LibGuides: Primary Sources: Vietnam War: Anti-War

Online Sources: Anti-War/Peace Advocacy - Vietnam War

Anti-War Demonstrators Storm Pentagon, 1967
more...less...
"(1) Mass protest against Vietnam war in Washington DC, on mall, across Potomac river to Pentagon, MPs with bayonets emerge from Pentagon, tear gas used, next day camp fires burn on the 2nd day of sitting-in (2) new turbo-jet transport plane by Germany (partial newsreel)"
Berkeley Teach-in: Vietnam
- This link opens in a new window
Beyond Vietnam: A Time to Break Silence
more...less...
"On April 4, 1967, Martin Luther King delivered his first major public statement against the Vietnam War, entitled "Beyond Vietnam: A Time to Break the Silence." Addressing a crowd of 3,000 at Riverside Church in New York City, King condemned the war as anti-democratic, impractical, and unjust. He described the daily suffering of Vietnamese peasants caught in the crossfire, as well as the human and economic burdens being placed on America's poor. Not only were lower-class Americans more likely to fight in Vietnam, but Johnson's domestic "War on Poverty" designed to help poor families was being derailed by U.S. foreign policy. King called for an immediate end to the bombing and a negotiated peace settlement with Vietnam. Although some activists supported King's opposition to the war, many were concerned that the speech would be perceived as unpatriotic and hinder the civil rights struggle by connecting it to the more radical peace movement."
British news report on protests at Berkeley 1967
Elizabethtown College - Peace Pamphlets
more...less...
"Elizabethtown College was founded by members of the Church of the Brethren, one of the original "peace churches" that spread from Europe to the United States. This collection contains pamphlets published from 1775 to the 1970s that focus on peace issues and the conscientious objector movement."
FBI Vault: American Friends Service Committee
FBI Vault: Clergy and Laity Concerned about Vietnam
Foreign Support for Activities - Republican National Convention
more...less...
Feb. 23, 1972 - CIA Memorandum
Hoffman, Abbie
The Original Read-In for Peace in Vietnam
- This link opens in a new window
Protests Galore!, 1967
more...less...
"(1) Vietnam protest demonstration in Britain; also at Madrid University in Spain, burned American flag; also 4000 in Detroit at "love-in" and "be-in" with hippies and wild constumes (2) News In Brief - U.S. jet bombers hit North Vietnam targets (3) May Day parade in Moscow, Premier Kosygin (partial newsreel)." From the Internet Archive
A Student Organizer Recalls an Antiwar Protest
more...less...
"Todd Gitlin was a founding member of the Students for a Democratic Society (SDS), which by the late 1960s was the largest radical student organization in the country. Originally concerned with the problem of poverty and racism in the United States, SDS was one of the first student groups to take an anti-war stance. Here Gitlin recalls his impressions of an anti-Vietnam War protest held in Washington on April 17, 1965, the largest demonstration against the war to that point." HERB
Thomas W. Benson Political Protest Collection
more...less...
"The Thomas W. Benson Political Protest Digital Collection is a unique educational and scholarly resource documenting and exploring themes associated with the student anti-war movement and campus unrest in America during the late 1960s and early 1970s. Consisting of 75 iconic political protest posters and accompanying memorabilia—the core produced by student activists affiliated with the University of California (UC)-Berkeley’s Political Poster Workshop—the collection was assembled by Professor Thomas W. Benson, Edwin Erle Sparks Professor of Rhetoric, Department of Communication Arts and Sciences, The Pennsylvania State University during his early years as a faculty member affiliated with UC-Berkeley and the State University of New York at Buffalo. "
To American Servicemen Involved In The Indochina War
more...less...
by Jane Fonda
American Actress, Political Activist
"The following was reprinted in the report of Hearings before the U.S. Congress House of Repesentatives Committee on Internal Security, Travel to Hostile Areas. Hearings on HR16742, 19 and 25 September 1972 at page 7671." Originally broadcast over Radio Hanoi
Vietnam Day Berkeley
more...less...
"This film documents the two day anti-Vietnam War rally held in Sproul Plaza at the University of California. There are many scenes of students gathering, activities, carrying signs, collecting money, etc. Identified speakers include Robert Scheer, Dr. Benjamin Spock, Mario Savio, Norman Thomas, Dick Gregory, Norman Mailer. There are many unidentified speakers. The Committee performs a comedy skit (07:50). Barbara Dane sings and performs on acoustic guitar (13:06). Phil Ochs sings Love me, I'm a liberal (15:53). The film concludes with hanging Lyndon Johnson in effigy and burning draft cards."
Vietnam Veterans against the War Statement
- This link opens in a new window
more...less...
"Presents the author's [John Kerry] testimony to the US Senate on April 23, 1971, against further United States military involvement in Vietnam."
Vietnam War Protestors Confront M.P.s with Flowers
more...less...
"A Vietnam-era photograph shows a standoff between antiwar protesters and military police. The demonstration, which took place on October 21, 1967, included a march to the Pentagon, where "Yippies" Abbie Hoffman and Jerry Rubin led a mock "exorcism" of the building. As many as 100,000 people took part in the protest, which also involved several exchanges similar to the one depicted in the photograph."
Violence Rocks 1968 Democratic Convention
more...less...
from History.com

