Primary Sources: The 1920s: Music & Dance

"Listen to this collection of 78rpm records and cylinder recordings released in the early 20th century. These recordings were contributed to the Archive by users through the Open Source Audio collection. " Internet Archive

"The first release of the online collection contains approximately 1,000 items that yield a total of about 5,000 images. These items date from 1899 to 1981, with most from the 1920s through the 1950s, and were selected from Copland's music sketches, correspondence, writings, and photographs."

"The sheet music in this digital collection has been selected from the Sheet Music Collection at the John Hay Library at Brown University. The full collection consists of approximately 500,000 items, of which perhaps 250,000 are currently available for use. It is one of the largest collections of sheet music in any library in the United States. "

Frank Farnum coaching Pauline Starke. And now the Charleston is moving into the movies! Pauline Starke will introduce it to the movie public at large when in the role of a chorus girl in Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer's "A Little bit of Broadway", she performs it on the screen. Frank Farnum, originator of the step, gave her first-hand (or foot) instructions

Listen to 1000 hours of early jazz music collected by David W. Niven.

A selection of Audio Recordings from the Library of Congress. Over 18,000 are available online.

"The Songs of America presentation allows you to explore American history as documented in the work of some of our country's greatest composers, poets, scholars, and performers. From popular and traditional songs, to poetic art songs and sacred music, the relationship of song to historical events from the nation's founding to the present is highlighted through more than 80,000 online items. The user can listen to digitized recordings, watch performances of artists interpreting and commenting on American song, and view sheet music, manuscripts, and historic copyright submissions online. The site also includes biographies, essays and curated content, interactive maps, a timeline and teaching resources offering context and expert analysis to the source material."

"The Library of Congress presents the National Jukebox, which makes historical sound recordings available to the public free of charge. The Jukebox includes recordings from the extraordinary collections of the Library of Congress Packard Campus for Audio Visual Conservation and other contributing libraries and archives."

Images from Life magazine of Josephine Baker.

"The UCSB Library, with funding from the Institute of Museum and Library Services, Grammy Foundation and donors, has created a digital collection of more than 10,000 cylinder recordings held by the Department of Special Research Collections. This searchable database features all types of recordings made from the late 1800s to early 1900s, including popular songs, vaudeville acts, classical and operatic music, comedic monologues, ethnic and foreign recordings, speeches and readings. "

"Miss Barbara Miles and Mr Maxwell Stewart (Winners of the World's Dancing Championship 1924-1925) dance a tango."