It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
"This collection contains over 88,000 page images with searchable text taken from more than 2,400 periodicals and other items such as pamphlets and posters created by or for U.S. military personnel during the Vietnam War era. Many were produced underground by U.S. soldiers or veterans who opposed the war, using mimeograph machines or other inexpensive technology. These materials document the Vietnam War through the words of young people caught up in it. It is intended to complement official records published by the U.S. government and the civilian underground press of the time, both of which are readily available elsewhere."
"This reference report provides an overview of the electronic data records in the custody of the Electronic and Special Media Records Services Division that contain data related to military objectives and activities during the Vietnam War."
"These captioned, black & white photographs include scenes from combat and evacuation operations; and personalities such as President Ngo Dinh Diem, US presidents Johnson and Nixon, and personalities such as Walter Cronkite, Martha Raye, and Bob Hope. There are views of interactions between Marine Corps personnel and Vietnamese civilians. Also in this series are photos of Operation Homecoming, the return of American Marine prisoners of war to the United States. "
"This series of images covers the many activities in which the U.S. Army was engaged during the Vietnam War. Included are scenes of broad combat operations, vehicles and equipment, medical care, and interactions with Vietnamese civilians. Most photos are color, taken from slides and negatives. In nearly all cases, captions or descriptions are included on card files after each photo. "
"This web-site is comprised of original oral history interviews carried out by students of Dr. McCleary’s Hist 150 and Unst 390 course, spring 2016, 2017, 2019 and 2020 as part of James Madison University’s general education program. All of the interviews are available in MP3 form and transcriptions. The general theme of the interviews are about social change in the 20th and 21st centuries as depicted through themes such as the Cold War, gender, immigration, education, and the workplace. In spring 2020, they interviewed people about the most recent social change that we have experienced, the Coronoa virus. After the interviews were posted, students analyzed them to discern patterns of change in themes of their choosing."
"(1) Operation Pershing by 1st Cavalry in South Vietnam, village burned, residents relocated, field hospital treats civilians (2) "Home From The Sea" - carrier USS Coral Sea returns from duty in Vietnam (3) News In Brief - LBJ signs 25th amendment; mercy ship Phoenix manned by Quaker pacifists sails from Japan; paper airplane contest; Christian Dior in Paris shows hats with African styles (4) Sports - first Canadian Winter Games at Quebec City feature skaters; Winter Motocross race in Czechoslovakia feature motorcycles in mud and snow (complete newsreel)."
From the Internet Archive
See the section Researchers may obtain microfilmed documents in three ways for detail on obtaining the full document.
"This database is designed to assist researchers in accessing U.S. Government documents pertaining to U.S. unaccounted-for military personnel from the Vietnam conflict as of December 1991. The title of this collection is “Correlated and Uncorrelated Information Relating to Missing Americans in Southeast Asia.” The U.S. Department of Defense, Defense POW/Missing Personnel Office (DPMO) declassifies these documents and releases them to the Federal Research Division to make them available to the public."
"(1) USS Enterprise aircraft carrier enters combat, launches planes, on ground "small search and kill missions have been increased" but pinned down by enemy fire, medical corpsmen carry wounded (2) "Act of Faith" - woman walks to Holy Land with donkey on pilgrimmage (3) "Pop Fashions" - models dance to the pop beat in Manchester, one model in bikini dancing, fashionable sunglasses (4) football: NY Jets and Joe Namath at San Diego Chargers 38-7 (partial newsreel)" From the Internet Archive
"U.S. Army military history detachments and historians conducted numerous oral histories to help document the war in Vietnam and often prepared interview reports or summaries. These historians sent many of the interview tapes and supporting documents to CMH for use in preparing the official history of the conflict. Most interviews were taped on open reel recorders and have not been converted to another tape format or transcribed." This site provides access to a selection of the items that have been transcribed.
"The first half of the book makes for disturbing reading as veterans recall the racial tensions, drug abuse and antiauthoritarianism that crippled the spirit of the U.S. military establishment in the '60s and '70s; but the second half, dealing with the mechanics of reenergizing the forces and the successful operations in Grenada, Panama and the Persian Gulf, is upbeat." Publishers Weekly