Primary Sources: Ancient History: Egypt

"The Duke Papyrus Archive provides electronic access to texts about and images of nearly 1400 papyri from ancient Egypt. The target audience includes: papyrologists, ancient historians, archaeologists, biblical scholars, classicists, Coptologists, Egyptologists, students of literature and religion and all others interested in ancient Egypt." A cataloging note provides descriptions in English.

"ETANA is a cooperative venture of a consortium of scholarly societies and universities to develop and maintain a comprehensive Internet site for the study of the ancient Near East (ANE)." Members include: The American Oriental Society, American Schools of Oriental Research, Case Western Reserve University, Cobb Institute of Archaeology at Mississippi State, Oriental Institute of the University of Chicago, Society of Biblical Literature, Sonia and Marco Nadler Institute of Archaeology of Tel Aviv University, Vanderbilt University, and Virginia Polytechnic and State University.
The site is made up of three areas:
(1) Abzu - a guide to information available on the internet. It can be searched or browsed. This section also provides searching of the information in section (2) Core Texts - ETANA has "digitized, and continues to digitize texts selected as valuable for teaching and research relating to Ancient Near Eastern studies. We have selected primarily editions that are outside of copyright, or with the permission of copyright holders. While the new electronic editions we have produced are under copyright, the ETANA project chooses to make these freely available for non-commercial teaching and research purposes." And section (3) Archaeological Projects - provides links to projects associated with the ETANA site.

"The Petrie Museum houses an estimated 80,000 objects, making it one of the greatest collections of Egyptian and Sudanese archaeology in the world. It illustrates life in the Nile Valley from prehistory through the time of the pharaohs, the Ptolemaic, Roman and Coptic periods to the Islamic period. "
A searchable catalog of the collection with images is provided as well as other resources such as Digital Egypt for Universities.

"On this site historical sources on the history of human societies in the continent of Africa are presented, when available, without making prejudgements about what is "African". "