LibGuides: COMM 232: Communicating Through Digital Technology: Evolution

Background

Wikipedia Timeline of social media
Wikipedia provides a fairly substantial listing of events in the history of social media. Use this to find out names of products, people, and launch dates for significant services for further research.
Pew Research Center - Social Media
Provides a variety of articles on topics involving social media, many include surveys and statistics.
Media History Digital Library
A free online resource, featuring millions of pages of books and magazines from the histories of film, broadcasting, and recorded sound.
more...less...
"The Media History Digital Library digitizes collections of classic media periodicals that belong in the public domain for full public access. The project is supported by owners of materials who loan them for scanning, and donors who contribute funds to cover the cost of scanning."
Social Media - Issue Overview (via Issues & Controversies)
- This link opens in a new window
Social networking sites, which include popular platforms such as Facebook, Instagram, LinkedIn, Pinterest, Tumblr, Twitter, and WhatsApp, allow users to create profiles about themselves, post pictures and messages, and interact with other users socially, politically, and creatively.

A History of Digital Media by Gabriele Balbi; Paolo Magaudda
- This link opens in a new window
Call Number: Online - Taylor & Franics
ISBN: 9781315209630
Publication Date: 2018-04-24
Encyclopedia of New Media by Steven Jones (Editor)
- This link opens in a new window
Call Number: Online - Ebook Central
ISBN: 9780761923824

Use these to to find articles on the evolution of digital and social media
Use the limit features by checking the boxes such as Scholarly Articles or Peer Reviewed (depending on the database)
You can also limit by date ranges if you want to concentrate on articles from a certain time period
Advanced search options can be helpful if you are getting to many results - explore the choices in each database
If your topic branches out to communication in areas such as business or history, databases from those topic areas may also be helpful
Remember - limiting to full-text can be great, but just because the full-text isn't in the database you are using doesn't mean you can't get it!

"social media history"

"digital media history"

communication AND "social media"

communication AND "digital media"

"social media" AND (evolution OR revolution)

"digital citizenship" and "social media"

"social media" AND politics

"social media" AND society

"social media" AND "social movements"

digital media culture

"social media" AND influencers

"social media" AND "free speech"

"social media" AND censorship

You can also research the names of people involved in social and digital media as well as specific platform names.

(Mark Zuckerberg, Elon Musk, Facebook, Instagram, etc.)