LibGuides: COMM 232: Communicating Through Digital Technology: Law

General Overviews

Social Media Law Bulletin
See especially the topics area of the site to review various issues surrounding issues in social media.
more...less...
"With the ever expanding uses of social media, corporations and businesses struggle to stay abreast of the legal impact these technologies could have on them. Our blog, the Social Media Law Bulletin, will update counsel and business leaders on a wide range of legal developments that arise with social media."
Social Media - Issue Overview (via Issues & Controversies)
- This link opens in a new window

Databases

HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes law journals, U.S. laws and other legal related collections.
Subscriber: CNUAn online image-based collection of law and law-related materials. It includes law journals, the CFR, English Reports, Federal Register, Treaties and Agreements, Legislative history, a US Presidential Library and more.
Legal Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search for legal topics related to social media from a variety of legal journals and magazines.
Subscriber: VIVAA collection of respected, scholarly peer-reviewed publications including law journals, documents, and case studies. Provides the full-text for more than 250 of the world’s best law journals. Disciplines covered include: law, criminal justice, organized crime, ethics and more. Some of the full-text information dates as far back as 1965.
Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Subscriber: VIVA Provides access to indexing, abstracting and some full-text articles for a wide variety of topics related to communication and mass media.

LibGuides

Copyright Resources
by Johnnie Gray Last Updated May 30, 2024 66 views this year
Getting Started Guide: U.S. Law
by Trible Library at CNU Last Updated Jun 24, 2024 18 views this year

Useful Websites:

U.S. Copyright Office
more...less...
This site from the Library of Congress is the place to find answers to questions about copyright. The site can be searched or users can browse by categories, see the Hot Topics section, or check out the What's New area.
Copyright Act - Title 17, US Code
Fair Use (CNU Copyright Resources Guide)
Digital Millennium Copyright Act (pdf via U.S. Copyright Office)
Lanham Trade-Mark Act (Federal Trade Commission)
Lanham Act (Legal Information Institute)

keywords to try:

copyright, ownership, fair use, trademarks, licenses, creative commons, intellectual property, digital piracy, trademark infringement

Sample Articles

Useful Websites:

The Children's Online Privacy Protection Act
Protections for children under the age of 13
Child Influencers Will Soon be Able to Sue Parents for Social Media Earnings in Illinois

keywords to try:

Children's Online Privacy Protection Act, children and privacy, children and social media, child pornography, children and online protection, parent influencers, child influencers, sharenting, children and sexting, teens and sexting, sharenting, sextortion

Sample Articles

Useful Websites:

keywords to try:

online privacy, digital data protection, digital tracking, law enforcement, GDPR, data privacy

Sample Articles

Useful Websites:

Americans with Disabilities Act (U.S. Department of Justice)
more...less...
The ADA page from the U.S. Department of Justice provides information on disability rights.
9-48.000 - Computer Fraud and Abuse Act (U.S. Department of Justice)
18 USC 1030: Fraud and related activity in connection with computers
Electronic Funds Transfer Act (Federal Reserve Board)
Consumer Financial Protection Bureau
Consumer Protection - Resources from The Federal Trade Commission
National Labor Relations Act
more...less...
"Congress enacted the National Labor Relations Act ("NLRA") in 1935 to protect the rights of employees and employers, to encourage collective bargaining, and to curtail certain private sector labor and management practices, which can harm the general welfare of workers, businesses and the U.S. economy."

keywords to try:

online consumer protection, online fraud protection, social media influencers and the law, accessibility, ADA (Americans with Disabilities Act), employee protection

Sample Articles

Useful Websites:

State Revenge Porn Laws (FindLaw)
Provides an overview of laws related to "nonconsensual porn" commonly called "revenge porn"
Virginia Code Title 18.2. Crimes and Offenses Generally § 18.2-386.2. Unlawful dissemination or sale of images of another; penalty (via FindLaw)
Overview of Anti-SLAPP Laws (Strategic Lawsuits Against Public Participation)
"These laws aim to discourage the filing of SLAPP suits and prevent them from imposing significant litigation costs and chilling protected speech."
Public Law 111 - 223 - Securing the Protection of our Enduring and Established Constitutional Heritage Act'' or the ``SPEECH Act (pdf Congress.gov)
The SPEECH Act: The Federal Response to “Libel Tourism” (pdf CRS Report)

Sample Articles

keywords to try:

free speech, defamation, censorship, libel, revenge porn, SLAAP laws, Strategic Lawsuits Against Public Participation, social media influencers

Useful Websites:

keywords to try:

indecency, obscenity, pornography, revenge porn, sexually explicit materials, section 230, sexting, consent, deep fakes, first amendment, freedom of speech, hate speech, freedom of expression, artistic expression, sextortion

Sample Articles