Access crucial documents covering the lives of African Americans during the rise of segregation and Jim Crow.This collection covers many topical categories such as the growing body of work by African- American writers; the portrayal of African-Americans in art and literature; religion; race; early histories of slavery; the Civil War; Reconstruction; and others. This archive contains varied perspectives on subjects including but not limited to:African-American Civil Rights; African-American Women; Political Restoration of the South; Social Conditions in the South; Separate but Equal; The Race 'Problem'; Theorizing the Origins of Race; Minstrel Shows and Satire; Race Relations and Southern States; White Supremacy Movements and Groups; Back-to-Africa Movement; Suffrage/Right to Vote; and Lynching.And on organizations such as: African Methodist Episcopal Church; Baptist Associations; Ku Klux Klan; and Presbyterian Church.
An online exhibit providing access to a variety of primary source materials related to the changing American culture in the early 1900s. The site was created by The Ohio State University Harvey Goldberg Center for Excellence in Teaching in the Department of History.
"In 1925, the Indiana KKK was the largest state branch in the Klan's "Invisible Empire." The conviction in November of that year of D. C. Stephenson, the powerful grand dragon of the Indiana Klan, for the murder of Madge Oberholtzer led to a dramatic decline in the organization's membership and political influence. What began as a vicious rape on a night train from Indianapolis to Chicago ended with arrests of Indiana's governor and other high state officials."
"collection includes papers promoting and opposing white supremacy, published mainly in the 1920s. It brings together for the first time local, regional, and national newspapers published by Klan organizations and by sympathetic publishers from across the US. It also includes key anti-Klan voices from newspapers published by American Black, Catholic, and Jewish communities."
"The Second Klan was the KKK’s period of greatest popularity and centralized organization, which lasted until 1944. Today classified as a terrorist organization, the Third and current Klan began in independent local groups in 1946 to oppose the Civil Rights Movement, but its membership numbers remain much lower at 5,000-8,000."
Contains several articles related to the Klan:
Catholics and the Ku Klux Klan (pp. 268-281)
The Ku Klux Klan a Paradox (pp. 282-291)
The Shape of Fear (pp. 291-304)
The Ku Klux Klan of Today (pp. 304-309)
"This special section of the Seattle Civil Rights and Labor History Project documents the history of Washington State's 1920s chapter of the most infamous white supremacist organization in American history, the Ku Klux Klan (KKK)."
"On February 22, 1924 the Empire Publishing Company, an organ of the Knights of the Ku Klux Klan in Minnesota, took over publication of the newspaper, expanded it to eight pages, and changed the name to the Minnesota Fiery Cross. Advertisements became more numerous at this time. The first issue of the Fiery Cross set the Klan's agenda for 1924: supporting "militant, old-fashioned Christianity and operative patriotism;" getting back to the Constitution; and supporting the enforcement of the Eighteenth Amendment (Prohibition) and present immigration laws, while working for the enactment of more stringent immigration legislation."
"The Voice of the Knights of the Ku Klux Klan was published by the North Star Klan no. 2, Knights of the Ku Klux Klan, one of up to ten Klan groups reportedly in Minneapolis at the time. Only two known issues were produced: February 8, 1923 and April 10, 1923. "
"The “secret” society had 3 million members during its heyday in the early 1920s; roughly half its members lived in metropolitan areas, and although it enjoyed considerable support in the South, the Klan was strongest in the Midwest and Southwest. In this photograph, forty thousand members of the Klan march down Pennsylvania Avenue on August 8, 1925. Organized to counter reports of faltering enrollment, this “konklave“ succeeded in attracting national attention but marked the peak of Klan power in the 1920s. " History Matters - GMU
"The Women of the Ku Klux Klan (WKKK) was a women's auxiliary group that supported the Ku Klux Klan during the group's early years, when women were prohibited from joining the KKK themselves. The WKKK was especially active in the 1920s."
Book Sources: Ku Klux Klan - 1920s
A selection of books/e-books available in Trible Library.
Click the title for location and availability information.