"The term "Sino-Soviet Split" refers to the gradual worsening of relations between the Soviet Union and the People's Republic of China, and between their respective Communist Parties. While discomfiture between them had long roots, reaching back to civil wars in China prior to the establishment of the People's Republic, the disagreements gained momentum in the decades after China's liberation and would eventually lead to the Soviets referring to the Chinese as "splittists", "left-wing adventurists", "anti-Marxist" enemies of Socialism "in league with Imperialism", while the Chinese came to regard the Soviets as "revisionists" and "social-imperialists", or "socialist in words, imperialists in deeds", and as "the principal danger in the world today.""
"This collection of Soviet records documents the political and military turmoil in Xinjiang in the 1930s and 1940s. The records provide considerable details on the insurrection led by Ma Zhongying, Governor Sheng Shicai's relationship with Stalin, the establishment of the East Turkestan Republic (1944-1949) in northern Xinjiang, and Sino-Soviet relations in Xinjiang, among other topics."
"This collection of over seventy National Intelligence Estimates on China is the most extensive single selection of intelligence analyses the United States Government ever has released. This recently declassified collection represents the most authoritative intelligence assessments of the United States Government and thus constitutes a unique historical record of a momentous era in China's modern history.
The collection spans the pivotal period from the Chinese civil war and the consolidation of the Communist regime through the upheavals of the Great Leap Forward and Cultural Revolution."
"The Chinese Civil War, 1945-1950, fought between the Chinese Communist Party (CCP) and the Nationalist Party (GMD), was a defining conflict for China, East Asia, and the world. The Civil War was marked by a number of large battles and campaigns and the involvement of both the United States and the Soviet Union. The victory of the CCP and the founding of the People's Republic of China in October 1949 shifted the balance of power in the emerging Cold War"
"The Marxists Internet Archive (MIA, http://www.marxists.org/) is an all-volunteer, non-profit public library, started more than 20 years ago in 1990. " It includes access to a variety of materials including primary sources in multiple languages. A review of the website is available from George Mason University's Center for history and New Media written by T. Mills Kelly George Mason University January 2003http://chnm.gmu.edu/worldhistorysources/d/39/whm.html
"n 1954, Gao Gang of China's State Planning Commission and Rao Shushi of the CCP Organization Department allegedly attempted to sideline Zhou Enlai and Liu Shaoqi from the leadership of the Communist Party. In response, at the Fourth Plenary Session of the Seventh CCP, held 6 February through 10 February 1954, Zhou Enlai and Liu Shaoqi accused Gao and Rao of factionalist activities and orchestrated their purge from the CCP. The session concluded with the passage of a "Resolution on Strengthening the Party's Unity." Gao Gang committed suicide following the events."
"The Digital Archive contains once-secret documents from governments all across the globe, uncovering new sources and providing fresh insights into the history of international relations and diplomacy. "
Book Sources: Communism in China
A selection of books/e-books available in Trible Library.
Click the title for location and availability information.