HIST 211: The History of Comic Books & American Society: Databases

Subsciber: VIVA
A comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database; indexing & abstracting; content going back as far as 1887

Subscriber: VIVA/CNU
Full text articles, article abstracts and bibliographic citations of reviews and dissertations on the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistoric times to the present. Includes links to some full-text articles in other databases such as JSTOR.

Subscriber: CNU
A source for researchers who need to document and analyze periods of contemporary American social history (1900-1999).

Subscriber: CNU
Cross-disciplinary source spanning the 20th century (1900-1999.) Each volume in the set includes full or excerpted primary sources representing the seminal issues, themes, movements and events from a decade. Includes oral histories, songs, speeches, advertisements, TV, play and movie scripts, letters, laws, legal decisions, newspaper articles, cartoons, recipes, and more.

Subscriber: VIVA
Includes: Gale Virtual Reference Library (literature related titles); Literature Resource Center - LRC; Scribner Writer Series; Twayne's Authors Series

Subscriber: CNU
A digital library of more than one million images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and social sciences. Other subject areas include music, religion, anthropology, literature, world history, American Studies, Asian Studies, Classical Studies, Medieval Studies, Renaissance Studies, and more.

Subscriber: CNU
This database produced by the American Theological Library Association, indexes journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion. It also includes full-text access to ATLA's online collection of major religion and theology journals. The database begins in 1949, but also includes indexing for some journal titles extending back into the nineteenth century.

Subscriber: VIVA
Provides access to indexing, abstracting and some full-text articles for a wide variety of topics related to communication and mass media.

This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.

Subscriber: VIVA
Covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, and many others. Provides access to the full-text/full-image of articles.

Searches a variety of databases covering a wide range of topics. It provides access to full-text/image of many journals, as well as other data.

Subscriber: CNU
Contains the full text of Salem Press e-books available to CNU. Includes primary sources, literature criticism, encyclopedias and more!