LibGuides: Primary Sources: China: Literature

Online Sources: Literature - Chinese

Chinese Literature at the HathiTrust
Chinese Literature Today
more... less...

Chinese Literature Today includes original fiction and non-fiction, poetry,and interviews as well as critical essays.
Ming-Qing Women's Writings
more... less...

"The Ming Qing Women's Writings digital archive and database project is dedicated to the digitization of collections of writings by women in late imperial China (1368-1911). "
Red Brush
more... less...

"The Red Brush project is a collection of texts in Chinese from a wide range of writings from Imperial China, by and about women writers. The website for this collection is available in both English and Chinese. "
“DATE ORCHARD” By Hao Ran (English Translation)
more... less...

Asia for Educators website.
Chinese Poems of the Tang and Sung Dynasties

Book Sources: Literature - Chinese

A selection of books/e-books available in Trible Library.
Click the title for location and availability information.

Off campus access instructions (for e-books)

Anthology of Chinese Literature by Cyril Birch
Call Number: PL2658.E1 B617 A6

ISBN: 0394177665

v. 1 From early times to the 14th century.
v. 2. From the 14th century to the present day.
An Anthology of Chinese Literature: Beginnings to 1911 by Stephen Owen (Editor, Translator)
Call Number: PL2658.E1 A814 1996

ISBN: 0393971066

Early China -- The Chinese "Middle Ages" -- The Tang Dynasty -- The Song Dynasty -- The Yuan and Ming Dynasties -- The Qing Dynasty
Chairman Mao Would Not Be Amused: Fiction from Today's China by Howard Goldblatt (Editor)
Call Number: PL2658.E8 C43 1995

ISBN: 080211573X
China's Avant-Garde Fiction: An Anthology by Jing Wang (Editor); Eva Shan Chou (Translator); Michael S. Duke (Translator); Howard Goldblatt (Translator); Beatrice Spade (Translator)
Call Number: PL2658.E8 C46 1998

ISBN: 0822321009
The Columbia Anthology of Chinese Folk and Popular Literature by Mark Bender (Editor); Victor H. Mair (Editor)
Call Number: Online - Ebook Central

ISBN: 9780231526739
The Columbia Anthology of Modern Chinese Drama by Xiaomei Chen (Editor)
Call Number: PL2658.E5 C65 2010

ISBN: 0231145705
The Columbia Anthology of Traditional Chinese Literature by Victor H. Mair (Editor)
Call Number: PL2658.E1 C65 1994

ISBN: 023107428X
The Columbia Book of Later Chinese Poetry by Jonathan Chaves (Translator)
Call Number: PL2658.E3 C663 1986

ISBN: 0231061498
The Crane's Bill: Zen poems of China and Japan by Lucien Stryk (Translator); Takashi Ikemoto (Translator); Taigan Takayama (Translator)
Call Number: PL2478 .C891

ISBN: 0802130194
The Dao of the Military: Liu An's Art of War by Andrew Seth Meyer (Translator)
Call Number: U101 .H81713 2012

ISBN: 0231153325
Dream of the Red Chamber by Tsao Hsueh-chin
Call Number: PL2727.S2 H95
The Golden Lotus
Call Number: PL2698.W246 C55 E29

a translation, from the Chinese original, of the novel Chin p‘ing mei, by Clement Egerton
The Isle Full of Noises: Modern Chinese Poetry from Taiwan by Dominic Cheung
Call Number: PL2658.E3 I85 1987

ISBN: 0231064020
The Jade Mountain by Witter Bynner (translator)
Call Number: PL2658.E3 S957 J2

A Chinese Anthology, being Three hundred Poems of the T‘ang dynasty, 618-906.
The Lioness Roars: Shrew Stories from late Imperial China by Yenna Wu (Translator)
Call Number: PL2658.E8 L55 1995

ISBN: 1885445814
Monks, Bandits, Lovers, and Immortals by Stephen H. West and Wilt L. Idema editor/translator
Call Number: PL2592.5 .M66 2010

ISBN: 1603842004
No Enemies, No Hatred: Selected Essays and Poems by Xiaobo Liu
Call Number: PL2879.X53 A2 2012/ebook

