Primary Sources: Russia, Russian Federation, U.S.S.R., Soviet Union: General Sources

Includes books, documents, photos and more related to Imperial Russian History. There is also a discussion forum available.

"... is an on-line repository of primary documents intended mainly for use in teaching. All of the documents are either original translations or are, as far as we can determine, in the public domain. Permission is granted to use the documents for non-commercial purpose under a Creative Commons license."

Part of the Internet Modern History Sourcebook from Fordham University

"... provides access to digitized materials selected from the Harvard Project on the Soviet Social System (HPSSS). The digital collection consists chiefly of summary transcripts of 705 interviews conducted with refugees from the USSR during the early years of the Cold War. A unique source for the study of Soviet society between 1917 and the mid-1940s, the HPSSS includes vast amounts of one-of-a-kind data on political, economic, social and cultural conditions. The HPSSS’s value is compounded by the fact that it was compiled in English and organized according to a rigorous social science framework, making it accessible to a broad range of students and scholars."

"The Kennan Institute and National Public Radio are pleased to announce the establishment of an online audio archive of Soviet and Russian history. Originally stored on a collection of audio tapes, the Institute recently had the collection digitized into mp3 format. The archive consists of recordings dating back to the earliest years of the Soviet state. This collection is accessible to the public domain, we ask only that you properly cite any materials used from the archive."

A collection of letters written on birch bark from Siberia. Note: letters are not translated; most are written in Latvian.

"Over 300 primary sources, including government documents, images, videos, and artifacts with introductory notes."
George Mason University

"The Marxists Internet Archive (MIA, http://www.marxists.org/) is an all-volunteer, non-profit public library, started more than 20 years ago in 1990. " It includes access to a variety of materials including primary sources in multiple languages. A review of the website is available from George Mason University's Center for history and New Media written by T. Mills Kelly George Mason University January 2003http://chnm.gmu.edu/worldhistorysources/d/39/whm.html

An independent non-governmental research institute and library located at The George Washington University, the Archive collects and publishes declassified documents obtained through the Freedom of Information Act. The Archive also serves as a repository of government records on a wide range of topics pertaining to the national security, foreign, intelligence, and economic policies of the United States. Some of these items are accessible online for free.

Covers a variety of social movement related topics through pamphlets and other materials. Subjects include: Communism, Socialism, Antisemitism, World War I and II, Labor Unions, etc.

"These documents provide an unprecedented inside look at the workings of one of the largest, most powerful and long-lived political machines of the modern era. As in any modern archive, there is more bureaucratic verbiage and fewer instant revelations than one might hope for. But the documents that the Library of Congress has here chosen from the 500 made available from the Russian archives cover the entire range of Soviet history from the October Revolution of 1917 to the failed coup of August 1991. They include material from archives that had been key working files of the Communist rulers until August 1991: the archives of the Central Committee, the Presidential archive, and the KGB. "

Includes: Various Constitutions from 1833 to current; Commentaries & Other Relevant Sources; Scholarly Articles; Bibliography of Select Constitutional Works; and External Links for Russian Federation

These are document collections published by the Imperial Russian Historical Society, one of imperial Russia’s most important scholarly bodies. It consists primarily of archival documents and correspondence, the bulk of which concerns the diplomatic history of the period stretching from Peter the Great to the Napoleonic Wars. The series includes a large number of documents from foreign as well as domestic archives, many of which have not been published elsewhere.

"SEVENTEEN MOMENTS IN SOVIET HISTORY WAS CREATED by James von Geldern (Macalester College) and Lewis Siegelbaum (Michigan State University) with generous funding from an educational development grant from the National Endowment for the Humanities (NEH) from 1999 to 2002. In 2014, Amy Nelson (Virginia Tech) joined the team as content curator and web director. The original site was developed in collaboration with MATRIX, the center for digital humanities and social sciences at Michigan State University. MATRIX supports and hosts the current version of the site as well."

"This is a collection of primary source documents related to the Soviet development of nuclear weapons. These letters and memorandums come from the 1940s up to the 1980s, and are from varied archival sources. Included are early notes and letters by physicist Igor Kurchatov, who was the head of the Soviet atomic bomb project in the 1940s. The collection also discusses later Soviet nuclear developments and related international treaties."

"The Digital Archive contains once-secret documents from governments all across the globe, uncovering new sources and providing fresh insights into the history of international relations and diplomacy. "