Online Sources: Kent State Shootings

Audio excerpt from Clara Bingham’s interview with Joe Lewis on Kent State
more...less...
"Author Clara Bingham interviews Joe Lewis about his experiences at Kent State. Joe Lewis was one of the students shot that day and he tells in chilling detail how the events of that day unfolded."
Crosby, Stills, Nash, and Young "Ohio" via YouTube
Digital Daily Kent Stater Archive
more...less...
"This student-run newspaper has been published since 1926 under the titles of The Searchlight, The Kent Stater, and The Daily Kent Stater. The collection now includes issues dating from February 1926 through December 2016. Also included are Kent Summer News and Summer Stater issues from the 1950s, 1960s, 1970s, 1980s, 1990s, and 2000s. From 29 August 2013 through spring 2015, one issue per week was released under the title of KSU Buzz, a weekly entertainment magazine. Please note that there were no issues of the paper from July 1943 through August 1944 and from Fall 1950 on file in print or on microfilm in Kent State University Special Collections and Archives. Within some issues from the 2000s, some damage has occurred to portions of pages due to the binding process."
FBI Vault: Kent State
FBI Vault: Kent State Shooting
Former Kent State students speak out, 50 years after deadly protest
Kent State Shootings: Digital Archive (Kent State University)
more...less...
"Audio recordings, photographs, artworks, and thousands of documents from the May 4 Collection, documenting the May 4, 1970 Kent State shootings."
Kent State Shootings: May 4 Collection (Kent State University)
more...less...
"Kent State University was placed into the international spotlight on May 4, 1970, after 13 students were shot by members of the Ohio National Guard at a student demonstration. Four students were killed and nine others were wounded, including one who was permanently paralyzed from his injury. The May 4 Collection, established by the Kent State University Libraries in 1970, includes over 300 cubic feet of primary sources related to the Kent State shootings and their aftermath. The collection is open to the public and is used by researchers from around the world."
Kent State Shootings Oral Histories (KSU)
more...less...
"The Kent State Shootings Oral History Project collects and provides access to personal accounts of the May 4, 1970, shootings and their aftermath. Founded in 1990 by Sandra Perlman Halem, the Project continues to record oral histories, including many eyewitness accounts, from a wide variety of viewpoints. The narrators are Kent State faculty, alumni, staff, and administrators, residents of the city of Kent, National Guardsmen, police, hospital personnel, and other persons whose lives were affected by these historic events."
May 4: Our Place in History (Documentary on the Kent State Shootings)
more...less...
"On May 4, 1970, members of the Ohio National Guard opened fire during an antiwar protest on the Kent State University campus. Four students were killed and an additional nine were wounded. Through historical photographs and eyewitness interviews, this documentary details the events surrounding the shootings along with their impact, both immediate and long-lasting.

An Official Selection at the Cleveland International Film Festival (2016)."
News Footage of the Kent State Shootings (PBS)
more...less...
"Watch selected news footage filmed at Kent State from May 4th, 1970, the day of the shootings. These shootings occurred after a protest against the Vietnam War on the campus of Kent State University turned violent. The clash between student protesters and the Ohio National Guard resulted in the killing of four students and wounding of nine. This event would mark a fundamental turning point in the anti-war movement, galvanizing protesters into action at universities and high schools across the nation.

