It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
A digital library of more than one million images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and social sciences. Other subject areas include music, religion, anthropology, literature, world history, American Studies, Asian Studies, Classical Studies, Medieval Studies, Renaissance Studies, and more.
"Our vast holdings are a vital resource to anyone interested in American culture over the past 200 years and consist of more than 20 million letters, diaries, scrapbooks, manuscripts, financial records, photographs, films, and audiovisual recordings of artists, dealers, collectors, critics, scholars, museums, galleries, associations, and other art world figures. The Archives also houses the largest collection of oral histories anywhere on the subject of art."
"Over the past decade, Art21 has established itself as the preeminent chronicler of contemporary art and artists through its Peabody Award-winning biennial television series, Art in the Twenty-First Century. The nonprofit organization has used the power of digital media to introduce millions of people of all ages to contemporary art and artists and has created a new paradigm for teaching and learning about the creative process."
"This collection contains the personal and professional correspondence of artist Carl Benton Compton. Included are journal entries, articles by and about the artist, and radio scripts and notes about his travels in Europe in the late 1920s. Learn more in our finding aid."
"Digital Collections provide free access to a growing number of digitized items from the Research Library, Special Collections, Photo Archive, and Institutional Archives. These materials range from the 15th century to the present and include books, photographs, manuscripts, archives, and works on paper. For more information, see Major Collecting Areas. "
"Documenting and preserving the stories of artists, architects, curators, critics, dealers, and collectors, these oral histories offer a firsthand account of the making and meaning of visual art. The Getty Research Institute holds over 1,000 oral history videos, audio recordings, and transcripts, each of which captures the voices of those who shaped the artistic landscape of the 20th and early 21st centuries. "
"The Guggenheim Museum Library and Archives houses primary and secondary research resources that inform the museum’s exhibitions and acquisitions as well as document its history." Selected material has been digitized.
"The J. Paul Getty Museum seeks to inspire curiosity about, and enjoyment and understanding of, the visual arts by collecting, conserving, exhibiting and interpreting works of art of outstanding quality and historical importance."
"The Prints and Photographs Online Catalog (PPOC) contains catalog records and digital images representing a rich cross-section of still pictures held by the Prints & Photographs Division and, in some cases, other units of the Library of Congress. The Library of Congress offers broad public access to these materials as a contribution to education and scholarship.
The collections of the Prints & Photographs Division include photographs, fine and popular prints and drawings, posters, and architectural and engineering drawings. While international in scope, the collections are particularly rich in materials produced in, or documenting the history of, the United States and the lives, interests and achievements of the American people."
"The primary mission of the Watson Library Digitization Initiative is to expand access to the Library’s rare and unique materials by developing, supporting, and promoting a distinctive digital collection of these items."
"The Vistas project seeks to bring an understanding of the visual culture of Spanish America to a broad audience. Spanish America was an extensive region—covering much of the Americas, running from California to Chile from the 16th century to the early 19th century. Its visual culture was forged in urban centers, religious and frontier communities, and indigenous towns. The new Vistas website offers a gallery of high-resolution color images, each of them fully annotated, videos and interpretive essays on Vista’s six themes, along with discussion of related images. In the “Library” and “Texts” sections are primary documents relating to visual culture, with discussions and bibliography. Other features are seen in the sidebar."
"The Women's Audio Archive is a project by Marysia Lewandowska. Between 1984 and 1990, Lewandowska interviewed dozens of women artists and recorded their conversations. Lewandowska was born in Poland and had recently immigrated to London before launching this project. As the introduction to the Women's Audio Archive notes, these recordings "began as a way to address the possibilities, as an artist and in everyday life, within a new, unfamiliar environment through observation in gathering knowledge and participation in developing relationships." On this website, visitors can explore recordings from this project, which have been digitized (they were originally recorded on magnetic tape). These recordings, which included private conversations as well as public lectures and discussions, can be browsed via the inventory section. Alternatively, visitors may also choose to explore this collection by keyword tags. Listeners can hear conversations with artists Judy Chicago, Nancy Spero, Jenny Holzer, and John Cage, to name just a few. Each recording is accompanied by a short description, along with information about where and when the original recording took place. [MMB]" The Internet Scout https://scout.wisc.edu/archives/r48896
Book & Media Sources: Art - General Sources
A selection of books/e-books available in Trible Library.
Click the title for location and availability information.
"Meet contemporary artists at work and speaking in their own words- direct, accessible, and unfiltered ... This unique four-hour series spotlights 17 artists working in the United States today, and invites viewers behind the working in scenes to see artists at work in their homes, communities, and unexpected sites- from an old-growth forest to a military base to a film set. The artists, including painters, photographers, sculptors, and video artists, demonstrate the breadth of artistic practice across the country and explore questions that are both timeless and timely- about politics, mortality, love, nature, science, order, chaos, and more"--Container.
"Contemporary art reflects the ideas of our time, and artists are the creative role models grappling with today's most timely questions. What is the nature of reality? How do we respond to a world in flux? Why do some historical events shape the way we think today, and why have some been forgotten? Explore these ideas and many more in Season Six of Art in the Twenty-First Century. "
"Over the past decade, Art21 has established itself as the preeminent chronicler of contemporary art and artists through its Peabody Award-winning biennial television series, Art in the Twenty-First Century. " - website
"Go behind the scenes to meet today's most fascinating contemporary artists in Season Three of the Emmy-nominated ART:21--ART IN THE TWENTY-FIRST CENTURY documentary series. Unparalleled in its access to today's artists, this unique series takes viewers into artists' studios, homes, and communities to provide an intimate view of their lives, work, creative processes, and sources of inspiration. The four one-hour programs present 18 artists working in the United States ..."--Case."