Databases

Terms

The translations of East Asian languages to English complicate searching and finding all information Trible Library contains relating to people, concepts, and terms. Try searching Google and Wikipedia to obtain different spellings of your word or phrase. For example, I might find resources that refer to "Tao" or "Dao" in our catalog and databases. When you search CNU's online catalog for books, or when you look for your term in an article in a database like JSTOR, make sure to either search for each spelling independently or do an advanced search which connects the alternate spellings in the search fields with the operator "OR".

Search Tips PDF

Citations PDF

Scholarly Journal Article PDF

Full-Text Articles PDF

Research Vocabulary PDF

Jesse's Top Picks

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
JSTOR Tutorial
Subscriber: CNUAn online database of full-content articles from various journals in many subject areas including, but not limited to African American studies, Ecology, Economics, History, Literature and Mathematics. Many journals start with the first volume and issue; there is usually a delay of several years for accessing current issues.
Religion Database This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This database provides a wide range of primarily full-text, international periodicals for diverse religious and spiritual studies, covering formal theological studies of major religions, as well as the most recent trends and scholarly thought. Included are titles from religious publishing bodies and nondenominational organizations. The resource reflects a wide spectrum of religious belief systems and supports the global study of religion.
ATLA Religion - with selected full text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Subscriber: CNUThis database produced by the American Theological Library Association, indexes journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion. It also includes full-text access to ATLA's online collection of major religion and theology journals. The database begins in 1949, but also includes indexing for some journal titles extending back into the nineteenth century.

Other Databases:

Arts & Humanities Database This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This database features hundreds of titles covering Art, Architecture, Design, History, Philosophy, Music, Literature, Theatre and Cultural Studies.
Encyclopedia of Philosophy This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Subscriber: CNUBased on the multi-volume reference work, this online Encyclopedia is full text and covers most philosophical areas of study including Anglo-American, ethical and political, cross-cultural, interdisciplinary, continental and contemporary philosophy
MLA International Bibliography via EBSCO (with full-text) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
"Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), the MLA International Bibliography is the definitive index for the study of language, literature, linguistics, rhetoric and composition, folklore, and film, covering scholarly publications from the early 20th century to the present. International in scope, it includes citations to journal articles, books, articles in books, series, translations, scholarly editions, websites, and dissertations, with links to full text in JSTOR, Project MUSE, and other resources. The database also includes the MLA Directory of Periodicals and the MLA Thesaurus, a proprietary, searchable collection of thousands of subject terms, and personal names used in indexing the bibliography."
Philosopher's Index This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Subscriber: CNUProduced by the Philosopher’s Information Center, this current and comprehensive bibliographic database covers scholarly research in all major fields of philosophy. Considered the most thorough index of journal literature on the subject, this resource features author-written abstracts covering scholarly research published in journals and books, including contributions to anthologies and book reviews.
ProQuest Arts Databases This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Subscriber: CNUA selection of databases related to the arts, including dissertations, combined into one search.
Religion & Philosophy Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Subscriber: VIVACovering such topics as world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy, this database offers nearly 300 full text journals, including more than 250 peer-reviewed titles. In addition to the full text, indexing and abstracts are provided for all journals in the database. Full text information in this database dates as far back as 1975 for some titles.
NewsBank This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Subscriber: CNU
Access a variety of topics through full-text newspapers (U.S. and International), magazines, etc.
ProQuest News & Newspapers Databases This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Combined search of available ProQuest newspaper databases.

All CNU Databases
A list of every database available at CNU.

—————

Off-Campus Access:

For off-campus access instructions, click here: Off-Campus Access

—————

Other Options:

Use JournalFinder to search for the name of a specific journal.

Use Interlibrary Loan (ILL@CNU) to request books or journal articles that are not available at CNU; for example if you find an article in one of our databases but can't locate the full text of the article.

Google Scholar can be a useful resource. Read this information first to get the most out of it.

RSTD 211 - Thompson - Spring 2024: Databases

Terms

Databases