"An partially-processed collection assembled by Ann Tompkins, a U.S. citizen invited to China after supporting the People's Republic of China at the 1965 World Peace Conference in Stockholm. She spent five years in Beijing teaching English, and returned several times subsequently. Her passion for the worker-friendly graphic art of China prompted her to accumulate what promises to be the largest U.S. collection of posters produced during the Great Proletarian Cultural Revolution."
"An initiative of the Weatherhead East Asian Institute at Columbia University, Asia for Educators (AFE) is designed to serve faculty and students in world history, culture, geography, art, and literature at the undergraduate and pre-college levels."
"This project started in 2004 with simple lists of titles found in libraries in Vienna/Austria – listing books on China (Greater China) published between 1477 and 1939. The blog Bibliotheca Sinica 2.0 takes the concept to a new level in providing links to digitized copies in libraries and repositories which are freely accessible." Languages of items varies.
"Mass education materials published in Hong Kong and in Mainland China, particularly Shanghai, in the years 1947-1954. These cartoon books, pamphlets, postcards and magazines, on topics such as foreign threats to Chinese security, Chinese relations with the Soviet Union, industrial and agricultural production, and marriage reform, were produced by both Kuomintang (Nationalist) and Gongchantang (Communist) supporters."
"The Chinese Repository was a periodical published in Guangzhou [Canton] between 1832 and 1851 for the use of Protestant missionaries working in Southeast Asia. The founding editor was Elijah Coleman Bridgman (until 1847), from 1848 until 1851, Samuel Wells Williams was the editor. The periodical was published monthly between May 1832 and December 1851 – and (following BS 2286) there was a second edition of volumes 1-3. Each of the twenty volumes includes a subject index, a general index was published in 1851."
"The East Asian Collection includes historical images that present a visual archive of 20th century East Asian cultural heritage. Currently, the collection consists of images that document early 20th century China including the the Sino-Japanese Conflict (1937-1945), a visual history of Buddhist practices and temples in China, and other images of daily life in both rural and urban China. The completed project will be a valuable resource for research into this region and its history."
"Based at the University of Bristol, the 'Historical Photographs of China' project began work in 2006. It grew from being a focused strand in an Arts & Humanities Research Council funded project on the 'History of the Chinese Maritime Customs Service' into an initiative that searched for material far beyond descendants of the staff of the Customs Service. The project now locates, digitises, and publishes online photographs of China held, largely, in private hands outside the country. Although there are some sets of material from institutional repositories, the principal sources of our materials are families living outside China who have historical connections with it, typically this involves a family history of living and working there. Our sources are families who were involved in public service, business, missionary work, police or foreign armed forces. Most of our photographers were 'amateurs', although we have some material from journalists, and much from individuals who applied themselves seriously to the art of photography. The collection also includes much material that was commissioned, bought or otherwise acquired, photographs not actually taken by those within whose albums or boxes they came to be preserved. Our aim is to help make this virtual photographic archive of modern China publicaly available, without cost, and with limited restriction on use for non-commercial purposes."
"... is a full-text image database providing online access to pre-World War II issues of four major government publications, namely, Administrative Report, Hong Kong Sessional Papers, Hong Kong Hansard and Hong Kong Government Gazette. It contains a wide range of information, such as official notifications, proceedings of the Legislative Council, statistics, and reports of government departments and special committees, which are essential to students and scholars in conducting research on Hong Kong."
"...is a full-text image database providing online access to pre-World War II issues of four major government publications, namely, Administrative Report, Hong Kong Sessional Papers, Hong Kong Hansard and Hong Kong Government Gazette. It contains a wide range of information, such as official notifications, proceedings of the Legislative Council, statistics, and reports of government departments and special committees, which are essential to students and scholars in conducting research on Hong Kong."
"... international collaboration to make information and images of all manuscripts, paintings, textiles and artefacts from Dunhuang and archaeological sites of the Eastern Silk Road freely available on the Internet and to encourage their use through educational and research programmes."
The Chinese Rare Book Digital Collection draws from the 5,300 titles of Chinese rare books housed at the Asian Division of the Library of Congress. The online presentation includes nearly 2,000 digitized rare titles.
"One of the last widely-used pictographic scripts in the world, the written language of the Dongba, an ethnic minority in southwest China, is today all but lost – only a very few Chinese scholars and remaining Naxi are able to read it. The digitization of Harvard-Yenching Library’s 500-plus Naxi manuscripts is being shared with scholars in China, who will add translations to the collection that will preserve the record of the customs, religious practices, and daily life of the Naxi people. "
The Ming Shi-lu (明實錄) (also known as the Veritable Records of the Ming Dynasty) is a collective name for the successive reign annals of the emperors of Ming China (1368-1644). Each of the shi-lu comprises an account of one emperor's reign, and was compiled after that emperor's death on the basis of a number of sources created during the reign. These collected texts, which run to close to 40,000 pages of unpunctuated, manuscript Classical Chinese constitute one of the most important primary texts of the Ming dynasty, and contain a wealth of materials unrecorded in other sources.
"The Susan Barbara Tallmon Sargent papers document her life as a physician and medical missionary to Lintsing, China, from 1905 to 1918. The collection consists of correspondence, journals, news clippings, reports, articles, guest books, and financial documents collected by Sargent's niece, Ardis Hitchcock."
"The USC U.S.-China Institute documents archive includes a wide variety of speeches, treaties, reports, and other materials. They are organized according to their main topics (e.g., U.S.-China affairs) and are then available according to the date they were made public. It’s possible to use the institute’s search tool and then choose to display just documents. Where possible, we credit the original source of these materials, which are mostly in the public domain."
"The Digital Archive contains once-secret documents from governments all across the globe, uncovering new sources and providing fresh insights into the history of international relations and diplomacy. "