"Document Bank of Virginia (DBVa) is the Library of Virginia’s initiative to get documents into classrooms. Using primary sources, teachers can make history relevant to students while helping them learn and understand state standards. DBVa will teach students to be critical thinkers as they analyze the original documents and draw their own conclusions about Virginia’s past."
A website from the University Library at the University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill. This digital project "provides access to digitized primary materials that offer Southern perspectives on American history and culture." Indexes are provided by author, title, subjects, or geographic area. Users may also browse or search collections. Collections include : "First-Person Narratives of the American South" , "Library of Southern Literature" , "North American Slave Narratives" , "The Southern Homefront, 1861-1865" , "The Church in the Southern Black Community" , "The North Carolina Experience, Beginnings to 1940" , and "North Carolinians and the Great War" . The site provides information on citing the documents and lesson plans and activities for classroom use.
The LVA is located in Richmond. It contains a vast array of materials that would be useful in the study of Virginia History, among other things. The website provides information about a number of the collections available in the Library. Some of these collections are available online, but be aware that not all of the collections are indexed or made available online. It is possible to contact the Library to see if they would have information of use before making plans to visit.
This website from the Library of Virginia provides a list of local Virginia Historical Societies. Contact information including a website and email are provided if available. Historical societies can often provide access to unique primary source documents.
"The Martha Woodroof Hiden Memorial Virginiana Room contains over 4300 volumes specializing in Virginia genealogy and history. We have books, manuscripts, maps, periodicals, photographs, and microfilm on the history of Newport News and Virginia. "
"The collection, which is non-circulating, includes a variety of books and periodicals about Norfolk and Virginia, as well as Norfolk maps and photographs, high school yearbooks, and city directories for the Hampton Roads region. Nearly 200 years of Norfolk newspaper microfilms are available upon request."
"Oral histories provide important personal accounts of historical events. Over 100 oral histories are available on audio cassette in Perry Library's Special Collections. The majority of these materials are interviews with former and present administrators, faculty, and staff of Old Dominion University, compiled during research on various stages in the university's history. Additional interviews were conducted with members of the Tidewater community and others. More interviews will be added as they are conducted."
"A fully-searchable index to approximately 1,350 life histories, social-ethnic studies, and youth studies plus more than 50 interviews with former slaves which were created by the staff of the Virginia Writers’ Project. Document images are available online."Access provided by the Library of Virginia
The Society's mission "is to collect, preserve, and interpret the commonwealth's past for the education and enjoyment of present and future generations." In order to accomplish this goal the Society gives lectures, seminars, conferences and provides consulting services; publishes teaching materials and provides training for teachers; it also supports scholarly research through a fellowship program and minority internships. The Society has museum of exhibits, operates a research library and has a publication program. The site provides access to a searchable database of the library's collections.
"A Bibliography of American Newspapers cataloged and inventoried by the Virginia Newspaper Project. " Aids in locating which libraries in Virginia may have newspapers of interest. Please check with the individual library to confirm holdings and access information."
In 2009, 2011, 2012 and again in the spring of 2013, students from Christopher Newport University spent time documenting the stories of elders in various formats (audio, video, photography, etc.) The results of the project are available on this website.
"... This collection contains books, maps, photographs, DVDs and microfilm on the history of Virginia and York County. A variety of genealogy resources are also available. With over 1,600 items in the collection, most are non-circulating. "
A union database of finding aids to archival and manuscripts collections in thirteen Virginia repositories. The contents of the database represent only a small percentage of each institution's holdings.
"Users can access these resources while using the Library's Wi-Fi network (LVA-Guest). Many of them can also be accessed outside of the Library with the use of a Library of Virginia library card. When prompted, please enter your Library of Virginia card number or valid Virginia state driver’s license or ID # if you registered online."
Selected collections can be accessed by residents of Virginia outside of the Library.
Register online with your valid Virginia driver's license or Virginia ID number (Registration is easy!)
Access materials not available through your CNU account.
Includes access (as of May 2019) to items such as: American Founding Era: Papers, Selected Presidential Papers collections, Biography & Genealogy Master Index, Mountain People: Life and Culture in Appalachia, Proquest History Vault. Southern Life and African American History, 1775-1915, Plantations Records. Parts 1 and 2, The American Civil War Research Database, Fold3 and many more!
Book Sources: General - Virginia
A selection of books/e-books available in Trible Library.
Click the title for location and availability information.
An index to items that contain primary source materials:
VA Magazine of history and Biography, 1893-1930; William & Mary Quarterly, first series: 1892-1919 second series: 1921-1930; Tyler's Quarterly, 1919-1929; VA Historical Register & Literary Advertiser, 1848-1853; Lower Norfolk County Virginia Antiquary, 1895-1906; Hening's Statutes, 1619-1792 Calendar of Virginia State Papers, 1652-1869;
Reprinted from the London ed., 1615, with an introd. by A.L. Rowse
The discourse is followed by three letters: (1) From Sir Thomas Dale, dated Jamestown, June 18, 1614; (2) From Rev. Alexander Whitaker, dated Virginia, June 18, 1614; (3) From John Rolfe, giving his reasons for marrying Pocahontas.