LibGuides: World War II Resources: Need Some Background?

Encyclopedias, Dicitionaries, etc. - in print

A selection of books/e-books available in Trible Library.

These books should provide some information to get you familiar with the topic.

Click the title for location and availability information.

Off campus access instructions (for e-books)

A Companion to World War II by Thomas W. Zeiler (Editor); Daniel M. DuBois (Editor)
Call Number: D743 .C557 2013
ISBN: 1405196815
Biographical Dictionary of World War II by Mark A. Boatner
Call Number: D736 .B63 1996
ISBN: 0891415483
Encyclopedia of Japanese American Internment by Gary Y. Okihiro (Editor)
Call Number: D769.8.A6 E64 2013
ISBN: 0313399158
"It provides a comprehensive, accessible treatment of the events of Japanese American internment that includes topical, event, and biographical entries; a chronology and comprehensive bibliography; and primary documents that help bring the event to life for readers and promote inquiry and critical thinking." - ABC CLIO
Encyclopedia of the Holocaust by Israel Gutman (Editor)
Call Number: D804.3 .E53 1990
ISBN: 0028960904
Publication Date: 1989-10-01
The D-Day Encyclopedia by David G. Chandler, James Lawton Collins, Jr.
Call Number: D756.5.N6 D22 1994
ISBN: 0132036215
See the appendix for documents
The Encyclopedia of World War II by Spencer C. Tucker et al.
Call Number: Online - Ebook Central
ISBN: 9781576079997
See volume 5 for primary sources
The Marshall Cavendish Illustrated Encyclopedia of World War II by Peter Young (Editor)
Call Number: D743.5 .M37 1985
ISBN: 0856859486
Publication Date: 1985-06-01
An Objective, Chronological, and Comprehensive History of the Second World War
The Times Atlas of the Second World War by John Keegan (Editor)
Call Number: G1038 .T6 1989
ISBN: 0060161787
The Yad Vashem Encyclopedia of the Ghettos During the Holocaust by Guy Miron (Editor); Michael Berenbaum
Call Number: D805.A2 Y33 2009
ISBN: 9653083457