American studies, Ecology, Economics, History, Literature and Mathematics. Many journals start with the first volume and issue; there is usually a delay of several years for accessing current issues.

More Communication Databases

keywords to try:

fake news, ethics, citizen journalism, truth, integrity, balance, disinformation, alternate facts, propaganda, misinformation, objective, objectivity, opinions, facts, clickbait, deceptive, information manipulation, trustworthy, trust, non-partisan, deception, bi-partisan, partisan, fair and balanced

Sample Articles

keywords to try:

scams, spoofing, social engineering tactics, scammers, fraud, impersonator accounts, misrepresentation, catfishing, fake profile, stolen identity, spam, malware, fictitious online persona, fake identity, phishing, spear phishing , honey traps, fake websites, cyberattacks, baiting, clickbait, scareware, hoaxes, deception, fake reviews, authenticity

Sample Articles

keywords to try:

culture, cultural sensitivity, cultural appropriation, social identities, hashtags, sharenting, explotation, online communities, ethnicity, online identity, social profile, diversity, inclusion, equity, inequity, marketing, ethnic identity, race, racial, indigenous, gender, sexuality, social groups, ethnic groups, cultural pluralism, group identity, class, multicultural, contested language, cosmopolitanism, community building, cultural awareness, intercultural communication, sensitivity, trauma, trigger warnings, microaggressions, social responsibility, LGBTQIA, LGBT+, LGBT, Individual words from this acronym would also work (lesbian, gay, bi-sexual, transgender, questioning or queer, intersex, and asexual), homosexual, homosexuality, sexual identity

Sample Articles

keywords to try:

research ethics for public data, data privacy, data protection, data sharing, data usage, marketing, data collection, targeted marketing, digital advertising, targeted advertising

Sample Articles

keywords to try:

cyberbullying, online trolls, cyberstalking, doxxing, privacy, harassment, discrimination, fraping, sexting, revenge porn, virtual violence, hate speech, hate crime, civility, incendiary language, targeting, online harm, digilantism (digital vigilantism), misogyny, vitriol, verbal agression, freedom of speech, censorship, sextortion

Sample Articles