ISBN: 0674061470

Publication Date: 2012-01-02

Edited by Perry Link, Tienchi Martin-Liao, and Liu Xia ; with a foreword by Václav Havel
One Hundred Poems from the Chinese by Kenneth Rexroth
Call Number: PL2658.E3 R455 O5
Other Voices, Other Vistas by Barbara H. Solomon, editor
Call Number: PN6120.2 .O84 1992

ISBN: 0451628454
An Oxford Anthology of Contemporary Chinese Drama by Martha P.Y. Cheung and Jane C.C. Lai
Call Number: PL2658.E5 O94 1997

ISBN: 0195868803
Pilgrim of the Clouds by Yuan Hung-Tao and his Brothers
Call Number: PL2658.E3 P638

ISBN: 0834801345

Translated and introduced by Jonathan Chaves.
The Poems of Mao Tse-Tung by Zedong Mao; Willis Barnstone (Notes by); Ching-Po Ko (Notes by)
Call Number: PL2785.O3 M285 1972

ISBN: 0060102195

Translation, introduction, notes by Willis Barnstone ; in collaboration with Ko Ching-po
Poems of the Masters by Red Pine
Call Number: PL2658.E3 P634 2003

ISBN: 1556591950

Qian jia shi : China's classic anthology of T'ang and Sung dynasty verse / Translated by Red Pine.
Reading the Right Text: : An Anthology of Contemporary Chinese Drama by Xiaomei Chen (Editor)
ISBN: 9780824826895

Publication Date: 2003-07-31
Romance of the Three Kingdoms by Lo Kuan-chung; San kuo chih yen-i; Translated by C. H. Brewitt-Taylor
Call Number: PL2690.A2 S25 B847
The She King, or, The book of Ancient Poetry by James Legge
Call Number: Online - free - HathiTrust

translated in English verse
Stone Lake: The Poetry of Fan Chengda (1126-1193) by J. D. Schmid, editor and translator
Call Number: PL2687.F3 A6 1992

ISBN: 0521417821
Stories from a Ming Collection by Cyril Birch
Call Number: PL2658.E8 F332 S9

Translations, of Chinese short stories published in the seventeenth century
Sunflower Splendor by Wu-Chi Liu (Editor); Irving Y. Lo (Editor)
Call Number: PL2658.E3 S958

ISBN: 025335580X

Publication Date: 1990-11-01
Theater and Society by Hai-pìng Yen
Call Number: Online - EBSCO

ISBN: 9780765603074
Translations from the Chinese by Arthur Waley
Call Number: PL2658.E3 W173 T7

"Contains all the poems originally published in [the author's] two collections: 170 Chinese poems and More Translations from the Chinese."
Vignettes from the Late Ming by Yang Ye (Translator)
Call Number: PL2658.E8 V54 1999

ISBN: 0295977337
Voices of East Asia: Essential Readings from Antiquity to the Present by Nancy Hope; Margaret Childs
Call Number: PL494 .V65 2015

ISBN: 0765638347
Waiting for the Unicorn by Irving Y. Lo (Editor); William Schultz (Editor)
Call Number: PL2537 .W28 1986

ISBN: 0253363217
Women Writers of Traditional China by Kang-i Sun Chang (Editor); Haun Saussy (Editor); Charles Yim-tze Kwong (Editor)
Call Number: PL2278 .W65 1999

ISBN: 0804732302
Writing Women in Modern China by Amy D. Dooling (Editor); Kristina M. Torgeson (Editor)
Call Number: PL2515 .W75 1998

ISBN: 0231107013

Search for More

Suggested terms to look for include - diary, diaries, letters, papers, documents, documentary or correspondence.

Combine these these terms with the event or person you are researching. (example: civil war diary)

Also search by subject for specific people and events, then scan the titles for those keywords or others such as memoirs, autobiography, report, or personal narratives.

An additional option is to do a search on a topic and use the "Resource Type" limiter on the left side of the results and choose the option "Primary Sources" - please note this is extremely limiting as most primary source materials are not marked in records with this resource type and you will miss seeing a large number of useful items.