LibGuides: Primary Sources: America (U.S.A.): Business & Economics

Online Sources: American Business & the Economy

Sears Archive
more...less...
This Sears website provides access to information from the company archive dating back to 1886.
U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission
more...less...
"The primary mission of the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC) is to protect investors and maintain the integrity of the securities markets." The website provides access investor information, news, litigation and other information. Also provides access to the EDGAR database where users have free access to filings made to the SEC from companies, both foreign and domestic.
Business in the 1930s
Business - General Sources - 1920s

Book Sources: American Business & the Economy

A selection of books/e-books available in Trible Library.
Click the title for location and availability information.

Off campus access instructions (for e-books)

The 100 Most Important American Financial Crises by Quentin R. Skrabec
- This link opens in a new window
Call Number: Online - Ebook Central
ISBN: 1440830118
See appendix for primary documents
The American Economic History Reader by John W. Malsberger & James N. Marshall
Call Number: HC103 .A453 2009
ISBN: 0415962676
Documents and Readings
The American Economy: A Historical Encyclopedia by Cynthia L. Clark
- This link opens in a new window
Call Number: Online - Ebook Central
ISBN: 9781598844610
"A separate primary source section that includes 32 important treaties, key political speeches, and more relating to the American economy from the Articles of Confederation period through the Obama Administration"
American Labor: The Twentieth Century (American Heritage Series) by Jerold S. Auerbach (editor)
Call Number: HD8072.A917 A5
American Railroads in the Nineteenth Century by Augustus J. Veenendaal
Call Number: TF23 .V44 2003
ISBN: 0313316880
"This all-in-one reference guide to American railroads features essays, biographies, and primary documents."
Defining Documents in American History: the American Economy (ebook) by Salem Press
- This link opens in a new window
Call Number: Online - Salem Press
ISBN: 9781642657562
Defining Documents in American History: the American Economy (print book) by Salem Press
Call Number: HC103 .A464 2021
ISBN: 9781642657562
Defining Documents in American History: Workers' Rights (2 vols.) by Salem Press
Call Number: HD6971.8 .W555 2023
ISBN: 1637004109
Defining Documents in American History: Workers' Rights by Aaron John Gulyas, MA (editor)
- This link opens in a new window
Call Number: Online - Salem Press
ISBN: 9781637004111
Explores the development of workers' rights in the United States from the country's founding to present. Documents examinedinclude charters, constitutions, legislative debates, political speeches, historical accounts, court cases, disputes between unions andgovernments, and more.
Development of the Industrial U. S. by Sonia G. Benson et al.
- This link opens in a new window
Call Number: Online - GVRL
ISBN: 9781414401744
See Volume 3 for primary sources
Encyclopedia of American Recessions and Depressions by Daniel Leab
Call Number: HB3743 .E53 2014
ISBN: 159884945X
See volume 2 for primary documents
Globalization and Free Trade (2007) by Natalie Goldstein
Call Number: HF1418.5 .G645 2007
ISBN: 0816068089
“... draws together significant U.S. and international primary source documents—including excerpts from newspaper articles, speeches, relevant treaties and other legal documents, and scientific reports.”
Globalization and Free Trade (2012) by Natalie Goldstein; Joanna G. Moss
Call Number: HF1418.5 .G645 2012
ISBN: 0816083657
"The second section draws together significant U.S. and international primary source documents..."
The Government and the Economy, 1783-1861 by Carter Goodrich
Call Number: HD3616.U46 G654 G7
Nonviolence in America; A Documentary History (American Heritage Series) by Staughton Lynd
Call Number: HM278.L988 N8
Opinions Throughout History: Globalization by Micah Issit (Editor)
- This link opens in a new window
Call Number: Online - Ebook Central
ISBN: 9781642654769
Publication Date: 2020-08-01
Opinions Throughout History: Robotics and Artificial Intelligence by Micah Issit (Editor)
- This link opens in a new window
Call Number: Online - Ebook Central
ISBN: 9781642654813
Publication Date: 2020-10-01
Opinions Throughout History: Worker's Rights and Wages (ebook) by Micah Issit (Editor)
Call Number: Online - Salem Press
ISBN: 9781637001387
Opinions Throughout History: Worker's Rights and Wages (print book) by Micah Issit (Editor)
Call Number: HD6971.8 .I7758 2022
ISBN: 9781637001387
Working Americans (Grey House Series) by Scott Derks (Editor)
Call Number: Varies
ISBN: 9781592375646
Publication Date: 2012-03-01

Search for More

Suggested terms to look for include - diary, diaries, letters, papers, documents, documentary or correspondence.

Combine these these terms with the event or person you are researching. (example: civil war diary)

Also search by subject for specific people and events, then scan the titles for those keywords or others such as memoirs, autobiography, report, or personal narratives.