"Listen to audio recordings of prominent Hispanic writers including Nobel Laureates Gabriel García Márquez, Juan Ramón Jiménez, Gabriela Mistral, Pablo Neruda, and Octavio Paz, and renowned writers Jorge Amado, Jorge Luis Borges, and Julio Cortázar reading from their works at the Library of Congress."
Contains links to digital projects and initiatives such as: Archivo de José María Luis Mora; Archivo de Lucas Alamán; Latin American Government Documents Archive; Selections of Digitized Content from the Benson Collection; and VOCES Oral History Project.
"This collection features broadsides from the Kenneth Spencer Research Library's William J. Griffith Collection of Guatemala and Central America. Dating from the 1820s to 1922, the broadsides are primarily Guatemalan, with a smaller number from Honduras, Costa Rica, El Salvador, and Nicaragua." University of Kansas
"This information deals with human rights in Latin America, with some documents dating from 1964 to 1995. Most of the documents concern El Salvador and Guatemala, but the collection also contains records on Brazil, Nicaragua, Honduras, Chile, and Peru. Some documents were released in 1993 to the United Nations Truth Commission for El Salvador, which sought information on 32 alleged human rights violations in El Salvador between 1980 and 1991. These records reveal that U.S. citizens, other foreigners, and indigenous people on both the left and right in El Salvador and Guatemala were victims of these kidnappings, murders, and other human rights abuses. This collection includes Agency publications analyzing the dynamics surrounding the improvement or worsening of the human rights situation in these Latin American countries, such as a CIA Inspector General's report and a Special National Intelligence Estimate on the performance of El Salvador regarding human rights."
"The Digital Collection UANL is comprised of edited documents during the sixteenth to nineteenth centuries, in Spanish, Italian, French and Latin, as well as the graduate thesis (Master, Specialty and PhD) generated in the UANL and other documents research interest. The documents in this collection are part of the library collections that possess the University Library Raul Rangel Frias, Capilla Alfonsina University Library, Regional Centre for Information and Documentation on Health, Faculty of Medicine and Jose Juan Vallejo Library of the Faculty of Law and Criminology."
"The Digital Archive of Latin American and Caribbean Ephemera is a steadily growing repository containing a previously subset of Princeton's Latin American Ephemera Collection as well as newly acquired materials being digitized and added on an ongoing basis."
a collection of electronic texts and links to texts originally written in or about the Americas from 1492 to approximately 1820. Open to the public for research and teaching purposes, EADA is published and supported by the Maryland Institute for Technology in the Humanities (MITH) under the general editorship of Professor Ralph Bauer, at the University of Maryland at College Park. Description from site
"... provides over 1800 images from the Latin American Library’s Image Archive documenting people, places, landscapes, urban and rural scenes in various countries of the region from the mid-19th century to c. 1910. Images come from an array of sources, such as promotional albums compiled as travel souvenirs for tourists, studio portraits, personal photographic albums, glass lantern slides and stereoscopic images, as well as images captured by professional and amateur photographers. The geographic scope of the collection includes Argentina, Brazil, Costa Rica, Cuba, Guatemala, Honduras, Jamaica, Mexico, Panama, Peru, and Uruguay, with particular focus on the cities of Buenos Aires, Havana, Lima, Mexico City, Montevideo, Rio de Janeiro, San José de Costa Rica, and Tegucigalpa." Tulane University Digital Library
"The Slave Societies Digital Archive (SSDA), directed by Jane Landers and hosted at Vanderbilt University, is dedicated to identifying, cataloging, and digitally preserving endangered archival materials documenting the history of Africans and their descendants in the Atlantic World."
"Presents the text of the 'Good Neighbor Policy' address given by the United States president at Chautauqua, New York on August 14, 1936. Origin of his so-called good neighbor policy toward other nations; The peaceful border between the United States and Canada; Pan-American convention; Other statements."
