Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Selected Internet Sites
These are some internet sites that may be useful in your research.
Chemical Education Digital Library
"Digital resources, tools, and online services to aid in teaching and learning chemistry."
Common Chemistry - Substance Search
Quickly and easily find names or CAS Registry Numbers for chemicals of general interest.
It allows searches by substance identification, toxicity, physical properties, molecular weight, locator codes and chemical structure.
BMC Chemistry (formerly known as Chemistry Central Journal)
Provides free access to peer-reviewed articles published in Chemistry Central Journal and BioMed Central journals.
PubChem provides information on the biological activities of small molecules with fewer than 1000 atoms and 1000 bonds. Search PubChem Substance, PubChem Compound, and PubChem BioAssay. PubChem also provides a fast chemical structure similarity search tool.
ChemSpider is a free collection of compound data from across the web, provided by the Royal Society of Chemistry (RSC). It aggregates chemical structures and their associated information into a single searchable repository.
IUPAC Gold Book
Chemical terminology definitions published by IUPAC and drafted by international committees of experts in the appropriate chemistry sub-disciplines. Searchable by browsing the alphabetical index, using a thematic index, or searching by entering a term in the search box.
Organic Compunds Database
Searchable 2483 compound database compiled by Harold M. Bell at Virginia Tech.
ACS Undergraduate Resources