Primary Sources: U.S. Presidents: Coolidge

"... assembles a wide array of Library of Congress source materials from the 1920s that document the widespread prosperity of the Coolidge years, the nation's transition to a mass consumer economy, and the role of government in this transition. The collection includes nearly 150 selections from twelve collections of personal papers and two collections of institutional papers from the Manuscript Division; 74 books, pamphlets, and legislative documents from the General Collections, along with selections from 34 consumer and trade journals; 185 photographs from the Prints and Photographs Division and the Manuscript Division; and 5 short films and 7 audio selections of Coolidge speeches from the Motion Picture, Broadcasting, and Recorded Sound Division. The collection is particularly strong in advertising and mass-marketing materials and will be of special interest to those seeking to understand economic and political forces at work in the 1920s. "

"... established in 1960 by a group of Coolidge enthusiasts including John Coolidge, the son of President, and Mrs. Coolidge; Franklin S. Billings, Jr., Chief Justice of the Vermont Supreme Court; Edward Connery Lathem, Dartmouth College Librarian and Dean of the Libraries and distinguished author; Vrest Orton; Consuelo Northrup Bailey; Deane C. Davis; and other such luminaries of the period. The Foundation was formed in part to redress the fact that there is no federally funded presidential library for Calvin Coolidge, our 30th U.S. President. "

"The Calvin Coolidge Presidential Library & Museum contains materials documenting the private life of Calvin Coolidge (1872-1933), beginning with his birth and formative years in Vermont, his student days at Amherst College, and his years as a young lawyer in Northampton. " Most materials are not online, but there is a Digital Treasures collection which contains a small number of images of Calvin Coolidge.

"Most of these photos cover the period of Coolidge's presidency (1923-29). Others document his early political career as governor of Massachusetts (1919-21), his years of service after his term in office, notables of his acquaintance, and his family after his death in 1933. They are arranged chronologically by date. "

Access free through the Internet Archive
"The first presidential film with sound recording"

December 6, 1923, December 3, 1924, December 8, 1925, December 7, 1926, December 6, 1927 and December 4, 1928