Databases - RSTD 312 - Hutchinson - Spring 2024 - LibGuides at Christopher Newport University

Library Catalog Search

What's in the CNU Library? Find books, media materials, and masters' theses - use the box below.

Remember to check WorldCat Discovery for books that are checked out or not owned by Trible Library. Interlibrary Loan (ILL), Virginia Tidewater Consortium (VTC), and VIVA Cooperative Borrowing Program are options to borrow these books from other libraries.

Quick Links to Interlibrary Loan (ILL)

If what you need is not here at CNU, use ILL@CNU, the Interlibrary Loan service.

Remember to check your CNU email for ILL arrivals.

Remember to cite it! - Chicago Style

Always cite what you find!

Chicago Style Citation Quick Guide
Chicago Manual of Style (a.k.a. Chicago Style): Homepage
more...less...
This site from the publishers of the Chicago Manual of Style provides answers to frequently asked questions and examples for citing research (see the Quick Guide.) Some areas of the site are limited to members. An online subscription to the full manual is available for purchase.
Other Online Citation Guides
Find APA, MLA, Turabian and lots of other style guides here.

Arts Databases

Remember to have your login and password ready if you're using these from off campus.

Or - login to CNU Connect - the link to the Library's databases is on the Start Page (at the top) in the champagne bar.

ProQuest Arts Databases This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Subscriber: CNUA selection of databases related to the arts, including dissertations, combined into one search.
Humanities International Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Subscriber: VIVAAccess the full-text of hundreds of journals, books and other published sources from around the world. Covers all aspects of the humanities, with worldwide content pertaining to literary, scholarly and creative thought.
Digital Theatre+ This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to some of the world's finest productions, unique backstage insights, practitioner interviews and written analysis.
Film Scripts Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Subscriber: CNUContains over 1,100 scripts and makes available, for the first time, accurate and authorized versions of copyrighted screenplays.
Oxford Music Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Subscriber: CNUSearch Grove Music Online , The Oxford Dictionary of Music,and The Oxford Companion to Music
Literary Sources from Gale This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Subscriber: VIVAIncludes: Gale Virtual Reference Library (literature related titles); Literature Resource Center - LRC; Scribner Writer Series; Twayne's Authors Series
ARTstor This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ARTStor will be moving to the JStor platform in August of 2024
See https://www.jstor.org/artstor for more information.
Subscriber: CNU
A digital library of more than one million images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and social sciences. Other subject areas include music, religion, anthropology, literature, world history, American Studies, Asian Studies, Classical Studies, Medieval Studies, Renaissance Studies, and more.

Primary Sources and Getting Started Guides

Philosophy and Religion Databases

ATLA Religion - with selected full text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Subscriber: CNUThis database produced by the American Theological Library Association, indexes journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion. It also includes full-text access to ATLA's online collection of major religion and theology journals. The database begins in 1949, but also includes indexing for some journal titles extending back into the nineteenth century.
JSTOR - Advanced Search This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Subscriber: CNUAn online database of full-content articles from various journals in many subject areas including, but not limited to African American studies, Ecology, Economics, History, Literature and Mathematics. Many journals start with the first volume and issue; there is usually a delay of several years for accessing current issues.
Milestone Documents (Primary Sources) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Subscriber: CNUAmerican and world history, world religions, and American leaders - primary source material, full text.
Philosopher's Index This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Subscriber: CNUProduced by the Philosopher’s Information Center, this current and comprehensive bibliographic database covers scholarly research in all major fields of philosophy. Considered the most thorough index of journal literature on the subject, this resource features author-written abstracts covering scholarly research published in journals and books, including contributions to anthologies and book reviews.
Religion Database This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This database provides a wide range of primarily full-text, international periodicals for diverse religious and spiritual studies, covering formal theological studies of major religions, as well as the most recent trends and scholarly thought. Included are titles from religious publishing bodies and nondenominational organizations. The resource reflects a wide spectrum of religious belief systems and supports the global study of religion.
Religion & Philosophy Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Subscriber: VIVACovering such topics as world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy, this database offers nearly 300 full text journals, including more than 250 peer-reviewed titles. In addition to the full text, indexing and abstracts are provided for all journals in the database. Full text information in this database dates as far back as 1975 for some titles.
Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Find ebooks on a wide variety of subjects.

History Combined Search
- This link opens in a new window
more...less...
Searches in America: History and Life and the Historical Abstracts databases together.
Library Databases by Subject - Philosophy & Religion

RSTD 312 - Hutchinson - Spring 2024: Databases