Includes items such as:
Anonymous, “An Adopted Mother Speaks,” 1922
Anonymous, “How It Feels to Have Been an Adopted Child,” 1920
The Case of Alice R., 1927
Arnold Gesell, “Pre-School Children Deprived of Parental Care,” 1923
Arnold Gesell, “Psychoclinical Guidance in Child Adoption,” 1926
Katharine F. Lenroot, “Case Work with Unmarried Parents and Their Children,” 1925
Louise Waterman Wise, “Mothers in Name,” 1920
and many more
"In this excerpt, the General Secretary of the Michigan Children’s Aid Society expressed views that predominated among early twentieth-century child welfare professionals and reformers. Adoption was extremely risky and should therefore be safeguarded and held to a set of minimum standards in law and social practice. The assertion that illegitimacy and feeble-mindedness—or mental defect—were closely related was also a common theme among eugenicists. In contrast to commercial baby farmers, sentimental child-placers, and other amateurs who “disposed” of babies on the basis of personal whim or religious bias, Stoneman suggested that science offered the only safe approach to adoption. He envisioned family-making as an operation characterized by thorough fact-gathering, keen observation, close supervision, and careful attention to the individual factors at play in each and every case."
"The mentality of unmarried mothers and their children was considered a significant social problem, as well as a particular risk in adoption, during the first several decades of the twentieth century. Influenced by eugenics, many Americans suspected that unmarried mothers were either morally delinquent or mentally deficient. They endorsed policies, such as institutionalization and sterilization, designed to control reproductive behavior. Mental testers and developmentalists were among those who believed that science offered solutions to social problems. They probed the intelligence, age, occupation, education, family background, and even the leisure activities of unmarried mothers. Such studies were often linked to nature-nurture research as well as to the urgent question of illegitimacy. As this excerpt by a Minnesota state psychologist suggests, professionals worried about the public costs of female-headed families and about their ominous reproductive potential long before they agreed that adoption might be a positive option for either unmarried mothers or their children."
"...an online archive funded by Marquette University and the National Endowment for the Humanities that shows the many ways children experienced city life during the last century and a half. Designed for use by teachers, students, historians, and general users, the site features hundreds of documents and images about children in Milwaukee County, Wisconsin, drawn from newspapers, government and other official records, oral histories and memoirs, and many other sources."
"In “The Civilizing Force of Birth Control,” she addressed middle-class constituencies with the argument that contraception would strengthen marriage. Like many liberal intellectuals of the time, Sanger was a eugenicist—she believed in managing human reproduction to improve “the race” through better breeding. Many eugenicists were concerned about declining fertility among college-educated and middle-class women, even as they also worried about what they saw as the excessive fertility of poorer women. However, unlike many eugenicists who urged elite women to have more children, Sanger argued that birth control for all women would serve the cause of eugenics. This essay appeared in Sex in Civilization (1929), a voluminous collection of commentary that suggested the emergence of a new species of expert—the sexologist. "
"In this excerpt, a well known pediatrician made the case against orphanages and for family foster care. Henry Dwight Chapin began with statistical findings about infant mortality, but also suggested that institutional child care was damaging even for those children lucky enough to survive it. At risk, according to Chapin, was the long-term mental and emotional development of children in orphanages or asylums. Especially interesting is his emphasis on infants’ need for affection, which anticipated later research on attachment and loss, such as Harry Harlow’s monkey love experiments."
"... is a core electronic collection of books and journals in Home Economics and related disciplines. Titles published between 1850 and 1950 were selected and ranked by teams of scholars for their great historical importance. The first phase of this project focused on books published between 1850 and 1925 and a small number of journals. Future phases of the project will include books published between 1926 and 1950, as well as additional journals. The full text of these materials, as well as bibliographies and essays on the wide array of subjects relating to Home Economics, are all freely accessible on this site. This is the first time a collection of this scale and scope has been made available." Cornell University
"The major figure in the American birth control movement, Margaret Sanger, began her crusade as a militant radical whose birth control agitation grew out of her nursing experience in working-class communities. Sanger received 250,000 letters from women asking for advice about birth control. In 1928 Sanger published a selection of the letters in her book Motherhood in Bondage. The letters remain a powerful testament to the vulnerability of women without access to reliable contraception. " This site presents a selection of these letters.
An online collection of books from the HathiTrust Digital Library. It covers "areas in American domestic and commercial life in the 18th, 19th, and early 20th centuries. Far more than just cookbooks, it contains a wide diversity of materials from the 16th to early 20th centuries - books, ephemera, menus, magazines, graphics, maps, manuscripts, diaries, letters, catalogues, advertisements, and reference works - and is increasingly recognized as a premier collection for the study of culinary Americana"
The original archive is located at the University of Michigan's Clements Library (http://www.clements.umich.edu/longone-archive.php)
"In the 1920s, new sexual ideologies reshaped prescriptions for marriage, incorporating moderate versions of feminism. “Modern Marriage,” an excerpt from Floyd Dell’s Outline of Marriage (1926), set out the ideal of companionship between husband and wife. In this mock dialogue, a savvy young wife instructed a professor in the ways of modern marriage. She frankly endorsed birth control, simplified housekeeping, shared housework, and paid work for childless wives. At the same time, Dell’s dialogue affirmed a romantic view of fundamental sexual differences. Generically named “The Young Woman,” the female character averred that she chose motherhood as “fulfillment of my nature.” Circulated by the American Birth Control League, the tract sought to win support for contraception by portraying its place in respectable, if “modern,” marriages." History Matters - GMU
Book Sources: Home & Family
A selection of books/e-books available in Trible Library.
Click the title for location and availability information.