Primary Sources: China: Foreign Relations

"The term "Sino-Soviet Split" refers to the gradual worsening of relations between the Soviet Union and the People's Republic of China, and between their respective Communist Parties. While discomfiture between them had long roots, reaching back to civil wars in China prior to the establishment of the People's Republic, the disagreements gained momentum in the decades after China's liberation and would eventually lead to the Soviets referring to the Chinese as "splittists", "left-wing adventurists", "anti-Marxist" enemies of Socialism "in league with Imperialism", while the Chinese came to regard the Soviets as "revisionists" and "social-imperialists", or "socialist in words, imperialists in deeds", and as "the principal danger in the world today.""

"This collection of declassified analytic monographs and reference aids, designated within the Central Intelligence Agency (CIA) Directorate of Intelligence (DI) as the CAESAR, ESAU, and POLO series, highlights the CIA's efforts from the 1950s through the mid-1970s to pursue in-depth research on Soviet and Chinese internal politics and Sino-Soviet relations."

"South Asia was one of the most important regions in China's international relations and foreign policy. Drawn largely from the Chinese Foreign Ministry Archives, this collection sheds light on China's relations with India, Pakistan, and Afghanistan in particular. In the absence of similar sources from South Asia, these documents, moreover, are also invaluable to the study of South Asia in context of the Cold War."

"This collection of Soviet records documents the political and military turmoil in Xinjiang in the 1930s and 1940s. The records provide considerable details on the insurrection led by Ma Zhongying, Governor Sheng Shicai's relationship with Stalin, the establishment of the East Turkestan Republic (1944-1949) in northern Xinjiang, and Sino-Soviet relations in Xinjiang, among other topics."

"This collection of over seventy National Intelligence Estimates on China is the most extensive single selection of intelligence analyses the United States Government ever has released. This recently declassified collection represents the most authoritative intelligence assessments of the United States Government and thus constitutes a unique historical record of a momentous era in China's modern history.
The collection spans the pivotal period from the Chinese civil war and the consolidation of the Communist regime through the upheavals of the Great Leap Forward and Cultural Revolution."

"The Chinese Foreign Policy Database enhances the ability of contemporary observers and historians to gain broader perspectives on Chinese policies. Curating 1000s of documents from Chinese and international archives, it offers insights into China’s foreign policy since 1949 and its relationship to ideology, revolution, the economy, and traditional Chinese culture. The Database is generously supported by the MacArthur Foundation."

"Zhou Enlai served as Premier of the People's Republic of China from October 1949 until his death in January 1976 and concurrently as the first Foreign Minister from 1949 through 1958. His involvement and influence on China's foreign policy was immense."

"The foundational speeches, reports, treaties, and other documents which have defined and gave shape to the foreign policy of the People's Republic of China since 1949, from Mao Zedong to Deng Xiaoping and beyond."

"Interkit was an organization created by the Kremlin to coordinate Soviet-bloc analysis of and policy toward China from 1967 until
the mid-1980s."

"This is a collection of primary source documents focusing on the difficult road to the establishment of the alliance between the People's Republic of China and the Soviet Union."

"This is a collection of primary source documents focusing on the difficult road to the establishment of the alliance between the People's Republic of China and the Soviet Union."

"New American and Chinese Documention Leading Up to Nixon's 1972 Trip"

"Records now Completely Declassified,
Including Kissinger Intelligence Briefing and Assurances on Taiwan" National Security Archive

Policy Developments and a Hainan Island Incident, 1969-1970

"China's policy of reform and opening not only led to a dramatic transformation of its economy, but also reshaped the dynamic of international relations through the end of the Cold War and after."

"The People's Republic of China and the United States squared off against one another from 1949 through 1971."

"China and India fought a brief war in late 1962 over disputed territories in the Himalayas, but the conflict's consequences for China's relations with South Asia and the Soviet Union far exceeded its short duration."

"Once war time enemies, relations between China and Japan were often quite cordial and pragmatic during the Cold War. The two countries normalized relations in 1972 and engaged in wide ranging cooperation, economic and political, from the late 1970s through the 1980s."

"This is a collection of primary source documents focusing on the Sino-Soviet alliance from 1950 through 1959, or the period prior to the split."

"The Sino-Soviet Border Conflict of 1969, taking place in the context of the broader split between the Chinese Communist Party and the Communist Party of the Soviet Union, occurred as a result of a territorial dispute relating to Damanskii or Zhenbao Island."

"Documents on the international attempts to foster rapprochement between China and the Soviet Union at the tail end of the Cold War."

"Documents on the growing division and worsening relations between China and the Soviet Union from 1960 onward."

"Although China and the United States were without formal diplomatic relations until 1979, the two countries agreed to maintain communications through a special mechanism, the Sino-American “Ambassadorial Talks” in Warsaw, Poland, which lasted from August 1955 through February 1970. This collection presents documents from the Chinese Foreign Ministry Archives on the first fourteen meetings of the Ambassadorial Talks."

Contains:
A Treaty Between All Nine Powers Relating to Principles and Policies to be Followed in Matters Concerning China
A Treaty Between the Nine Powers Relating to Chinese Customs Tariff
Resolution Regarding Extraterritoriality in China
Resolution Regarding Foreign Postal Agencies in China
Resolution Regarding Armed Forces in China
Resolution Regarding Radio Stations in China and Accompanying Declarations
Resolution Regarding Unification of Railways in China and Accompanying Declaration by China
Resolution Regarding the Reduction of Chinese Military Forces
Resolution Regarding Existing Commitments of China or With Respect to China
Resolution Regarding the Chinese Eastern Railway, Approved by all the Powers Including China
Resolution Regarding the Chinese Eastern Railway, Approved by all the Powers Other than China
Treaty Between Japan and China for the Settlement of Outstanding Questions Relative to Shantung

"Treaty of Nanjing singed after the the Opium War between Britain and China"

"The first agreement between the United States of America and the Qing Empire."