"The Hispanic Digital Library is the digital library of the Biblioteca Nacional de España. It provides access free of charge to thousands of digitised documents, including books printed from the 15th to the 19th century, manuscripts, drawings, engravings, pamphlets, posters, photographs, maps, atlases, music scores, historic newspapers and magazines and audio recordings."
"...a comprehensive database of primary sources on the history of science in Latin America and the Caribbean. The site, launched in January 2010, provides a virtual archive of over 200 primary sources along with introductions based on the latest scholarly findings."
"Currently, the series holds over 40 titles in Spanish and Portuguese that cover a wide array of works from Latin America, the Caribbean, Spain and Portugal that span from the medieval to the contemporary period."
"These materials are made available under a Creative Commons License (click here for that policy). By downloading any images from our site, you agree to the terms of that license. We ask that anyone who uses the Library’s material include the following attribution: "Courtesy of the John Carter Brown Library." Finally, we would very much look forward to hearing from you if and when you use materials from the Library for publication. E-mail us here."
"This site hosts a database of listings that provide links to open access digitized collections of primary sources that relate to Latin America and the Caribbean. Currently, the listings may be searched by country, genre/format, hosting institution, and collection title. Questions about the content of the listed collections or their links should be directed to the host library or archive. Please note that digital collections may be continuously added to. You are encouraged to revisit for updates and to revisit our site for newly added content to the database."
"Despite the proliferation of videos on the Internet, finding Latin American and Spanish videos still remains a challenge. This guide brings together a selection of web resources that provide access to freely available videos, representing the great variety and diversity of Latin American and Spanish video production on the Internet. "
Provides access to various digital collections related to Latin America such as: Latin American Ephemera Pictorial Collection, 1860s-1980s; Jane Norling and Lenora Davis Poster Collection; Pershing/Villa Punitive Expedition into Mexico Pictorial Collection; Sonora News Company Mexico Stereographs Collection, 1900-1910; etc.
"The Latin American Library has substantially expanded its holdings to include digital surrogates of primary source materials in its Special Collections. These holdings include digital collections of photographic materials, rare books, and manuscripts collections hosted by the Tulane Digital Library (TUDL)."
"Harvard's Widener Library is the repository of many scarce and unique Latin American pamphlets published during the 19th and the early 20th centuries."Use the search or browse features provided to locate information.
"The posters included in this collection were created by a wide variety of social activists, non-governmental organizations, government agencies, political parties, and other types of organizations across Latin America, in order to publicize their views, positions, agendas, policies, events, and services." Princeton University Library
"This is a unique scholarly resource of materials to help the UK and international academic community to trace the rise, consolidation and development of liberal ideology and practice in Latin America during the long nineteenth century. This has been achieved through the digitisation of key texts that shaped liberal thought and practice in the region since the late eighteenth century. Archival materials have been carefully selected such as political pamphlets, judicial records, and political ephemera to provide researchers, educators and policy makers around the world with the tools to develop historical studies that will enhance our understanding of the liberal tradition in Latin America."
"The books whose images make up this digital presentation offer a rich sampling of the extraordinary variety of NYPL's pictorial holdings on Latin America from the nineteenth and early twentieth centuries." New York Public Library
"This project is coordinated by the Midpeninsula Community Media Center, located in Palo Alto, CA. It is made possible with support from the Silicon Valley Community Foundation and its initiative on Immigrant Integration."
Includes: A timeline of key events; Lists of heads of state organized by country; Primary sources on nineteenth, twentieth, and twenty-first century Latin America;
Model student essays based on topics studied in the course; Access to Latin American travelogues with companion essays
Questions for review; Suggestions for further reading; Recommended films on Latin America by country
"...is an independent, nonprofit organization founded in 1966..."
The website contains a variety of resources including articles, interviews, audio and video recordings, etc. Some items may require a subscription for access while others are available for free.
Trible library has various years of the NACL Report on the Americas available see Journal Finder for details.
An independent non-governmental research institute and library located at The George Washington University, the Archive collects and publishes declassified documents obtained through the Freedom of Information Act. The Archive also serves as a repository of government records on a wide range of topics pertaining to the national security, foreign, intelligence, and economic policies of the United States. Some of these items are accessible online for free.
