LibGuides: Getting Started Guide: Biographical Information: Databases

Off campus access information

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Tip:
Near the bottom of the search page
in the box Publication type select Biography
A comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.
Access World News This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Tip:
Scroll down the screen and click on the People box for a list of names to pick from
Subscriber: CNUFind global information on topics related to business and economics, careers, criminal justice, education, environmental studies, health, international studies, performing and fine arts, political science, social issues, sports, STEM and more from a variety of news media featuring newspapers, videos and web-only content including the Daily Press, Virginian-Pilot, USA Today and international sources.
Alexander Street Press This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Tip:
Use the Advanced Search in the bar below the search box

Find the Person Discussed box in the list
Type the person's name in the box or use the Select Terms options to find a person alphabetically
Click the Search button
Alexander Street Press is a multimedia database providing access to various collections: Academic Video Online: Premium; American History in Video; Asian American Drama; Black Drama; Black Thought and Culture; British and Irish Women's Letters and Diaries; Civil War Letters and Diaries; Dance Online: Dance in Video; Dance Online: Dance Studies Collection; Early Encounters in North AmericaFilm Scripts Online; Music and Dance Online; Music Online: African American Music Reference; Music Online: American Music; Music Online: Classical Music Library; Music Online: Classical Music Reference Library; Music Online: Classical Performance in Video; Music Online: Classical Scores Library; Music Online: Contemporary World Music; Music Online: Jazz Music Library; Music Online: Listening; Music Online: Music Periodicals of the 19th Century; Music Online: Popular Music Library; Music Online: Reference; Music Online: Smithsonian Global Sound for Libraries; Music Online: The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music;North American Immigrant Letters, Diaries, and Oral Histories; North American Women's Letters and Diaries; and Women and Social Movements in the United States,1600-2000
Literary Sources from Gale This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Tip:
Use the Person Search feature in the bar below the search box
Includes: Gale Virtual Reference Library (literature related titles); Literature Resource Center - LRC; Scribner Writer Series; Twayne's Authors Series
Encyclopedia of Leadership This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Tip:
Using the Book Index feature will allow you to find people's names alphabetically
Covers "leadership as part of the human experience;" it includes biographies and case studies.
Literary Encyclopedia, The This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Tip:
Under the search box use the Browse People link for an alphabetical list
Includes basic data on over 6986 people, covers over 31124 works, and lists 16492 historical and literary events. Additionally there are lists of important secondary readings, links to internet resources, as well as timelines and chronologies.
MasterFILE Premier This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Tip:
After searching for a person, look in the column on the left for the Source Type section and choose Biographies
Provides full-text access to over 1,500 general periodicals covering general reference, business, health, education, general science, multicultural issues and much more. Additionally it features: the full-text Magill Book Reviews; full-text reference books; the full-text from over 80,000 biographies; over 105,787 full-text primary source documents; an image collection of 293,480 photos, maps and flags. PDF backfiles for some publications go as far back as 1975.
Naxos Music Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Use the People button on the right side for an alphabetical list of names (not all people have biographical information available)
A comprehensive collection of music available online. It also includes notes on the works being played as well as biographical information on composers and artists.

Newsmaker Profiles
- This link opens in a new window

Oxford Music Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Tip:
After searching use the Type section on the list to limit to Biographical Article
- The gateway to Grove Music Online, with access to search The Oxford Dictionary of Music and The Oxford Companion to Music
- The authoritative resource for music research with over 52,000 articles written by nearly 9,000 scholars charting the diverse history and cultures of music around the globe
ProQuest This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Tip:
Use the Advanced Search
Under Document type select Biography
Searches a variety of databases covering a wide range of topics. It provides access to full-text/image of many journals and ebooks, as well as other data.
Women's Studies International This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Tip:
Near the bottom of the search page
in the box Publication type select Biography
Covers the core disciplines and latest scholarship in Women’s Studies and in feminist research. With coverage spanning from 1972, and sometimes earlier, to present this database supports curriculum development in the areas of sociology, history, political science & economy, public policy, international relations, arts & humanities, business and education. Sources include: journals, newspapers, newsletters, bulletins, books, book chapters, proceedings, reports, theses, dissertations, NGO studies, Web sites and Web documents, and grey literature. The full-text is provided for many of the items.