Skip to Main Content

Primary Sources: People - American Women: Gilman, Charlotte Perkins

primary sources related to notable American women

Online Sources: Charlotte Perkins Gilman

Charlotte Perkins Gilman - Works at HathiTrust Digital Library
Charlotte Perkins Gilman - Works at Internet Archive
Charlotte Perkins Gilman - Works at Project Gutenberg
Charlotte Perkins Gilman: Tribute to Birth Control
more...less...
In February of 1935, Margaret Sanger celebrated the 21st anniversary of the birth control movement by holding a "Birth Control Comes of Age Dinner," in Washington DC. Many prominent individuals attended and/or sent statements congratulating Sanger on her achievement. Among them was feminist writer Charlotte Perkins Gilman, who could not attend, but sent the following poem (Gilman to MS, Feb. 7, 1935, LCM,44:16):
Digital Edition of Charlotte Perkins Stetson’s “The Yellow Wall-Paper.”
Forerunner (HathiTrust)
Suffrage Songs and Verses / by Charlotte Perkins (1911)

Book Sources: Charlotte Perkins Gilman

A selection of books/e-books available in Trible Library.
Click the title for location and availability information.

Off campus access instructions (for e-books)

The Abridged Diaries of Charlotte Perkins Gilman by Charlotte Perkins Gilman; Denise D. Knight (Editor)
Call Number: Online - Borrow - Internet Archive*
ISBN: 0813917964
Charlotte Perkins Gilman's in This Our World and Uncollected Poems by Gary Scharnhorst and Denise D. Knight (editors)
Call Number: PS1744.G57 I6 2012
ISBN: 9780815632955
Charlotte Perkins Gilman: A Nonfiction Reader by Charlotte Perkins Gilman; Larry Ceplair
Call Number: Online - Borrow - Internet Archive*
ISBN: 0231076169
The Charlotte Perkins Gilman Reader: The Yellow Wallpaper and other Fiction by Ann J. Lane
Call Number: Online - Borrow - Internet Archive*
ISBN: 0394739337
The Crux : A Novel by Charlotte Perkins Gilman
Call Number: Online - free - HathiTrust
Dress of Women : A Critical Introduction to the Symbolism and Sociology of Clothing by Charlotte Perkins Gilman
- This link opens in a new window
Call Number: Online - Ebook Central
ISBN: 9780313074318
Families, Marriages, and Children by Charlotte Perkins Gilman
Call Number: Online - Borrow - Internet Archive*
ISBN: 9781412814850
Herland by Charlotte Perkins Gilman
Call Number: PS1744.G57 H477 2004
ISBN: 9781421810188
A Journey from Within: The Love Letters of Charlotte Perkins Gilman, 1897-1900 by Charlotte Perkins Gilman; Mary A. Hill (editor)
Call Number: Online - Borrow - Internet Archive*
ISBN: 0838752934
The Living of Charlotte Perkins Gilman: Aan Autobiography by Charlotte Perkins Gilman
Call Number: PS1744.G57 Z5 1991
ISBN: 0299127400
The Selected Letters of Charlotte Perkins Gilman by Charlotte Perkins Gilman; Denise D. Knight (Editor); Jennifer S. Tuttle (Editor)
Call Number: Online - Borrow - Internet Archive*
ISBN: 9780817316488
Social Ethics: Sociology and the Future of Society by Charlotte Perkins Gilman; Michael R. Hill (Editor); Mary Jo Deegan (Editor)
- This link opens in a new window
Call Number: Online - Ebook Central
ISBN: 9780313057403
Unpunished by Charlotte Perkins Gilman; Catherine Golden (Editor)
Call Number: PS1744.G57 U56 1997
ISBN: 1558611851
Publication Date: 1998-09-01
The Utopia Reader, Second Edition by Gregory Claeys (Editor); Lyman Tower Sargent (Editor)
Call Number: PN6071.U85 U88 2017
ISBN: 9781479864652
Women and Economics by Charlotte Perkins Gilman
- This link opens in a new window
Call Number: Online - EBSCO ebooks
ISBN: 0585248184
Publication Date: 1998-01-01
The Yellow Wall-Paper by Charlotte Perkins Gilman : A Dual-Text Critical Edition by Charlotte Perkins Gilman; Shawn St. Jean
- This link opens in a new window
Call Number: Online - Ebook Central
ISBN: 9780821441978
Publication Date: 2006-01-01
The Yellow Wallpaper [Dale M. Bauer, editor] by Charlotte Perkins Gilman
Call Number: PS1744.G57 Y45 1998b
ISBN: 0312132921
The Yellow Wallpaper [Feminist Press Reprint] by Charlotte Perkins Gilman
Call Number: PS1744.G57 Y45 1973
ISBN: 0912670096

Search for More

Suggested terms to look for include - diary, diaries, letters, papers, documents, documentary or correspondence.

Combine these these terms with the event or person you are researching. (example: civil war diary)

Also search by subject for specific people and events, then scan the titles for those keywords or others such as memoirs, autobiography, report, or personal narratives.

Last Updated: Aug 1, 2024 9:28 AM
URL: https://cnu.libguides.com/notableamericanwomen
Print Page

Subjects: Primary Sources, Women & Gender Studies

Tags: history, primary sources, women

Trible Library provides links to other websites to aid in research and is not responsible for the content or privacy policy of those sites.