"The Ad*Access Project, funded by the Duke Endowment Library 2000" Fund, presents images and database information for over 7,000 advertisements printed in U.S. and Canadian newspapers and magazines between 1911 and 1955. Ad*Access concentrates on five main subject areas: Radio, Television, Transportation, Beauty and Hygiene, and World War II, providing a coherent view of a number of major campaigns and companies through images preserved in one particular advertising collection available at Duke University. "
A site designed by the Library of Congress, the center was "created in 1976 by the U.S. Congress to "preserve and present" this great heritage of American folklife through programs of research, documentation, archival preservation, reference service, live performance, exhibition, publication, and training." Folklife reflects the culturally richness of the ordinary American through everyday life. It covers things from songs and stories to crafts. The Center includes the Archive of Folk Culture, established in the Library of Congress in 1928, which is "one of the largest collections of ethnographic material from the United States and around the world." The website provides an introduction to the American Folklife Center and its Archive of Folk Culture and provides information on programs, activities, online presentations, and the variety of other resources available for folklife research.
An online exhibit providing access to a variety of primary source materials related to the changing American culture in the early 1900s. The site was created by The Ohio State University Harvey Goldberg Center for Excellence in Teaching in the Department of History.
"The Early Advertising of the West collection consists of over 450 print advertisements published in local magazines, city directories, and theater pamphlets from 1867 to 1918. These advertisements were selected and digitized in order to help researchers and students examine social, cultural and economic trends during this period. "
From the Duke University Digital Collections, this is a database of over 9,000 advertising items and publications dating from 1850 to 1920, illustrating the rise of consumer culture and the birth of a professionalized advertising industry in the United States.
Digital collections available from the Library of Congress that highlight a vast number of resources on various subjects that have been digitized. It is only a small portion of what the LOC has available.
"Over 600 advertising items and publications dating from 1850 to 1920, illustrating the rise of consumer culture and the birth of a professionalized advertising industry in the United States." Duke University Digital Collections
Access a collection of articles on a variety of topics from old magazines. A site that is privately owned and operated by an "old magazine enthusiast."
"All articles are free to read on line, however should you wish to have a version that can be printed, this can be done for the cost of $5.00. Click here to have an article emailed or faxed to you."
"This website contains images of content in the Philip Morris USA Inc. Advertising Archive. These images include print ads, outdoor ads, point-of-sale and direct marketing materials dating back to the early 1900s, including some materials which may not have been published or publicly displayed."