Primary Sources: America (U.S.A.): Politics

Created in 1999 by John Woolley and Gerhard Peters at the University of California, Santa Barbara. Contains documents for the study of the U.S. Presidency. The archive contains public papers of Presidents, addresses, speeches, FDR's Fireside Chats, debates, etc. Documents can be browsed or searched. The site also provides links to Presidential Libraries, election data, and an audio/video archive.

Provides access to video and transcripts as well other debate materials.

Congress.gov is the official website for U.S. federal legislative information. The site provides access to accurate, timely, and complete legislative information for Members of Congress, legislative agencies, and the public. It is presented by the Library of Congress (LOC) using data from the Office of the Clerk of the U.S. House of Representatives, the Office of the Secretary of the Senate, the Government Printing Office, Congressional Budget Office, and the LOC's Congressional Research Service.

The web page for the Democratic Party provides information about the Party's platform as well as information on contributing to the party and other ways to get involved in the political process.

"An average of 50 cartoons and prints per election, most of which have been scanned from leading illustrated periodicals of the day. This collection of 19 publications ranges from major journals, such as Harper’s Weekly, Leslie’s Illustrated Newspaper, Puck, and Judge, to rare humor and satirical magazines and newspapers, such as The Comic Monthly, Fun, and Southern Punch. Also included are campaign banners and political prints from the Library of Congress collection. The cartoons and prints are accompanied by commentary explaining their historical context and meaning."

Select a date to see: The Electoral College outcome, Electoral College votes by State, The candidates, Election notes*

* Election notes include specific election information, such as third party candidates, faithless electors, challenges during the counting of the electoral votes in Congress, and other interesting facts. Learn more about the history of the Electoral

GovInfo provides free public access to official publications from all three branches of the Federal Government.

"...contains more than 300 commercials, from every presidential election since 1952, when Madison Avenue advertising executive Rosser Reeves convinced Dwight Eisenhower that short ads played during such popular TV programs as I Love Lucy would reach more voters than any other form of advertising. " The site is provided by the Museum of the Moving Image

"The Library is where electronic versions of classic books about individual liberty are stored. These texts go back some 4,000 years and cover the disciplines of economics, history, law, literature, philosophy, political theory, religion, war and peace." Items are provided free of charge for educational use.

This is the website of the Republican Party. Users can learn about the GOP, the Party's platform and how to become involved in the political process.

The House is one part of the U.S. Congress, the Legislative Branch of the Federal Government. On this website users can find and access a variety of information related to the legislature. It includes a search to assist users in finding their representatives. Information about the legislative process, access to the U.S. Code, the schedule, and much more.

The Senate is on part of the U.S. Congress, the Legislative Branch of the Federal Government. The website provides access to information related to the operation of the Senate and the legislative process. It includes a Virtual Reference Desk section. Information is available on Senators, committees, bills and more.