HIST 211: The History of Comic Books & American Society: Writing & Citing

This site is provided by the publishers of the APA Manual and provides various resources that may be helpful in using the style manual.

A free companion to the MLA Handbook from the MLA. The site provides: the opportunity to submit your own questions, insights about MLA style from the MLA’s editors, sample research papers, instructions on formatting research papers, teaching resources, & tools for creating works-cited-list entries.

This site from the publishers of the Chicago Manual of Style provides answers to frequently asked questions and examples for citing research (see the Quick Guide.) Some areas of the site are limited to members. An online subscription to the full manual is available for purchase.

A guide to using the APSA style.

This site from Cornell Law School features Introduction to Basic Legal Citation by Peter W. Martin. Provides information on how to cite a variety of legal resources.
This work first appeared in 1993. It was most recently revised in November of 2020 to take account of a new edition of The Bluebook (the 21st).

This guide is intended to help users prepare citations for digital primary sources available via the Library of Congress website.

"This dictionary provides scientists, science writers, and all who work in scientific publishing with a clear style guide for the presentation of scientific information."

"What is the singular of 'paparazzi'? Is 'graffiti' singular or plural? Should I say 'empathic' or 'empathetic'? What is the correct pronunciation of 'concierge'?

In this book of crisp, precise and often witty pronouncements on modern American English, Bryan Garner decisively answers these and hundreds of other questions that bedevil those who care about the language."

access to 1,000 grammatical terms and their meanings; concise definitions of the wider subject of linguistics, including phonetics and transformational grammar
CNU ONLY

"This invaluable quick-reference work, based on the latest edition of the renowned Fowler’s Concise Dictionary of Modern English Usage, offers the best available advice on English usage in an accessible quick-reference format. Drawing on the unrivalled resources of Oxford’s English Dictionaries language monitoring programme, it provides clear, practical and up-to-date guidance on questions of grammar, spelling, style, and word choice. Jeremy Butterfield has judiciously revised the text to reflect the usage practices and concerns of the 21st century."

"Improve your writing skills and your vocabulary."

In the tradition of Strunk and White's The Elements of Style, this essential reference offers welcome help for the thousands of screenwriters who have discovered that putting together a successful screenplay is much harder than it seems.
Description from Amazon.com
CNU ONLY

"Seasoned speakers and neophytes will benefit from Cook's clearly written guide to preparing and presenting a speech. Each topic--from the proper use of humor to dealing with jittery nerves--is presented with examples from real speeches."
Description from Google Books
CNU ONLY

"This guide for graduate students and their supervising university faculty provides practical advice for writing and supervising the thesis or dissertation. "
Description from ERIC
CNU ONLY

"Find answers to specific business writing problems quickly and efficiently in the Handbook for Business Writing. From the three basic steps of writing to using the right style, format, and organization, students will learn how to create business communications that influence readers and get results."
Description from Google Books
CNU ONLY

"guide that will help you write and edit clearer, more forceful, more persuasive memos, letters, technical reports and documents."
Description from Google Books
CNU ONLY

Provides guidelines and techniques for writing almost every type of letter. Find the answers to specific questions about form, style, and grammar and punctuation.
CNU ONLY

Helps you learn how to write concise, effective messages that communicate rather than merely inform.
Description from Google Books
CNU ONLY

"It's not all in the delivery--here's expert advice on how to "write" a dynamic speech. Included are excerpts from some of history's most memorable speeches--eloquent words to contemplate and emulate."
Description from Google Books
CNU ONLY

CNU ONLY

CNU ONLY

Provides access to a variety of materials such as information on different types of writing, a glossary, an online handbook, and information on MLA and APA citation styles.

Essays are the major form of assessment in higher education today, a fact which causes poor writers a great deal of anxiety. However essay writing is simply a skill to be learned. anyone can learn to express themselves coherently and effectively, and this book explains precisely how.
Description from Google Books
CNU ONLY