"The Caribbean Diaspora Oral History Collection documents and makes accessible the contributions of people of Caribbean ancestry who share stories of migration to the United States and the challenges inherent in such displacements. The 20 interviewees are from various countries from the Caribbean basin such as Columbia, Cuba, Ecuador, Haiti, Jamaica, Nicaragua, and Puerto Rico."
"The Caribbean Documents digital collection includes a selection of letters and documents concerning various aspects of business and life in the Caribbean from the 1750s through the 1850s. The digitized materials cover a range of Caribbean islands, including Antiqua, Barbados, Dominica, Cuba, Haiti, Jamaica, and Martinique. Many of the items are financial and legal materials related to slavery, business, trade, shipping, rum, and plantations. The letters also touch upon legal and political issues, as well as personal affairs."
"... is a cooperative digital library for newspapers resources from the Caribbean and circum-Caribbean. CNDL provides access to digitized versions of Caribbean newspapers, gazettes, and other research materials on newsprint currently held in archives, libraries, and private collections. CNDL will have on-going newspaper digitization, expanding the geographic, temporal, political and linguistic variety of the newspapers."
"Members of the Collazo family were commercial agents who worked in Cuba during the nineteenth century. The Collazo Family Papers contains the correspondence of Bernardo Collazo (1820s-1830s); Juan Collazo y Gil and Viuda de Collazo e Hijo, and Enrique Collazo (1830s-1890s) regarding their business activities in the Caribbean. Visit the Collazo Family Papers finding aid to learn more about the collection."
"The website is designed to provide online access to both the French originals and the English translations of key primary sources dealing with the grain shortage faced by the colony of Saint-Domingue in 1789..."
"The Digital Archive of Latin American and Caribbean Ephemera is a steadily growing repository containing a previously subset of Princeton's Latin American Ephemera Collection as well as newly acquired materials being digitized and added on an ongoing basis."
"... is a cooperative digital library for resources from and about the Caribbean and circum-Caribbean. dLOC provides access to digitized versions of Caribbean cultural, historical and research materials currently held in archives, libraries, and private collections."
"Partnered with the Digital Library of the Caribbean(DLOC) and housed in Northeastern University’s NULab for Texts, Maps, and Networks (NULabTMN), the Early Caribbean Digital Archive (ECDA) is a highly interactive digital scholars lab for the collaborative research and study of pre-C20 Caribbean literature. The ECDA seeks to engage both scholars and students in a shared, critical study of the textual, material, and cultural histories of the Caribbean by providing them with innovative digital technologies and newly emerging discursive platforms for generating new knowledges of the Caribbean’s rich body of materials. "
"This site hosts a database of listings that provide links to open access digitized collections of primary sources that relate to Latin America and the Caribbean. Currently, the listings may be searched by country, genre/format, hosting institution, and collection title. Questions about the content of the listed collections or their links should be directed to the host library or archive. Please note that digital collections may be continuously added to. You are encouraged to revisit for updates and to revisit our site for newly added content to the database."
"The Alan Lomax Collection includes ethnographic field documentation, materials from Lomax’s various projects, and cross-cultural research created and collected by Alan Lomax and others on traditional song, music, dance, and body movement from around the world. Lomax conducted fieldwork in the Bahamas, the Caribbean, England, France, Georgia (Republic), Haiti, Ireland, Italy, Morocco, Romania, Russia, Scotland, Spain, the United States, and Wales from the 1930s-1990s. The collection contains approximately 650 linear feet of manuscripts, 6400 sound recordings, 5500 graphic images, and 6000 moving images."
Book Sources: The Caribbean
A selection of books/e-books available in Trible Library.
Click the title for location and availability information.