Skip to Main Content

COMM 232: Communicating Through Digital Technology: Audience

Danielle M. Stern, Summer 2024

Best Bets for Communication Research

Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
EBSCOhost Tutorial
Subscriber: VIVA Provides access to indexing, abstracting and some full-text articles for a wide variety of topics related to communication and mass media.
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
EBSCOhost Tutorial
It offers comprehensive coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study. And contains full text for more than 860 journals dating back to 1908. This database also includes full text for more than 830 books and monographs, and full text for 16,800 conference papers.
ProQuest Social Sciences Databases This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Tutorial
Subscriber: CNUSearches multiple social science related databases, including dissertations, in one search.
JSTOR - Advanced Search This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
JSTOR Tutorial
Subscriber: CNUAn online database of full-content articles from various journals in many subject areas including, but not limited to African American studies, Ecology, Economics, History, Literature and Mathematics. Many journals start with the first volume and issue; there is usually a delay of several years for accessing current issues.

More Communication Databases

Useful Websites:

keywords to try:

audience interpretation, writing and audience, social media writing, online authorship, content and audience, social media audience, writing for the web, online writing, reaching your readers, persuasive writing, audience engagement, social media strategy, social media influencers, social media followers, social media consumers, parasocial relationships, parasocial interaction

Sample Articles

Innovating Online Journalism: New Ways of Storytelling
Writing About Political Science and Politics for a General Audience: A How (and Why) Guide for Academics
- This link opens in a new window
Political Communication. Jan-Mar2018, Vol. 35 Issue 1, p140-144. 5p.
more...less...
The article presents the author’s views on the political journalism that includes coverage of all aspects of politics and political science for a general audience. The author offers suggestions for academics interested in mass media writing including how to develop writing skills, the forms of communication with audience, and never read the comments. The challenges around writing for peer-reviewed journals and for a mass media audience are also discussed.
Gen Z’s social media use and global communication
Tweeting like Elon? Provocative language, new-venture status, and audience engagement on social media
Consumer response to podcast advertising: the interactive role of persuasion knowledge and parasocial relationships
Authentically Fake? How Consumers Respond to the Influence of Virtual Influencers.
Finding Goldilocks Influencers: How Follower Count Drives Social Media Engagement.
I Really Know You: How Influencers Can Increase Audience Engagement by Referencing Their Close Social Ties

A Complete Guide to Television, Field, and Digital Producing by Sally Ann Cruikshank; Christine C. Eschenfelder; Keonte Coleman
- This link opens in a new window
Call Number: Online - Taylor & Francis
ISBN: 9781000434446
Writing for Social Media by Carrie Marshall
- This link opens in a new window
Call Number: Online - Oreilly
ISBN: 9781780174518
Everybody Writes by Ann. Handley
- This link opens in a new window
Call Number: Online - Oreilly
ISBN: 9781119854319
Interactive Narratives and Transmedia Storytelling: Creating Immersive Stories Across New Media Platforms by Kelly McErlean
- This link opens in a new window
Call Number: Online - Taylor & Francis
ISBN: 9781317268444
Fans, Bloggers, and Gamers: Exploring Participatory Culture by Henry Jenkins
- This link opens in a new window
Call Number: Online - Ebook Central
ISBN: 9780814742846
The Handbook of Media Audiences by Virginia Nightingale (Editor)
- This link opens in a new window
Call Number: Online - Wiley
ISBN: 9781405184182
The Marketplace of Attention: How Audiences Take Shape in a Digital Age by James G. Webster
- This link opens in a new window
Call Number: Online - Ebook Central
ISBN: 9780262319805
Understanding Engagement in Transmedia Culture by Elizabeth Evans
- This link opens in a new window
Call Number: Online - Taylor & Francis
ISBN: 9781315208053
Publication Date: 2019-11-15
The Routledge Handbook of Digital Writing and Rhetoric by Jonathan Alexander (Editor); Jacqueline Rhodes (Editor)
- This link opens in a new window
Call Number: Online - Taylor & Francis
ISBN: 9781138671362

Search for More

Trible Library provides links to other websites to aid in research and is not responsible for the content or privacy policy of those sites.