LibGuides: Physics, Computer Science, and Engineering Resources: Library Resources

Library Databases of Interest

These are the primary databases categorized for PCSE. They are not all full text, but contain links to Journal Finder if full text is not available. Articles can be obtained within 3 business days via Interlibrary Loan.

Off campus access information

ACM Digital Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Access the full-text of publications from the Association for Computing Machinery. ACM is dedicated to the advancement of the arts, sciences, and applications of information technology.
IEEE Xplore - advanced journal search This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
No conference proceedings access at this time, but we are investigating cost.
IEEE Xplore is the flagship digital platform for discovery and access to scientific and technical content published by the IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers) and its publishing partners.
Institute of Physics (IOP) Journals This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Access the full-text of selected IOP journals.
ProQuest Science & Technology Databases This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes Computer Science Collection, Computers & Information Systems Abstracts, Materials Science Collection, Materials Research Database, Engineering Research Database, and Abstracts in New Technologies and Engineering.
Searches a combination of 13 ProQuest databases related to science & technology topics.
EBSCOHost Research Databases This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Select Academic Search Complete, Applied Science and Technology (FT), Computers & Applied Sciences Complete
Provides access to databases covering a variety of topics. Provides access to full-text for some items.
Computers & Applied Sciences Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers the research and development spectrum of the computing and applied sciences disciplines. Full text is available for more than 670 periodicals. Subject areas include the many engineering disciplines, computer theory & systems, new technologies, and social & professional context.
MathSciNet This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
MathSciNet is a comprehensive database covering the world's mathematical literature since 1940. MathSciNet provides Web access to the bibliographic data and reviews of mathematical research literature contained in the Mathematical Reviews Database.
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global is the world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1743 to the present day and offering full text for graduate works added since 1997, along with selected full text for works written prior to 1997. It contains a significant amount of new international dissertations and theses both in citations and in full text.

Not a Library subscription database, but a go-to source in Physics for article pre-prints.

arXiv.org e-Print archive

e-Book collections

O'Reilly for Higher Education This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Over 35,000 tech e-books plus 30,000+ hours of video
The platform includes more than 35K book titles plus 30K+ hours of video, proven learning paths, case studies, interactive tutorials, audio books, and videos from O’Reilly’s global conferences and 250 of the world’s best publishers. Unlimited user access! Mobile, multi-device technology! Personalization for ease of use!

Taylor & Francis Engineering and Technology eBooks
Over 5800 titles

SpringerLink Books & Journals This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
over 7700 titles in computer science
over 2600 titles in engineering
Access e-books and journals published by Springer covering a range of scientific topics such as computer science, life science, and environmental science. Also, a limited number of protocols are available for free.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
826 book titles in the physical sciences and engineering
Access full-text of a small collection of e-books/journals through Elsevier's ScienceDirect database. Covers a variety of scientific and engineering topics.
Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Find ebooks on a wide variety of subjects.

Finding the Full Text

Use "Journal Finder" - either the link near the article citation, or on the Library's home page. Just type in the journal name and check for the date you need.

If there are no results -
Use ILL@CNU, the Interlibrary Loan system to request the article you need.

Subject Guide

Trible Library at CNU

Contact:

Paul & Rosemary Trible Library

library@cnu.edu

Visit Us
1 Avenue of the Arts
Newport News, VA 23606

Circulation: 757-594-7133
Media: 757-594-8894

Subjects: Interdisciplinary