Primary Sources: U.S. Presidents: Reagan

"In the 1980s, the Cold War was going strong and was made worse by events such as the death of three Soviet leaders in a span of three years, the Soviet shootdown of a Korean airliner, and the USSR's support for Communist governments and movements in Afghanistan and Central America. This collection of declassified documents and other material highlights what the CIA provided President Reagan and other top members of his national security team on key issues affecting US-Soviet relations. The collection--made up of intelligence assessments, National Intelligence Estimates, high-level memos, and DCI talking points--consists of over 200 documents, some 60 of which are either being made available to the public for the first time or are being re-released with new material. To help put this material in perspective, we are also including non-CIA documents from the archives of the Reagan Library to fill out the collection on the policy end."

"An excerpt of transcripts of deliberations in the White House Situation Room after U.S. President Ronald Reagan survived an assassination attempt by John W. Hinckley is presented."

Video of Margaret Thatcher's eulogy for Reagan.

Remarks at the Annual Convention of the National Association of Evangelicals in Orlando, Florida March 8, 1983

TUESDAY, JANUARY 20, 1981

Photoplay, August, 1941

Reagan's letter announcing that he has been diagnosed with Alzheimer's disease.

"...is the nonprofit organization created by President Reagan himself and specifically charged by him with continuing his legacy and sharing his principles - individual liberty, economic opportunity, global democracy and national pride. The Foundation is a non-partisan organization which sustains the Ronald Reagan Presidential Library and Museum, the Reagan Center for Public Affairs, the Walter and Leonore Annenberg Presidential Learning Center and its internationally recognized, award-winning Discovery Center, and the Air Force One Pavilion." Access to various speeches, documents, etc. is provided.

"As a Presidential library administered by the National Archives and Records Administration (NARA), the Reagan Library, under the authority of the Presidential Records Act, is the repository of presidential records for President Reagan’s administration. Our holdings include over 60 million pages of documents, over 1.6 million photographs, a half million feet of motion picture film and tens of thousands of audio and video tapes. Additionally, the Library houses personal papers collections including documents from Ronald Reagan’s eight years as governor of California. "

MONDAY, JANUARY 21, 1985

Delivered: January 4, 1971

"Please note this is not a complete list of Governor Reagan's speeches while Governor of California from 1967-1975."

January 28, 1986 - Reagan's speech on the explosion of the Space Shuttle Challenger. Also includes related documents.

"...comprehensive website on the famous Reagan-era government scandal, which stemmed from the U.S. government’s policies toward two seemingly unrelated countries, Nicaragua and Iran. " The site includes documents and videos related to the scandal.

Ronald Reagan Op-Ed article supports bill to require waiting period in purchasing a handgun so that buyer's background can be checked