Primary Sources: Ancient History: Greece & Rome

From Archaic Times to the Death of Alexander
3rd edition

from archaic times to the death of Socrates (c.800-399 B.C.)
2nd edition

This book shares little-known facts from and excerpts of primary source documents to correct popular misconceptions about Ancient Rome and to show how those misconceptions became widespread.

Translated documents of Greece and Rome

Sources and Documents

"All sources are presented in translation with full annotation and commentary and each chapter opens with an introduction to provide background and direction for readers."

A Brief History with Documents

Edition, translation, and commentary by Alessandro Garcea

"This sourcebook gathers into a single collection the writings that illuminate one of the most fundamental periods in the history of Christian Europe. "

: The Definitive Political, Social, and Military Encyclopedia

Translated from the ancient Greek.

Key Sources, with Text, Translation, and Commentary

: A Sourcebook

passages and documents illustrating the history of social and political ideas, 336 B.C.-A.D. 337 / translated with introductions, notes, and essays

From the Battle of Marathon to the Conquests of Alexander the Great
"...brings together reference material and primary source documents concerning the most important people, places, events, and technologies of Classical Greek warfare..."

a selection of ancient sources in translation

: A Brief History with Documents

An Anthology of the Major Writings

Translated by Robin Waterfield ; with an introduction and notes by Carolyn Dewald.

"Fully documented primary and secondary source quotations enliven the text, and each set includes well-organized primary source documents valuable for student research and reports." Gale.com

Translated works from classical civilizations. Click the title to see a list of items included.

Translated by Francis Hutcheson and James Moore ; edited and with an introduction by James Moore and Michael Silverthorne.

"This collection, with a critical introduction and striking illustrations, is the first major anthology of primary material and critical commentary on this most provocative and enigmatic of figures."

From the Earliest Fragments to the End of the 5th Century A.D.
These 384 selections from 76 authors survey the pantheon of Roman poets in their native tongue.

: Twenty-one Selections from Literary, Epigraphic, and other Documents

edited with an introd. and notes

* Covers all aspects of Imperial Rome, from politics to social life * Provides a selection of primary source documents * Organizes reference entries in topical categories and provides cross-references * Cites works for further reading and closes with a bibliography of the most important print and electronic resources

Translated documents of Greece and Rome

History from a Personal Point of View Selected letters translated from the Greek and Latin

Debates and documents in ancient history

a sourcebook with translations

The Complete Fragments and Selected Testimonies of the Major Presocratics

an anthology of eye-witnesses' accounts of events in the histories of Greece and Rome, 1400 B.C.-A.D.540

translated by Rex Warner

a source book in translation