Primary Sources: The 1920s: Personal Sources

"The Amelia Earhart papers offer a rare glimpse into the life of America's premier woman aviator. The online collection includes more than 3,500 scans of photographs, maps, documents, and artifacts relating to Earhart. Copies of the maps that were used on her last flight are available as well as photographs that she took while on the flight and mailed back to her husband George Palmer Putnam."

One of America's foremost early twentieth-century African-American magic acts... This collection of 127 items includes letters, photographs, and newspaper clippings.

"... was a newspaper publisher, writer of Western novels and stories, journalist, rancher, and rodeo sponsor. She moved to Cody, Wyoming, in 1904 and remained in the area the rest of her life. From 1919-1925 she owned the weekly newspaper "Park County Enterprise", which was renamed the "Cody Enterprise" in 1922. She authored several novels, including "Me, Smith", "The Lady Shepherdess", and "Lady Doc". She had cattle ranching interests in the Cody area and was credited with founding the annual Cody Stampede. She retired to her ranch at Dryhead, Montana, near the Crow Indian Reservation. The collection includes correspondence (1908-1960); diaries (1898, 1918-1942); ledgers (1941-1942); photographs, including four albums; manuscripts of articles and books; legal documents, including her 1953 will and a 1959 trust agreement; materials on the Cody Stampede; artifacts; and miscellaneous materials. "

"Edith Kirkwood Ormsby Clark was Wyoming State Superintendent of Public Instruction from 1915 to 1919. She arrived in Wyoming in 1906 to visit her uncle, L.R.A. Condit. She took up a teaching position at the EK School in Johnson County and was elected county superintendent of schools for Sheridan County before moving to Cheyenne to take up a state level position. In 1918 she went to France to serve with the YMCA. After retiring from state government, she homesteaded in Johnson County. She died in 1936. Collection contains diaries created by Edith K.O. Clark from 1906-1924, 1931, and 1934-1936. In addition to a daily log of Clark's activities, the diaries contain photographs of people, churches, ranches, horses, hunting and camping trips. The diary of 1918-1919 includes memorabilia from her World War I service with the YMCA. Also included are a notebook, autograph album, and some biographical material."

"The George R. Dale digital collection features correspondence, telegrams, publications, and a scrapbook pertaining to the life of George Dale during his time as the Editor of the Muncie Post-Democrat and the Mayor of Muncie. Most of the collection documents Dale’s ongoing legal battles concerning criminal libel and Prohibition charges, as well as his fight against the Ku Klux Klan."

"The Historical Diaries digital collection brings a sampling of these firsthand accounts from the Merrill-Cazier Library’s Special Collections and Archives to your computer screen. More than just lists of daily reflections by Utah residents, these volumes also contain biographies and correspondence related to the individuals who wrote them. Some are typescript copies while others are the original narratives handwritten by the author. Each contributes to understanding 150+ years of Utah experience."

"was the first woman governor in the United States. Born in St. Joseph, Missouri, she married William Bradford Ross in 1902 and they lived in Cheyenne, Wyoming. William B. Ross, a Democrat, was elected Governor of Wyoming in 1922. Three weeks before election day in 1924, William B. Ross died and Nellie Tayloe Ross was elected in his stead. Nellie Ross lost in her bid for reelection in 1926. She was appointed Director of the U.S. Mint in 1933 by President Franklin D. Roosevelt and served in that capacity until her retirement in 1953. Collection contains materials relating to Nellie and William Ross, including scrapbooks, correspondence both personal and professional, miscellaneous materials relating to the U.S. Mint, financial records, speeches and writings, diaries, subject files and biographical information, William Ross' campaign materials for 1922, and news releases relating to Nellie Ross as governor and Director of the U.S. Mint. "