Getting Started Guide: Biographical Information: Internet Sources

"All genres and styles of music are covered here, ranging from the most commercially popular to the most obscure." Provides biographical information on some artists as well as discographies, and awards. Reviews are also available.

A collection of photographs of famous ballerinas. In addition to the photos it includes brief facts about the dancers and additional links to other materials when available.

This site is from the A&E television series Biography. The Biography Search allows users to search for biographical information by name or by keywords. It is also possible to locate information by selecting a category such as Infamous People or Educators and get a list of names with links to the person's biography. Browsing alphabetically by the person's last name or checking out the current Top 10 Biographies is also possible. In addition to the Biography Search features, the site also has other useful features such as Born on this Day, featured exhibits (Black History Month, Celebrity Photo Gallery, etc.), a Classroom section for teachers, discussion boards, and of course information on upcoming Biography episodes of the award winning Biography series.

"...from 1989 to 2004, C-SPAN CEO Brian Lamb interviewed contemporary non-fiction authors for one hour, discussing their books, their research, and their lives. The resulting archive of 800 interviews is a valuable collection of late twentieth century American scholarship, capturing the intellectual work of some of the country's best non-fiction writers, as well as the biographies and memoirs of notable contemporary political figures." Read transcripts, search by keyword, watch videos, and download audio.

Biographical information from the InfoPlease almanac.

The mission of the Jewish Women's Archive (JWA) is to uncover, chronicle, and transmit the rich history of American Jewish women. The site provides access to a variety of research resources including The American Jewess magazine archives and a virtual archive containing biographical information, primary source materials, and more.

"...biographical register of the Fellows of the Royal College of Surgeons of England."

"Project Vote Smart, a citizen's organization, has developed a Voter's Self-Defense system to provide you with the necessary tools to self-govern effectively: abundant, accurate, unbiased and relevant information. As a national library of factual information, Project Vote Smart covers your candidates and elected officials in five basic categories: biographical information, issue positions, voting records, campaign finances and interest group ratings." The site provides a variety of resources for voters in a non-partisan format.

"This site contains lists of heads of state and heads of government (and, in certain cases, de facto leaders not occupying either of those formal positions) of all countries and territories, going back to about 1700 in most cases. Also included are the subdivisions of various countries (the links are at the bottom of the respective country entries), as well as a selection of international organizations. Recent foreign ministers of all countries are listed separately."

This area of the Spark Notes website from Barnes & Noble provides access to biographical study guides on notable figures. Includes further reading sections for most people in order to locate additional information. Access to some information may require free registration. Search or browse by category.

The Supreme Court is the main body of the Judiciary Branch of the Federal Government. This site gives users information about the Court, its rules, some opinions, etc. The Public Information area of the site provides access to the text of some speeches by Justices, press releases, helpful telephone numbers and more. Also available on the site is information for those who wish to plan a visit to the Court, find a job, etc.

"Who2 is an encyclopedia of famous people. We research and write profiles of real people, fictional characters, and some figures (like Robin Hood) who may be either. We also profile celebrities who aren't people, like Ham the Chimp and Hal 9000." Information about the Who2 staff is provided in the about section.