"Today, the OAS brings together all 35 independent states of the Americas and constitutes the main political, juridical, and social governmental forum in the Hemisphere. In addition, it has granted permanent observer status to 69 states, as well as to the European Union (EU)."
"... this site brings online several interrelated databases that will provide students in this field with essential tools for their researches: a) an exhaustive, critical
bibliography of Pan-Hispanic Balladry, b) a large corpus of texts representative of all ballads documented worldwide since the 15th century, c) cartographic display of the primary and secondary data, and d) digitized
reproductions of original oral performances
and their musical notation. "
"... is a bilingual, multi-format English-Spanish digital library site that explores the interactions between Spain and the United States in America from the fifteenth to the early nineteenth centuries." National Library of Spain, the Biblioteca Colombina y Capitular of Seville and the Library of Congress
"This project includes interviews with returned Peace Corps volunteers and individuals associated with the Peace Corps with connections to Kentucky. Interviewees served in the Peace Corps from its inception in 1961 to the present. Volunteers discuss their experiences before, during, and after Peace Corps including their motivations for joining, the application process, training, living situations, difficulties, the job, relationships, coming home, and their impact on the host country and on their own lives."
"... is a non-governmental Internet-based project that provides reference materials, primary documents, comparative studies and statistical data for countries in the Western Hemisphere." Users can choose to access the database in English, French, Spanish, or Portuguese. Search the database by keyword or select a country to see the available information. Information can also be accessed by topics. Note: Some of the information is provided in the language of the country.
"... project is a digital collection of the first books printed in the Americas before 1601. These monographs are very important because they represent the first printing in the New World and provide primary sources for scholarly studies in a variety of academic fields. Of the 220 editions believed to have been produced in Mexico and 20 in Peru, approximately 155 are represented in institutions around the world." Languages: Huastec, Latin, Mixtec, Nahuatl, Otomi, Spanish, Tarascan, and Zapotec.
"Researchers can study a wide range of diverse topics including Southern Cone literature and politics, Andean indigenous societies, Brazil’s creative expressions, and South America’s vast natural resources. Colombia, Venezuela, and the Guianas are also very well represented."
"This digital collection is a selection of colonial documents and maps from Spanish and Mexican archives that have been documented by the SCRC. It is intended to be an essential source of information for those interested in Spanish Colonial history in North America."
Subscriber: CNUThis database is a "modern approach to legal history" and provides primary source documents with their publishing history - translations, revisions, updates, and annotations - available full text. The goal "is to present a complete constitutional history for every country."
Book Sources: Primary Sources: Central, Latin, South America & The Caribbean
A selection of books/e-books available in Trible Library.
Click the title for location and availability information.
"...contains more than sixty texts from Guatemala, Nicaragua, Honduras, El Salvador and Costa Rica, including editorials, speeches, manifestos, letters and pamphlets. Available for the first time in English..."
"... Traditionally rejected as a work of fiction, Catalina de Erauso's story has been verified - to the extent that verification is possible - as well as authenticated by recent scholarship. [MTH]"--Handbook of Latin American Studies, v. 58.
""William Ferguson's classic photographic portrayal of the major pre-Columbian ruins of Mexico, Guatemala, Belize, and Honduras is now available in a completely revised edition. Aerial and ground photographs give both armchair and actual visitors unparalleled views of fifty-one ancient cites."
"Seventy-seven essays - only 12 by women - include works written in Spanish and Portuguese between 1849 (Bello) and 1994 (Subcomandante Marcos). The broad definition of essay allows for inclusion of pieces such as Borges' 'Pierre Menard,' usually defined as fiction. Historical introduction by Stavans; bio-bibliographical notes for authors. Many pieces translated expressly for this volume. Consistently high level of translation"--Handbook of Latin American Studies, v. 58.
"Giving equal weight to Latin American and United States voices, this text provides an essential collection of primary sources for students and scholars, and is an indispensable touchstone for anyone interested in the histories of the United States and Latin America."