Archival news footage from this day was used in the documentary The Day the 60's Died, which chronicles the Kent State shootings and the events and circumstances surrounding it."
NY Times Article - 4 Kent State Students Killed by Troops
- This link opens in a new window
Plain-Dealer-Kent-State-Coverage-5May1970.pdf
Rare Letter to Bereaved: President Nixon's Response to the Kent State Shooting May 6, 1970
The Report of the President's Commission on Campus Unrest (HathiTrust)
more...less...
U.S. Govt. Print. Off., 1970
The Report of the President's Commission On Campus Unrest (via ERIC)
more...less...
This report examines campus unrest. Emphasis is
placed on the student protest in the 1960's, the black student
movement, university response to campus disorder, the law enforcement
response, university reform, government and campus unrest, and Kent
State and Jackson State. Recommendations are suggested for the
President, the government, the law enforcement agencies, the
university, and the students. Appendices include a 191-item
bibliography, commission hearings and investigations, and official
documents. Photographs of the Kent State incident may be copyrighted
and have been omitted from the text (p. 291-409). (MJM)

Peace March, 1967

"Antiwar demonstrators protest in Central Park, march to UN building, included students and hippies and priests and nuns, burn draft cards, shouted confrontations with anti-antiwar marchers, prowar signs, Martin Luther King leads procession; another march in downtown San Francisco down Market Street to stadium, sponsored by loose coalition of left-wing anti-war groups, "President Johnson meanwhile let it be known that the FBI is closely watching all anti-war activity."- violence in Rome in night demonstration near US embassy, water jets used (partial newsreel)"

Book Sources: Anti-War/Peace Advocacy - Vietnam War

A selection of books/e-books available in Trible Library.
Click the title for location and availability information.

Off campus access instructions (for e-books)

1001 Ways to Beat the Draft by Tuli Kupferberg
Call Number: Online - free - HathiTrust Digital Library
New York : Oliver Layton Press, 1966
The 1960s Cultural Revolution by John C. McWilliams
Call Number: E841 .M37 2000
ISBN: 0313299137
"A gripping and engagingly written guide to the New Left, antiwar movement, and counterculture that personify the 1960s cultural revolution."
American Protest Literature by Zoe Trodd
Call Number: HN90.R3 A6754 2006
ISBN: 0674023528
"... presents sources from eleven protest movements—political, social, and cultural—from the Revolution to abolition to gay rights to antiwar protest."
Conflicts in American History: A Documentary Encyclopedia by Each volume has a different editor.
Call Number: E174 .C655 2010
ISBN: 0816070938
From Camelot to Kent State by Joan Morrison, Robert K. Morrison
Call Number: E841 .F74 2001
ISBN: 0195144538
The Sixties Experience in the Words of those who Lived It
"Included are first-hand accounts from both the famous-including Eldridge Cleaver, Abbie Hoffman, Philip Berrigan, and John Lewis-and the ordinary men and women who were swept up in major historical events..." from Amazon.com
The Loyal Opposition: Americans in North Vietnam, 1965-1972 by James W. Clinton
Call Number: Online - Ebsco
ISBN: 9780870814129
Not in Our Name: American Antiwar Speeches, 1846 to the present by Jesse Stellato (Editor)
- This link opens in a new window
Call Number: Online - Ebook Central
ISBN: 9780271048680
Reconciliation Road: A Family Odyssey of War and Honor by John Douglas Marshall
Call Number: DS559.8.C63 M37 1993
"Marshall, a conscientious objector during Vietnam, tells of his quest to salvage the tarnished professional reputation of his grandfather, a prominent military historian."
Copyright 1996 Reed Business Information, Inc
Takin' it to the Streets by Alexander Bloom; Wini Breines
Call Number: E841 .T28 2011
ISBN: 0195368355
Vietnam Voices: Perspectives on the War Years, 1941-1982 by John Clark Pratt
Call Number: DS557.7 .V566 1984b
ISBN: 0140063595
"... this unique book samples all conceivable forms of oral and written documentation to illuminate the United States' involvement in its longest and most divisive war. From foot soldiers to generals, politicians to protesters, hawks and doves, their attitudes and experiences are graphically revealed."
War No More: Three Centuries of American Antiwar and Peace Writing by Lawrence Rosenwald (Editor); James Carroll (Foreword by)
Call Number: JZ5584.U6 W376 2016
ISBN: 9781598534733
We Interrupt this Broadcast by Joe Garner
Call Number: PN4784.T4 G36 1998
ISBN: 1570713286
Posters for Peace by Thomas W. Benson
Call Number: DS559.62.U6 B46 2015
ISBN: 9780271065861
Posters for Peace by Thomas W. Benson
Call Number: Online - Ebook Central
ISBN: 9780271065861

Search for More

Suggested terms to look for include - diary, diaries, letters, papers, documents, documentary or correspondence.

Combine these these terms with the event or person you are researching. (example: civil war diary)

Also search by subject for specific people and events, then scan the titles for those keywords or others such as memoirs, autobiography, report, or personal narratives.